Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Bartholomew Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1850-1907
Creator: Bartholomew Family
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0105
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence of the Bryan and Harriet Ward Bartholomew family describing life in Iowa , c. 1850-1910, especially related to settling in Iowa and starting in business in Des Moines and Chariton .

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Papers of the Bartholomew Family, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection consists primarily of correspondence of the Bryan and Harriet Ward Bartholomew family describing life in Iowa, c. 1850-1910, especially related to settling in Iowa and starting in business in Des Moines and Chariton. It includes correspondence of the Ward family, Mel L. Webster, Salina Saltsgiver, F.H. Wyrick. and others. 213 pieces. This collection shares a box with MsC 106, the Martin Mericle Letters (1 folder).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence of the Bartholomew family. 62 pieces. - 1850-1900
  • Correspondence of the Ward family. 22 pieces. - 1850-1900
  • Correspondence of Mel L. Webster. 48 pieces. - 1883-1889
  • Correspondence of Salina Saltsgiver, mostly undated. 9 pieces.
  • Correspondence of. F.H. Wyrick. 14 pieces. - 1893-1907
  • Miscellaneous correspondence. 37 pieces.
  • Miscellaneous. 21 pieces.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.