Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George F. Hall Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861-1864
Creator: Hall, George F.
Extent: 1.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0111
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier from Iowa. Primarily letters written by Lt. George F. Hall of Co. C, 2nd Iowa Infantry Regiment, to his father during the Civil War. They discuss the food and weather, clothing, Copperheads, etc.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: George F. Hall Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

George F. Hall was a first lieutenant in Company C, 2nd Regiment Iowa Infantry Volunteers during the Civil War. He served much of that time as the ordinance officer.

The papers of George F. Hall consist of twenty-one letters written during the Civil War. Arranged chronologically, these letters date from 1861 through 1864, and are written from places like Corinth and Resinzi, Mississippi, and LaGrange and Pulaski, Tennessee. All but two of the letters were penned by George Hall to his father, Israel Hall, who was living in Davenport, Iowa. Although he does not write of battles, his letters contain descriptions of military life and reflect matters important to the soldier. Hall discusses the condition of their clothing, the food, weather, Copperheads, and promotions within the regiment.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CALENDAR OF THE GEORGE HALL FAMILY CIVIL WAR LETTERS

  • Series 1: CALENDAR OF THE GEORGE HALL FAMILY CIVIL WAR LETTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Saint Joseph, Missouri. 26 June - 1861
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Corinth, Mississippi. 8 July - 1862
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Corinth, Mississippi. 7 July - 1862
    ALS. 1l1
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Corinth, Mississippi. 9 August - 1862
    ALS. 1l . With envelope.
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. La Grange, Tennessee. 20 October - 1862
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Resinzi, Mississippi. 27 October - 1862
    ALS. 1l With envelope
  • Onderdonk, S. to George F. Hall. Lockport, New York. 24 November - 1862
    ALS. 1l. With envelope
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Corinth, Mississippi. 5 December - 1862
    ALS. 1l. With envelope
  • Matson, W.A. to Israel Hall. Lockport, New York. 24 March - 1863
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. To Israel Hall. La Grange, Tennessee. 24 August - 1863
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. La Grange, Tennessee. 11 September - 1863
    Bill presented by William Hutchinson to Israel Hall
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. La Grange, Tennessee. 15 September - 1863
    ALS. 1l. With envelope
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. La Grange, Tennessee. 27 September - 1863
    ALS. 1l. With envelope
  • Hall, George F.to Israel Hall. La Grange, Tennessee. 9 October - 1863
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Pulaski, Tennessee. 12 November - 1863
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Pulaski, Tennessee. 15 November - 1863
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Pulaski, Tennessee. 18 December - 1863
    ALS. 1l. With envelope
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Pulaski, Tennessee. 15 January - 1864
    ALS. 1l. With envelope
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Pulaski, Tennessee. 10 February - 1864
    ALS. 1l
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. Pulaski, Tennessee. 20 March - 1864
    ALS. 1l. With envelope
  • Hall, George F. to Israel Hall. East Point SW [?] 24 September - 1864
    ALS. 1l

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Hall, Israel

Corporate Names:
United States Army. Iowa Infantry Regiment, 2nd (1861-1865), Company C

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865
Copperhead

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives

Browse:
Civil War