Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nelson Sizer Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1883-1913
Creator: Sizer, Nelson
Extent: 6.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0113
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Statements of phrenological character of Sarah Gillespie Huftalen. With two related letters and three printed items.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were a gift of Sarah G. Huftalen.

Preferred Citation: Nelson Sizer Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Letters of Sizer can be found in the Charles Frohman Collection of John Brown, Jr., Letters at the Rutherford B. Hayes Center Archives.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1: Only 1 folder boxed with MsC114, MsC115, and MsC116
  • "Phrenological character of Sarah Gillespie given at Fowler & Wells Phrenological Cabinet, January 30, No. 735 Broadway, New York by Nelson Sizer, Practical Phrenologist." - 1883
  • T.L.S., Nelson Sizer to Miss S.L. Gillespie, 26 March - 1891
  • A.L.S., Nelson Sizer to Miss Sarah L. Gillespie, 2 April - 1891
  • Catalog of publications of Fowler & Wells Co
  • "The Head and Face: A Mirror of the Mind," pamphlet for Fowler & Wells Co., with instructions for consultations by mail
  • Campaign leaflet for Mrs. Sarah (Gillespie) Huftalen for County Superintendent on the Democratic ticket - 1913

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Huftalen, Sarah Gillespie, 1865-1955
Sizer, Nelson

Corporate Names:
Fowler & Wells

Topics:
Phrenology

Genre/Form of Materials:
Catalogs
Archives
Leaflets
Pamphlets
Sources