Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Giauque Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861-1880
Creator: Giauque Family
Extent: 1.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0110
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Primarily the correspondence of James Giauque, a Civil War soldier who served in the 30th Iowa Infantry. Letters to his brother relate to army life, the siege of Vicksburg, and Copperheads. Also includes letters from his cousin Florian Giauque who served with the 102nd Ohio Volunteers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Giauque Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Brothers James and Alfred Giauque, along with their cousin Florian all served in the Civil War. James was a corporal in Company D, 30th Regiment of the Iowa Volunteer Infantry. He took part in the siege of Vicksburg and a number of other battles. Army life, food, Copperheads, and his service in and around Vicksburg, Mississippi are the main topics of his letters home. Most of those letters were written to his brother Alfred. Alfred Giauque was in the military in 1861, and wrote in detail about the company's band of which he was a member. His father, Charles Giauque wrote him a letter of encouragement in 1861. However, by 1862 when James began writing, Alfred was back in Iowa. Florian Giauque was a cousin of James and Alfred's from Ohio. He served in the 102nd Ohio Volunteers. His letters to Alfred discuss army life and mention fellow acquaintances.

The papers of the Giauque family date from 1861 to 1880. Comprised of only thirty-eight items, arranged chronologically, most of these are letters written by James and Florian Giauque to Alfred during the Civil War. They describe army life, discuss Copperhead politics, and detail the siege of Vicksburg.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1861-1880