Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Christina and Jaroslaw Pelenski Polish Posters Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1990
Creator: Pelenski, Christina and Jaroslaw
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0118
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: History professor. Over 200 Polish circus, theatre, opera and operetta posters from the 1960s to 1985.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These posters were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Dr. and Mrs. Pelenski in April 2000. In October 2006, 31 duplicate posters from the collection were exchanged for 31 circus posters from Contemporary Posters in New York City.

Preferred Citation: Christina and Jaroslaw Pelenski Polish Posters Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Jaroslaw Pelenski is Professor Emeritus of History, The University of Iowa. In the 1960s and 1970s, the Pelenski's frequently traveled to Eastern Europe and brought back to Iowa City theater, ballet, concert, film, circus, and other posters from Poland.

The Christina and Jaroslaw Pelenski collection contains over 200 posters from Poland. These include circus posters from the 1960s, 1970s, and early 1980s, as well as theatre, opera, operetta, and film posters from the 1960s to 1980. It was donated to the Special Collections Department in April 2000. In October 2006, 31 duplicate posters from the collection were exchanged for 31 circus posters from Contemporary Posters in New York City.

Four 1976 envelopes from Muzeum Plakatu w Wilanowie for artists Jan J. Aleksium, Jerzy Czerniakwski, Jan Sawka, and Eugeniusz Stankiewicz. Each envelope contains a portrait and brief biography of the artist and several sheets reproducing designs by the artist.

Folders 1-3 contain circus posters and folders 4-6 contain other posters (film, theater, opera, etc.), arranged alphabetically by poster artist. This collection is stored in map cases, not boxes.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CIRCUS POSTERS COLLECTION
Series 2: THEATER, OPERA, OPERETTA, AND FILM POSTERS
Series 3: ADDENDUM OF MISCELLANEOUS POSTERS

  • Series 1: CIRCUS POSTERS COLLECTION
  • Sub-Series: Baczewiska, Liliana
  • Clown on unicycle - 1967
  • Sub-Series: Bocianowski, Bohdan
  • Bear on balloon - 1967
  • Cowboy trapeze and horse - 1971
  • Clown head with clover - 1974
  • Four clowns spelling Cyrk - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Cieslewicz, Roman
  • Three dogs - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Czerniawski, Jerzy
  • Girl's back - 1975 or 1978
  • Horse head with flower - 1973
  • Tiger with flames - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Freudenreich, Marek
  • Cyclist on tightrope - 1883-1983
  • Sub-Series: Gorka, Wiktor
  • Monkey on bike - 1968
  • Three dogs - 1969
  • Trainer with four horses - 1966
  • Two tigers - 1970,1973 or 1979
  • Woman roller skating - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Grabiawski, Janusz
  • Monkey on hands - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Hilscher, Hubert
  • Bicyclish with derby hat - 1970
  • Crowned lion - 1975 or 1979
  • Elephant - 1964
  • Growling cat - 1970
  • Leopard with parrot - 1974
  • Lion with legs in the air - 1970
  • Lion standing on Cyrk, 2 cop. - 1967 or 1978
  • Sitting tiger - 1975
  • Talking monkey - 1973
  • Tiger on ball - 1966
  • Zebra with legs in air - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Holdanowicz, Leszek
  • Hoopla girl - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Janowski, Witold
  • Clown rollerskating with five legs - 1967
  • Girl on trapeze, 2 different printings - 1973,1977 or 1978
  • Swinging woman - 1975
  • Two headed woman - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Jodlowski, Tadeusz
  • Ballerina on horse - 1975
  • Lion dreaming - 1965 or 1979
  • Nine lion faces - 1971 or 1976
  • Three lions - 1970 or 1979
  • Tiger in fire ring - 1970 or 1972
  • Sub-Series: Kimowski, Andrzej
  • Shirley Temple clowns - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Kotarbinski, Jan
  • Trapeze jumpers - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Krzysztoforski, Andrzej
  • Two bears on a ball - 1968,1973 or 1979
  • Sub-Series: Lenica, Jan
  • Surrealistic Cyrk - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Lustyk, Boguslaw
  • Faces in the crowd - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Majewski, Gustaw
  • Aerialist on swings - 1970
  • Dog bicycling - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Majewski, Lech
  • Two trapeze jumpers - 1973
  • Two horses heads - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Miedza-Tomaszewski, Stanislaw
  • Clown and lion - 1974
  • Clown, cane, and lion - 1975
  • Magician, boy, and skull - 1974
  • Magician, boy, and woman floating, 2 cop. - 1975
  • Magician cutting boy and girl - 1967 or 1973
  • Sub-Series: Mlodozeniec, Jan
  • Clown blowing horn - 1969 or 1978
  • Clown with slingshot - 1974, 1978 or 1979
  • Horse with plume - 1972, 1976 or 1979
  • Trapeze jumpers - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Mosinski, Marek
  • Horse rings - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Mysyrowicz, Witold
  • E. Dworakowski - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Neugebauer, Jacek
  • Animal pyramid - 1965 or 1972
  • Two dog head and a ball - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Pagowski, Andrzej
  • Handprint with clown face - 1978
  • Handprint with Napolean hat - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Piwonski, Andrzej
  • Parrot with lions - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Puchalski, Juliusz
  • Aerialist in slow motion - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Rogowska, Bozena
  • Two boxing dogs - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Rozycki, Juliusz
  • Circus scene - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Ruminski, Tomasz
  • Clown blowing tuba - 1975,1978 or 1979
  • Two headed horse - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Sawka, Jan
  • Motorcyclist - 1974
  • Solid pyramid - 1975
  • Trapeze walker - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Socha, Romuald
  • Hire wire act - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Stachurski, Marian
  • Clown one man band, 2 cop. - 1976
  • Five tumbling men - 1974 or 1979
  • Three bicyclists - 1975 or 1978
  • Two clown orchestra - 1971 or 1979
  • Sub-Series: Swierzy, Waldemar
  • Clown face with blue derby hat - 1970
  • Clown with ruffled collar - 1972
  • Clown with bow tie and derby hat - 1977
  • Elephant - 1972 or 1978
  • Horses - 1967, 1970 or 1972
  • Lion trainer in cage - 1965 or 1968
  • Pink lion in hoop - 1963 or 1972
  • Ringmaster with horse head - 1970 or 1972
  • Seal - 1965,1969,1973 or 1979
  • Spy clown with newspaper - 1985
    first printed 1975
  • Ten circus horses - 1970 pr 1974
  • Two lions, 2 cop. - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Szulecki, Tomasz
  • Man on horse - 1883-1983, 1983
  • Sub-Series: Urbaniec, Maciej
  • Circus girl bicycling, 2 cop. - 1976
  • Circus girl on horse, 2 cop. - 1973
  • Clown on pole - 1966,1968 or 1973
  • Mona Lisa - 1970,1972,1975 or 1978
  • Two seated chimps - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Wasilewsk, Mieczyslaw
  • Elephant with long trunk - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Zalecki, Adam
  • Circus girl on horses - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Zukowska, Danuta
  • Lion with crayon, 2 cop. - 1974
  • Dog with soccer ball - 1973
  • Walrus playing accordian - 1975
  • Series 2: THEATER, OPERA, OPERETTA, AND FILM POSTERS
  • Sub-Series: Aleksium, Jaromir
  • Anna Livia Teatr wspl. Wroclaw
  • Snieg Teatr J. Kochan, Opolu - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Bocianowski, Bohdan
  • Samodzialy lowickie (wystawa) - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Cesarska, D.
  • Ogolnopolski Festiwal Folklorystycz - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Chwedczuk, N.
  • Mickiewicz Teatr Maly - 1976
  • Mickiewicz Teatr Narodowy - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Czerniawski, Majkowski J.
  • Dziady, Teatr Kochanowski Opole - 1978
  • Kordian, Teatr Wspolczesny - 1976
  • Pan Jowialski Teatr Wspolczesny - 1977
  • Pluskwa Teatr Narodowy
  • Sub-Series: Flisak, Jerzy
  • Koniec Agenta W4C Czech Film
  • W. Borowczyk L'Histoire d'un Peche, Dzieje Grzechu Film
  • Sub-Series: Gogulska
  • Dostojewski Sen Teatr Studio - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Gorka, Wiktor (see also Szajna and Gorka)
  • A. Pietrow My chcemy tanczyc Operetka Warszawska - 1972
  • Dumasa Trzej Muszkieterowie (Musical) Operetka Warszawska - 1975
  • Lehar Kraina Usmiechu Operetka Warszawska
  • J. Strauss, Krol Walca Operetka Warszawska - 1976
  • R. Friml, Rose Marie Operetka Warszawska - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Hibner, Maciej
  • Banovich, Ach, Ci Mlodzi Wegierski Musical
  • Sub-Series: Hilscher, Hubert
  • Artes Gdansk - 1972
  • Jazz Jamboree, 2 cop. - 1972
  • (Mozart Britten Kilar), Wieczor Baletowy, Teatr Wielki - 1978
  • Sub-Series: Ihnatowicz, M.
  • Dziewczyna o Zielonych Oczach, Filmowym Dramacie Milosnym (Rita Tushingham Peter Finch)
  • Sub-Series: Jankowska, B.
  • Babel Zmierzch Panstwowy Teatr Zydowski
  • Sub-Series: Jodlowski
  • Poland, Zelazowa Wola, The House in which Frederic Chopin was born
  • Sub-Series: Kalczynska, A.
  • Mazowsze
  • Sub-Series: Klimowski, Andrzej
  • L. Godignola Brel Ami 2, Teatr Powszechny - 1975
  • Shakespeare, Krol Lear - 1977
  • Szekspir, Zycie i Smierc Krola Jana, Teatr Studio
  • Sub-Series: Konopelski, L
  • Shakespeare, Otello, Teatr Lublinie
  • Sub-Series: Krinth. Reanimacja
  • Opera Baltycka - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Krajewski
  • Kopciuszek w Potrzasku, Filmie kryminalnym
  • Sub-Series: Krauze, A. and Mroszczak, M.
  • A. Fredro, Maz I Zona, Teatr Maly, n.d.
  • Kochankowie Piekla, Teatr Narodowy, n.d.
  • Sub-Series: Kruczkowska, A
  • Pieczykolou, Mikolaj Kopernik - 1473-1973
  • Sub-Series: Kruchowim
  • Poploch wsrod dziewczat, Operetka Warszawska
  • Szwejk, Teatr Muzyczny w Gdyni - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Lenica, Jan
  • 10-lecie Teatru Wielkiego - 1975
  • Alban Berg, Wozzeck, Teatr Wielki - 1964
  • Alex Fredro, Maz i Zona, Teatr Narodowy
  • Britten, Wariacje na temat Purcella, Teatr Wielki
  • J. Majewskiego, Sprawa Gorgonowej, Film
  • Racine Fedra, Teatr Maly
  • Richard Strauss, Elektra Teatr Wielki - 1969
  • S. Witkiewicz, Panna Tutli-Putli, Teatr Ateneum Warszawa
  • Szaniawski, Dwa Teatry, Teatr Maly, 2 cop.
  • Verdi, Bal Maskowy, Teatr Wielki Warszawie, 2 cop.
  • Ziemia, Film
  • Sub-Series: Lutczyn
  • Gawlik Egzamin, Teatr w Olsztynie - 1977
  • Sindbada Zeglarza, Teatr Opolu - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Lustyk
  • Mikolaj Kopernik - 1972
  • Shakespeare Othello
  • Sub-Series: Majewski, A.
  • Czajkowski, Eugeniusz Oniegin, Teatr Wie - 1967
  • Sub-Series: Majewski, Lech
  • Kajakowe Mistrzostwa Europy Juniorow - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Malecki, S. Pergolesi
  • Livietta I Tracollo, Teatr Wielki, Warszawie
  • Sub-Series: Mlodozeniec, Jan
  • Baird, III Symfonia, Teatr Wielki
  • Baird, Jutro, Teatr Wielki
  • Cimarosa [?], Il Maestro di Cappella, Teatr Wielki, Warszawa
  • Hitchcock A., Szal, Film
  • Moravii, Konformista, Film
  • Ostatni z Fleksnesow, Norweska komedia
  • S. Ignacy Witkiewicz, Teatr Ateneum
  • Szukszyn, Ludzie energiczni, Teatr Ateneum
  • Verdi Rigoletto, Teatr Wielki
  • W Cyrku, Film
  • Z. Bargielski, Maly Ksiaze, Teatr Wielki
  • Sub-Series: Mozejko, A
  • Zapraszamy na Rewie, Operetka Warszawska - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Mroszczak, Jozef
  • A. Kopkow, Slon, teatr dramatyczny Warszawy - 1976
  • Borys Godunow, 2 cop. - 1969 or 1972
  • D. Wasserman, Lot nad kukulczym gniazdem, Teatr Powszechny - 1977
  • Kurpinski, Zamek na Czorsztynie, operetka Warszawska - 1974
  • Offenbach, Rozbojnicy, Operetka Warszawska - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Nowinski, M.
  • Studenckie Propozycje Estradowe, Warszawa, Stodola
  • Sub-Series: Oaxer
  • Czlowiek z Lamanczy - 1971
  • Sub-Series: Palka, Kronhold, Janussi
  • Gry Kobiece, Teatr Katowicach - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Pagowski, Andrzej
  • Fredro Maz i Zona
  • Starowieyski - 1977
  • Swierzy - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Pankiewicz, K.
  • Szekspira, Sen Nocy Letniej, (Rock Musical), Operetka Warszawska - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Raniewski, B.
  • Diderot, Kubus Fatalista I jego Pan, Teatr dramatyczny
  • Rostworowski, U Mety, Teatr dramatyczny
  • Sub-Series: Rutkowska, M.
  • Platonow, Teatr Narodowy - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Sawka, Jan
  • Adalen 31, Grand Prix w Cannes, Widerberg
  • Chaucer, Opowiesci Kanterberyjskie, T.Opolu - 1976
  • Exodus, Stu Theatre - 1974
  • Teatr im Jana Kochanowskiego w Opolu - 1975
  • Witkiewicz, Szalona lokomotywa, Stu teatr, Krakow
  • Sub-Series: Stajewski, M.
  • Fredro, Dozywocie, Teatr wspolczesny. Szczecin
  • Sub-Series: Starowieyski, Franciszek
  • Becker, Zloty Kask, film (French)
  • Bialy ren, film (Finnish)
  • Buchner, Leonce i Lena, teatr na Woli
  • Moliere, Don Giovanni, Teatr Opolu
  • Nasfetera, Kolorowe ponczochy, Film
  • Schulza, Sanatorium pod Klepsydra, Film - 1973
  • Shakespeare, Jak wam sie podoba, Teatr Narodowy
  • Tolstoja, Kozacy, Film
  • Waida, wszystko na sprzedaz, Film
  • Zanussiego, Iluminacja, Film - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Swierzy, Waldemar
  • Hemingway, Komu Bije Dzwon, Teatr Studio
  • Jozef Mroszczak, Wystawa Plakaty, 1975
  • Kafka, Ameryka, Teatr Ateneum
  • Kruczkowski, Pierwszy Dzien Wolnosci, Teatr na Woli
  • Mazowsze
  • Niedziela w Rzymie, Operetka Warszawska, n.d.
  • Neruda, Slawa I Smierc Joachima Muziety, T.K.
  • Rostworowski, Kajus Cezar Kaligula, Teatr Klasyczny
  • Slowacki, Horsztynski, Teatr klasyczny
  • Sztejn, Hotel Astoria, Teatr Klasyczny
  • Terbecki, Odpocznij po Biegu, Teatr Powszechny
  • Zwiedzajcie Zoo
  • Sub-Series: Szajna
  • Cervantes, Teatr Studio - 1976
  • Gogola, Nos, Teatr Studio - 1972
  • Gulcutiera, Teatr Studio - 1973
  • Wedekind, Puszka Pandory, Teatr Studio - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Szajna and Gorka
  • Dante, Teatr Studio - 1974
  • Sub-Series: F.S. Secesja
  • Exhibition, Muzeum Mazowieckie - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Terechowicz
  • Teatr Pantomimy, Tomaszewski, Wroclaw - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Tomaszewski, Henryk
  • Gorki, Barbarzyncy, Teatr Powszechny - 1976
  • Peiper, Skoro go niema, Teatr Ateneum - 1973
  • Strauss, Zemsta Nietoperza, Operetka Warszawska - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Urbaniec, Maciej
  • 5th International Poster Biennale - 1974
  • Felinski, Barbara Radziwilowna, Teatr Lublinie
  • Iredynski, Teatr Maly
  • Janacek, Jenufa, Opera Munster - 1976
  • Miedzynarodowy Dzien Dziecka
  • Miesiac Dobroci Dla Zwierzat - 1976
  • Poland Invites You For Camping
  • Wesele, Teatr Narodowy - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Wasilewski, M.
  • Mikolaj Kopernik - 1473-1973
  • Sub-Series: Wisniak, K.
  • Offenbach, Zycie Paryskie, Operetka Warszawska
  • Sub-Series: Wolynski
  • Chaucer, Opowiesci Kanterberyjskie, Teatr Opolu - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Zbikowski, M.
  • Przepustka dla Marynarza, Film Amerykanski
  • Sub-Series: Zmidzinski, B.
  • Operetka Warszawska, Music Man - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Annonymous
  • Sedziowie, Stanislaw Wyspianski, Teatr Studio
  • Series 3: ADDENDUM OF MISCELLANEOUS POSTERS
  • Teatro Nacional, 1897-1987. Detalle de telon de fondo "La Escalinata", por Antonio Rovescalli, 1897
  • Tysiac lat Panstwa Polskiego. Kongres Kultury-1966. Stanislaw Lentz. Strajk, 1910.
  • University of Oklahoma, Czech Film Festival, March 26-28. - 1982
  • Wiinblad, Bjorn. Musik Skal der til Spilselv. Andreasen and Lachmanor, KoBenhavn. - 1946
  • Muzeum Plankatu w Wilanowie - 1976
    Folder with 4 envelopes inside. These envelopes hold flier sized printed copies of works by artist that were currently being show at the museum.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Pelens?ka, Khrystyna
Pelenski, Jaroslaw, 1929-

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Art, Polish

Geographic Names:
Poland

Genre/Form of Materials:
Posters