Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Martin Mericle Letters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1877
Creator: Mericle, Martin
Extent: 8.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0106
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Personal letters describing Martin Mericle's Civil War experiences while serving with the 114th Ohio Infantry Regiment. Also includes and account book, 1863-1875.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1960 by Roy Mericle.

Preferred Citation: Martin Mericle Letters, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection is also boxed with MsC0105.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: ACCOUNT BOOK

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Five letters written by Martin Mericle while he served with the 114th Ohio Infantry Regiment in the Civil War
  • Camp Marietta (no state), October 19 - 1862
  • New Orleans or Carrollton, LA, August 19 - 1863
  • Camp [Indianola?] [LA?] [TX?], January 22 - 1864
  • Matagorda Island, TX, March 26 - 1864
  • Barrancas, FL, February 5 - 1865
  • Lancaster, OH, September 2. This is the letter from John Freed [to Joseph Mericle] - 1865
  • Postcard to E. Mericle from Western Stock Journal. n.d.
  • Series 2: ACCOUNT BOOK
  • Box 1:
  • Account book of Emanuel Mericle - 1863-1865

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Mericle, Imanuel.
Mericle, Martin

Corporate Names:
United States. Army. Ohio Infantry Regiment, 114th (1862-1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Ohio

Genre/Form of Materials:
Account books
Sources
Correspondence

Browse:
Civil War