Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edwards Pierrepont Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1856-1889
Creator: Pierrepont, Edwards (1817-1892)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0114
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Letters to Edwards from American statesmen.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Edwards Pierrepont Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

A statesman and jurist, Pierrepont practiced law in Ohio and New York before being appointed as Ulysses Grant's attorney general in 1875 -- 1876. He served as minister to England 1866 --1867 and back in New York, worked against Boss Tweed in 1870. Pierrepont died in 1892.

This collection is comprised of 118 letters to Edwards Pierrepont.
3 feet at Yale University Library.

2 feet at Library of Congress Manuscript Division.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1: These materials are boxed with MsC113, MsC115, and MsC116
  • Waite, M[orrison] R[emick], 19 March, Toledo - 1856
  • Sutton, J.H., 1 July - 1862
  • Taylor et al, 8 June, New York - 1863
  • Potter, Bp. H[enry] C[odman], 9 October, New York - 1863
  • Roosevelt, Theodore (Printed matter), 19 October, New York - 1863
  • Gunther, C. Godfry [?], 10 March, New York - 1864
  • Gratz, Simon, 20 September, Philadelphia - 1864
  • Nicolay, John G[eorge], 31 August, Paris, France - 1865
  • Battle, Kemp P[lummer], 28 October, Raleigh, North Carolina - 1867
  • Cu??ch, 7 December, Treasury Department [Washington, D.C.] - 1867
  • Ryerson, Martin, 23 October, Newton, N.J. - 1868
  • Bolles, John A., 2 November, Washington - 1868
  • (Letter) 30 January - 1869
  • Stebbins, Henry G., 21 February, New York - 1869
  • Starling, E.A., 12 March, Louisville - 1869
  • Nott, Charles C., 1 April, Washington - 1869
  • Morgan, F.O., 1 April, Washington - 1869
  • Porter, John K., 5 April, New York - 1869
  • Hoar, E[benezer] R[ockwood] (Attorney General), 9 April, Washington - 1869
  • Dwight, Timothy C., 24 April, Washington - 1869
  • Hoar, Ebenezer Rockwood (Attorney General), 18 June, Washington - 1869
  • Gardner, Asa Bird, 12 August, Philopolis, Balto' Co., Maryland - 1869
  • Baufield, Ele, 3 November, Treasury Department [Washington, D.C.] - 1869
  • Pleasonton, General A[lfred], 2 December, New York - 1869
  • Delano, [Clive?], 23 May, Treasury Department [Washington, D.C.] - 1870
  • Taft, Alphonso, 17 November, Cincinnati - 1870
  • Ewarts, William, 23 September, London - 1871
  • Williams, George H[enry], 13 March, Washington, D.C. - 1872
  • Dwight, Timothy [C.], 13 December, Washington, D.C. - 1872
  • Rice, Clinton, 12 July, Washington, D.C. - 1873
  • Dwight, Timothy, 14 July, [New York (from postmark on envelope)] - 1873
  • Dix, Morgan, 8 November - 1873
  • Fish, Hamilton, 24 July, Washington, D.C. - 1874
  • Sullivan, B. D., 28 April - 1875
  • Belknap, William W., 29 April, Washington - 1875
  • Taft, Alphonso, 29 April, Cincinnati - 1875
  • Read, John Meredith, 8 May, Athens - 1875
  • Goforth, John, 20 May, Washington - 1875
  • Chase, Geo. K., 24 May, New York - 1875
  • DeKay, Sidney, 25 May, New York - 1875
  • Logan, John A[lexander], 25 May, Denver, Colorado - 1875
  • Ingalls [or M. Galls], 3 June, Washington, D.C. - 1875
  • Robeson, George M., 19 June, Washington, D.C. - 1875
  • Sherman, John, 25 June, Mansfield, Ohio - 1875
  • Hills, C., 6 July, Warwick Castle - 1875
  • Bullitt, John C., 8 July, Washington City, D.C. - 1875
  • MacCracken, George W., 19 July, Toledo, Ohio - 1875
  • Watson, A[ndrew?], 15 August, Washington - 1875
  • Erskine, John, 27 August, Atlanta, Georgia - 1875
  • Choate, Joseph H[odges], 14 September, New York - 1875
  • Fancher, E. L., 23 September, New York - 1875
  • Butler, Benj. F., 23 December, Washington - 1875
  • Bunvill, A., 24 December, Washington, D.C. - 1875
  • Pease, H.R., 16 December, Vicksburg, Mississippi - 1875
  • Hewitt, Abram S[tevens], 23 May, Washington, D.C. - 1876
  • Conant, C.B., 24 May, Madison, N.J. - 1876
  • Webster, Athenaeum Club, 11 July, Pall Mall, S.W. - 1876
  • Rose, Martin, 18 July, London - 1876
  • Frelinghuysen, F[rederick] T[heodore], 21 September, London - 1876
  • Davis, J[ohn] [Chandler] Bancroft, 5 November, Berlin - 1876
  • Armstrong, Walter, 2 December, London - 1876
  • Morgan. G., London - 1877
  • Tenterder, Lou, 20 January - 1877
  • Seymour, Sir Francis, 21 January, [London] - 1877
  • Stockton, T., 5 February - 1877
  • von Bulow, Miss, 9 February, Dessan, Germany - 1877
  • Roberts, Marshall, 22 April, New York - 1877
  • Frelinghuysen, F[rederick] T[heodore], 13 April, Washington, D.C. - 1877
  • Dawson, Geo. B, 11 May, Queenstown, Cork. - 1877
  • Frelinghuysen, F[rederick] T[heodore], 31 May, Newark, New Jersey - 1877
  • Frelinghuysen, F[rederick] T[heodore], 14 June, Newark, New Jersey - 1877
  • Probyn, Lind, 21 June, Pall Mall, S.W. - 1877
  • Butler, Benj., 26 (?), Boston, Massachusetts - 1877
  • Chase, G.K., 1 July, Washington - 1877
  • Seymour, H[oratio], 9 July, Nottingham - 1877
  • Lennox, Henry, 23 July - 1877
  • Lennox, Henry, 30 July - 1877
  • Hammilton, A. - 1877
  • Northcote, C. F., Whitehall - 1877
  • Cullom, S[helby] M[oore], 5 August, Springfield, Illinois - 1877
  • Northcote, C.F., 7 August, Whitehall - 1877
  • Northcote, C.F., 9 August, Whitehall - 1877
  • Seymour, Horatio, 30 August - 1877
  • Seward, F[rederick] W[illiam], 30 August, Washington, D.C. - 1877
  • Dwight, Timothy C., 12 September, Washington, D.C. - 1877
  • Seward, F[rederick] W[illiam], 20 September, Washington, D.C. - 1877
  • Shormley, George, 28 October, Fort Garland, Colorado - 1877
  • Seymour, Horatio, 29 October, Nottingham - 1877
  • Waite, M.R., 10 November - 1877
  • Seward, Frederick William, 10 April, Washington, D.C. - 1878
  • Grant, M., 26 May, New York - 1879
  • Stebbing, Thomas R.R., 18 July, Truebridge, Wells - 1879
  • Davis, Charles, 23 January, Washington, D.C. - 1880
  • Paget, Francis, 9 February, Oxford - 1840
  • Blaine, James G[illespie], 23 April, Washington, D.C. - 1881
  • Frelinghuysen, F[rederick] T[heodore], 20 December, Newark, New Jersey - 1881
  • Choate, Joseph H., 31 January, New York - 1882
  • W??? , E.A., 16 August, London, England - 1883
  • Jay, John, 3 December - 1883
  • Campbell, Thomas C., 23 February, New York, New York - 1887
  • Blaine, James G., 14 February, Washington, D.C. - 1889
  • Potter, H[enry] C[odman], 9 May, New York, N.Y. - 1889
  • Cameron, R.W., 14 June, New York, N.Y.
  • Schofield, J[ohn] M[cAllister], 21 June
  • Morton, L[evi] P[arsons], 21 September, Newport, R. I.
  • Morton, L[evi] P[arsons], 14 October
  • Mc Allister, Ward, 2 December
  • Choate, J. H.
  • Morgan, G.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Pierrepont, Edwards, 1817-1892

Occupations:
Statesmen

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Sources
Correspondence