Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles A. Dewey Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1888-1954
Creator: Dewey, Charles A. (1877-1958)
Extent: 6.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0103
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Judge and lawyer. Papers relating primarily to his career on the bench. Correspondence and subject files, together with biographical material, speeches, and articles make up the collection. Includes jury instructions and a well documented lawsuit involving Union Carbide and Carbon Corp.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of U.S. District Judge Charles Almon Dewey were obtained for the State University of Iowa Library as a result of the efforts, interests, and correspondence initiated by George M. Sheets, 1958. Title to the papers was given and signed by Mrs. Charles A. Dewey at Des Moines, Iowa, March 9, 1959.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Charles A. Dewey, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Charles Almon Dewey was born in Washington, Iowa, on September 11, 1877 to Almon Ralph and Sarah (Rousseau) Dewey. He attended Oberlin College in Ohio from 1897-1898, and earned his law degree from the University of Iowa in 1901. In 1902, he began his legal practice in Washington, Iowa, and was appointed City Attorney. He held this post until 1908, when he became the County Attorney for Washington County, Iowa. Dewey married Jessie Irene Laffer of Washington, Iowa, September 1910. One son, Almon Rousseau Dewey, was born to this marriage. In 1918, Dewey was appointed Iowa District Court Judge of the Sixth Judicial District. President Calvin Coolidge appointed Dewey a United States District Court Judge of the Southern District of Iowa on January 23, 1928. Dewey requested retirement from that office, which was approved by President Harry S. Truman on March 1, 1949. He died at his home in Des Moines, Iowa, on March 2, 1958 and was buried at Washington, Iowa.

The papers of Charles A. Dewey contain manuscript material primarily relating to his career on the bench. The collection is described with item level indications, in the format of: Folder/Item Number(s)/Description.
 
The collection is comprised of correspondence and subject files providing a chronological view of the Iowa legal scene from the 1890s through the early 1950s. It includes more than thirty folders containing Judge Dewey's instructions to various juries. The U.S. District Court Instructions to Juries of Mr. Dewey's are probably unique and do not exist elsewhere. A lawsuit involving Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation is documented in great detail, with over twenty-five folders of records from court proceedings, appeals, and petitions to trial briefs and memoranda. There are copies of Judge Dewey's articles and speeches as well as biographical information. The correspondence files include letters from William F. Riley, John B. Sanborn, Seth Thomas, and Fred M. Vinson.
 
The primary significance of this collection lies in the correspondence it contains with prominent Iowa and national figures, such as Presidents Calvin Coolidge and Harry S. Truman, Supreme Court Chief Justice Fred M. Vinson, Attorney General Tom C. Clark, Senators Guy M. Gillette and Bourke B. Hickenlooper, Congressman Eugene D. O'Sullivan, and editorial cartoonist Jay N. Darling.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: GENERAL
Series 3: INSTRUCTIONS TO JURIES
Series 4: UNION CARBIDE AND CARBON CORPORATION LAWSUIT
Series 5: NOTES AND INDEX
Series 6: OVERSIZED MATERIALS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • 1/1 -- 102/Letters, forms, contracts - 1949-1954
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, Albert C. Barkowitz (TLS), John L. Bunce (TLS), Neal L. Banning (ALS), K.L. Hullsick, Elmore Whitehurst (TLS), Frederick J. Lawton, Henry P. Chandler (TLS), Leland L. Tolman (TLS), William F. Riley, Thomas V. Koykka (TLS), Lucian D. Drake, Roy A. Ellis, Don L. Berry (TLS), Lewis S. Kiner, Harvey D. Best (ALS), Frank M. Barnoske (2 ALS), Ruby F. Ethington (TLS), Harold M. Stephens (TLS), John Biggs, Jr. (TLS), Vance Dickerman (TLS), Charles H. Bryant, Cornelius H. Bull III (TLS), W. Harold Brenton, Henry A. Bundschu (TLS), Henry C. Blackiston, Jr. (TLS), Robert J. Bannister (TLS), Earl B. Delzell (TLS), R.F. Clough, James P. Irish (TLS), George Cosson, Jr. (TLS), Ralph W. Copeland (TLS), William V. Connell (TLS), Ben Cohen (TLS), Missouri U.S. Circuit Court Judge John Caskie Callet (TLS), Richard H. McCleery (TLS), A.J. Crail (TLS), Jeff Chaffin, G. Henry Davis (TLS), F.H. Trumbull (TLS), South Dakota U.S. District Court Judge Archibald K. Gardiner, New York U.S. District Court Judge Edward A. Conger, New York U.S. District Court Judge Armand Chakalian, Don Carpenter (TLS), Caroline Young Casady (TDS), Earl E. Dusenbery (TLS), Alfred P. Draper, Frank W. Davis (TLS), Don Rosche, Henry Pearlman (TLS), Lynn DeReu (TLS), U.S. President Harry S. Truman (TLS), Colonel C.W. Dickson - 1949-1954
  • 2/103 -- 218/Letters, invitations, programs - 1949-1954
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, Don A. Davis (TLS), Earl B. Delzell (TLS), South Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Archibald K. Gardner (TLS), Wilfred R. Godard (ALS), Roscoe R. Walcutt, Ora W. Grow (TLS), Ross J. Camblin, Mrs. Ethel Goldmann (TLS), Florida U.S. Attorney J. Edwin Gay (TLS), Mrs. Lucretia Garretson (TLS), Russell Goodin (TLS), New York U.S. District Court Judge Henry W. Goddard (TLS), Ray C. Fountain, Clarke R. Bennett, Adolph F. Holm (TLS), Charles Heninger (TLS), Charles B. Hayes (TLS), Otto J. Hill, Esther Griffith, D.W. Harvey, Paul D. Gagnon (ALS), K.L. Hullsick, George L. Garton, Iowa U.S. District Court Judge Henry N. Graven (TLS), Joe W. Griffin, Fred Z. Havens (M.D., Mayo Clinic) (TLS), Florida U.S. District Court Judge John W. Holladn (TLS), Henry P. Chandler, Florida U.S. Attorney Herbert S. Phillips, Dominick Pascarella, Parnell J.T. Callahan (TLS), Edward H. Jones (TLS), Harvey Jensen, Lloyd B. Hart (ATS), Edward V. Halbach (TLS), Ray W. Johnson (TLS), William R. Hart (TLS), George H. Heisey, Alice M. Heinz (ALS), W.N. Kueneman (TLS), Thomas W. Keenan (TLS), Mrs. George L. Kelly (TLS), Charles Loring, W.V. Kittleman (TLS), James J. Gillespie, H. C. Kruse (TLS), Ernest R. Moore (ALS), Ellen E. Morrison (ALS), Thomas P. Mexick (TLS), Stanley Miller (TLS) - 1949-1954
  • 3/219 -- 297/Letters - 1942-1954
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, C. Clifford Bacon (TLS), J.W. McCully (TLS), Lee McNeely (TLS), T. J. Mahoney (TLS), Fritz Mouch (ALS), Edmund D. Morrison, Jr. (TLS), I.E. Metcalf (TLS), Mrs. Mary M. Miller (TLS), John C. Pegram (ALS), Sam Lowry, Clara McNurlem (ALS), Masam (ALS), Charles Loring, W.N. Kueneman, Frank L. Wilson (ALS), Ellen E. Morrison (TLS), William L. Perkins (TLS), George E. Sanders (TLS), George A. Heisey, John G. Harvey (ALS), Edward H. Jones (TLS), Walter R. Brown (TLS), Andrew J. Murphy, Jr., M.R. Hammer (TLS), Ethel Goldmann (TLS), Louis Johnson (TLS), Cornelius Johnson (ALS), Clifford D. Cory (TS), Charles E. Wignall, Emanuel D. Kelmans (TLS), Thomas V. Koykka (TLS), Thel F. Katz (TLS), Irving Brand, Illinois U.S. Circuit Court Judge J. Earl Major (TLS), Lenore Hollander (TLS), Peter W. Janes (TLS), Mrs. Fay Kinney (TLS), C. Johnson (ALS), A.F. Holm (TLS), Robert C. Lappen (TLS), Theodore M. Kranitz (TLS), Harry W. Lindsey, Jr. (TLS), Vincent L. Leibell (TLS), Reverend E.J. Laird (ALS) - 1942-1954
  • 4/298 -- 406/Letters, postcards - 1948-1952
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, S.W. Kaster (TLS), J.L. Ziegler (TLS), Raymond Sloan (TLS), Missouri U.S. Circuit Court Judge Kimbrough Stone (TLS), Ralph Shannon (TLS), R.H. Still (TLS), Raymond Smith, Clement A. Sones, J.T. Strawn, A.E. Brown, Lafayette S. Mercer (TLS), R.D. Brown (TLS), Iowa U.S. Circuit Court Judge Seth Thomas (TLS), Wayne Davies (TLS), G. Hugo Weidhaas (TLS), Earl B. Delzell (TLS), Paul Schweikert (TLS), Ray W. Johnson (TLS), R.M. Evans (TLS), George E. Sanders, Frank J. Venning (ALS), U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice Fred M. Vinson (3 TLS), Dorothea M.B. Vermorel (TLS), New York U.S. Attorney Myles J. Lane (TLS), Ruth Spriggs Turner (TLS), Colonel John C. Pegram (ALS), Yvonne Piot, George C. Huff (TLS), Tom W. Purcell (TLS), William Papst, Leland R. Standing (ALS), Glenn S. Radcliffe (TLS), William F. Riley, E.E. Koch, Alabama U.S. District Court Judge Daniel H. Thomas (TLS), Ruth Turner (ALS), Wilfred Raymond Goddard, Robert B. Throckmorton (TLS), U.S. Attorney Eugene F. Roth, James E. Remley, Indiana U.S. District Court Judge Luther M. Swygert (TLS), New York U.S. Attorney Irving H. Saypol, (ALS), U.S. Federal Reformatory Warden L.C. Schilder (TLS), Wesley Byron Fulmer (ALS), Thomas P. Meswick (TLS), Parnell J.T. Callahan (TLS), Theodore J. Breitwieser (TLS), Milton Pollack, Gregario Simonvick (ALS), L. Silverman (TLS), George Shervan (ALS), New York U.S. Attorney Eugene F. Roth (TLS), John Woolson Brooks (TLS), George Hunt Robinson (ALS) - 1948-1952
  • 5/407 -- 519/Letters, telegrams, postcards - 1949-1954
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, Milton Pollack (TLS), Elvin J. Ryan (TLS), Ernest E. Roberts (TLS), William R. Sheridan (TLS), Mrs. Ruth Braniff (TLS), J. Ellitt Grayson (TLS), Bonnie K. Orwig, Emanuel Nadlin, Eugene F. Roth, William O'Herin (TLS), Warren J. Priester (ALS), Nebraska U.S. Representative Eugene D. O'Sullivan (TLS), William L. Perkins (TLS), Iowa U.S. District Court Judge William F. Riley (TLS), John Munroe (ALS), Colonel John C. Pegram (ALS), Joseph Anthony Santerelly (ALS), William V. Connell (TLS), Charles Lambert (ALS), Robert Darling (ALS), Mrs. Florence Santerelly Vincenzo (ALS), James R. Bennett (ALS), Caridad Cabot (ALS), Gregorio Simonovich (ALS), Wilfred R. Godard (ALS), George Hunt Robinson (ALS), Fred Botts, Florence B. Price, Ivy P. Hutchinson (ALS), Abraham Victor, Mrs. Berta Simonowich (TLS), Solomon Simonowich (TLS), Ralph B. Slippy (TLS), A. J. Bourdon, U.S. Attorney Herbert S. Phillips, Melvin W. Hyde (TLS), Milo W. Chalfant, Charles K. Needham (ALS), Vera (Bratten) Oehler (ALS), Emanuel Nadlin (TLS), Edmund D. Morrison, Jr., Arthur H. Neumann, William M. Keeley (TLS), Frank H. Noble, Ellen E. Morrison (ALS), Nelle S. Noble (TLS), Richard McCleery, Henry S. Merrick (ALS), Ed Meredith (TLS), Robert D. Noble, Jr., (TLS), Arkansas U.S. District Court Judge John E. Miller (TLS), Lyle B. Nicola (ALS), Eva M. Neiswanger, (ALS), A. C. McNurlen (TLS), Lee McNeely (TLS), Leland L. Tolman (TLS), Alvin J. Crail, Jay N. Darling (ALS ), Kip Elbert, Robert J. Bannister (TLS) - 1949-1954
  • 6/520 -- 545/Biographical materials. Photographs, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, licenses, certificates
  • 7/546 -- 664/Letters, petitions, appeals - 1944-1950
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, Glenn H. Goodman (TLS), Fred Louis, Percy A. Loinson (TLS), Fred J. Tompkins (TLS), Daniel L.H. West (ALS), A.M. Fitzgerald (TLS), Charles A. Scholz (TLS), Ed J. Farrant, Otis H. Spencer, Orville Hurley (TLS), Thomas S. Wills (TLS), George H. Gibson, E.E. Koch (TLS), Missouri U.S. Circuit Court Judge John B. Sanborn (TLS), Iowa U.S. Circuit Court Judge Seth Thomas (TLS), South Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Archibald K. Gardner (TLS), U.S. President Harry S. Truman, Whitney Gillillad (TLS), William P. Welch (TLS), M.W. Hyland (TLS), Michael A. Gasser (TLS), W. Harold Brenton (TLS), John K. Valentine (ALS), Robert R. McBeth (TLS), U.S. Senator Guy Mark Gillette (TLS), Carlos W. Goltz (TLS), Donald Evans (ALS), Roscoe P. Thoma (TLS), William R. Sheridan (TLS), J.H. Krenmyre (TLS), Allen Whitfield (TLS), Jay N. Darling (ALS), I. Rothschild, J.R. Drake (TLS), Frederick M. Morrison (TLS), Art Oppenheimer (TLS), Ralph E. Shannon (TLS), Mrs. C.E. Yount (ALS), Grace B. Connor (ALS), Mrs. Oscar Lane (ALS), Mrs. Edwin M. Miller (ALS), Harry Ward (TLS), U.S. Attorney General Tom C. Clark (TLS), Henry P. Chandler (TLS), Iowa U.S. Senator Bourke B. Hickenlooper (TLS), Charles Lee McIntosh (TLS), Dr. I.W. Steele - 1944-1950
  • Box 2:
  • 8/665 -- 791/Letters, travel vouchers - 1949-1953
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, Stevens Fargo (TLS), Iowa U.S. Circuit Court Judge Seth Thomas (TLS), E.E. Koch (TLS), Minnesota U.S. Circuit Court Judge John B. Sanborn (TLS), South Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Archibald K. Gardner (TLS), Elmore Whitehurt (TLS), U.S. District Judge Carroll O. Switzer (TDS), Henry P. Chandler (TLS), Arthur W. Cross (TLS), Harry B. Mitchell, John W. Hudson (TLS), Mary Evelyn Rielly, Ray C. Fountain - 1949-1953
  • 9/792 -- 800/Letters - 1941-1952
  • Correspondence of Charles Almon Dewey, Ray C. Fountain (TLS), Iowa U.S. District Judge Henry N. Graven (TLS), E.E. Koch (TLS), Florence M. Wahlgren (TLS), Bailey C. Webber (TLS), Minnesota U.S. Circuit Court Judge John B. Sanborn (TLS), South Dakota U.S. Circuit Court Judge Archibald K. Gardner, Leland L. Tolman, Charles E. Clark - 1941-1952
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 2:
  • 9/801/Certificate. Royal and Select Masters of the State of Iowa. Zeredatha Council No. 21, Washington, Iowa
  • 9/802 -- 827/Genealogical charts. Iowa Department of History and Archives Historical Library. The Dewey Family Tree
  • 9/828/Speech. Father and Son Banquet. Handwritten penciled manuscript. Fifteen pages
  • Series 3: INSTRUCTIONS TO JURIES
  • Box 2:
  • 10/829 -- 834/Instructions to Juries, District Court of Iowa, Washington County - 1902-1924
  • Mrs. Kate McCartney vs. City of Washington - 1902-1924
  • J.S. Skipton vs. Roy Morrow et al. - 1902-1924
  • Austin Sutherland and D.B. Klopfenstein vs. Chicago Rock Island and Pacific Railway Company - 1902-1924
  • E.A. Kennell vs. D.A. Boyer - 1902-1924
  • J.L. Downs et al. vs. Kate Burgess et al. - 1902-1924
  • W.P. Moothart vs. Great Western Land Company - 1902-1924
  • 11/835 -- 841/Instructions to Juries, District Court of Iowa, Washington County - 1902-1924
  • William W. Wabnitz vs. O.E. Hunt - 1902-1924
  • Marcus Kuhn vs. Murray Conger - 1902-1924
  • Dan Wenger vs. Iowa Central Railway Company - 1902-1924
  • Nancy Hesseltine et al. vs. Albert Hesseltine - 1902-1924
  • State of Iowa vs. James Wilkins - 1902-1924
  • L.M. Shrycock vs. Ralph Beliel - 1902-1924
  • Mrs. M.C. McDonald vs. Henry C. Wiegman - 1902-1924
  • 12/842 -- 856/Instructions to Juries, District Court of Iowa, Washington County - 1902-1924
  • T.A. West vs. Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway Co. - 1902-1924
  • Brighton, Iowa, vs. Charles Sieren - 1902-1924
  • A.L. & F.H. Hamilton vs. C.O. Kiser - 1902-1924
  • C.C. Cunningham vs. Walter L. Johnson - 1902-1924
  • Moorman Mfg. Co. vs. C.A. Brook - 1902-1924
  • J.M. Simpson vs. J.O. Sexton - 1902-1924
  • Glenn Briar vs. Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Co. - 1902-1924
  • Emil Anderson, Admr. vs. Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Co. - 1902-1924
  • Joseph Link vs. The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Co. - 1902-1924
  • State of Iowa vs. Lee Seivert - 1902-1924
  • Charlesy McKinstrey vs. John McKinstry - 1902-1924
  • L.A. Guy vs. John Bailon Payne - 1902-1924
  • Dan Hesseltine vs. A.J. Morgan - 1902-1924
  • Francis M. Williamson vs. B. Parkinson - 1902-1924
  • O.F. Maygold vs. C.P. Rivers - 1902-1924
  • 13/857 -- 862/Instructions to Juries, District Court of Iowa, Washington County - 1902-1924
  • Emma Plecker vs. R.T. Knottnerus - 1902-1924
  • R.W. Jackson vs. J.H. Hull - 1902-1924
  • Arthur Enfield vs. A.C. Sleichter - 1902-1924
  • State of Iowa vs. Mode Hudnell - 1902-1924
  • State of Iowa vs. Charles Moffett - 1902-1924
  • State of Iowa vs. A.J. Boyd - 1902-1924
  • 13/863 -- 870/Instructions to Juries. District Court of Iowa, Mahaska County - 1892-1927
  • Nannie Roberts vs. T.A. White and James L. Roberts - 1892-1927
  • John Nash vs. F.M. Davenport et al. - 1892-1927
  • George W. Whitaker vs. W.N. Hoover - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. C.P. Searle - 1892-1927
  • Mace Hagan vs. Iowa Central Railway Co. - 1892-1927
  • L.K. Adlou vs. Minneapolis St. Louis Railway Company - 1892-1927
  • N.D. Martin vs. C.J. Ruby - 1892-1927
  • E.E. Dalby vs. M.M. Rogers - 1892-1927
  • Box 3:
  • 14/871 -- 884/Instructions to Juries. District Court of Iowa, Mahaska County - 1892-1927
  • Laura Waite vs. Crickett Coal Company - 1892-1927
  • Joseph Boyd vs. City of Oskaloosa - 1892-1927
  • Tilton Brothers vs. H.W. Edmondson - 1892-1927
  • Theodore Bakachelos vs. James W. Taylor - 1892-1927
  • Ralph Ratcliff vs. Archie Lang - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. J.J. Murphy and Charles Keller - 1892-1927
  • Colville and Colville vs. George F. McCarty - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. Ray Yates - 1892-1927
  • Will of C.W. Foster deceased, Instruction No. 1 - 1892-1927
  • In the matter of the Last Will and Testament of C.W. Foster, Proof of Will - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. John Kirkman - 1892-1927
  • In the matter of the Estate of J.J. Sparks, Proof of Will - 1892-1927
  • Reynolds and Heitsman vs. Jeff J. Henry - 1892-1927
  • 15/885 -- 897/Instructions to Juries. District Court of Iowa, Mahaska County - 1892-1927
  • T.J. Bray vs. J.T. Fox - 1892-1927
  • Fred M. Bishop vs. Floyd C. Hite - 1892-1927
  • A.L. Stutzman vs. James Engle et al. - 1892-1927
  • W.M. McAdams vs. C.R.I. and P. Ry. Co. - 1892-1927
  • A.L. Stutzman vs. Peoples Trust and Savings Bank - 1892-1927
  • Jack Long vs. Albert Systma - 1892-1927
  • R.S. McCall vs. Lovica McNabb - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. Art Van Klaveren and Wilbur Monney - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. A.F. Hockett - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. Sherman Hogsette - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. Charles Carpenter - 1892-1927
  • A.L. Stutzman vs. Tim J. Campbell et al. - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. A.L. Wilson - 1892-1927
  • 16/898 -- 907/Instructions to Juries. District Court of Iowa, Mahaska County - 1892-1927
  • Unknown - 1892-1927
  • Lyon vs. Crotinger - 1892-1927
  • Edna Heud vs. The Minneapolis and St. Louis Railroad Co. - 1892-1927
  • W.M. McAdams vs. James C. Davis - 1892-1927
  • A.J. Augustine vs. Caroline Laughlin - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. Charles Tohren - 1892-1927
  • Bert Harris vs. Barnes City Savings Bank - 1892-1927
  • James E. Lee et al. vs. Samuel Lewis Lee - 1892-1927
  • A.C. Darland vs. Walter Phillips - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. T.A. Howell - 1892-1927
  • 17/908 -- 916/Instructions to Juries. District Court of Iowa, Mahaska County - 1892-1927
  • Ruth Hess and O.G. Hess vs. The Board of Supervisors, Mahaska County - 1892-1927
  • C.T. Longstreet vs. Town of Sharon - 1892-1927
  • Heaverlo and Son vs. Judd M. Covey - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. Matthew Houston - 1892-1927
  • Mary Shaffer vs. Hiram Gosnell - 1892-1927
  • Sarah Summers vs. W.R. Campfield - 1892-1927
  • C.H. Smith vs. Ed Grefe - 1892-1927
  • J.E. Vanderzyl vs. C.R.I. and P. Railway - 1892-1927
  • State of Iowa vs. Dick Daud - 1892-1927
  • 18/917 -- 931/Instructions to Juries, Poweshiek County, District Court in Iowa - 1900-1926
  • A.M. Waufle vs. Iowa Central Railway Co. - 1900-1926
  • John W. Mullen vs. Amos L. Shangle et al. - 1900-1926
  • J.M. Goodson vs. Charles Wolford - 1900-1926
  • Frank Harding vs. C.R.I. and P. Railway Co. - 1900-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Harold Swisher et al. - 1900-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Nicol Bracy - 1900-1926
  • W.E. Ritchie vs. J.C. Shawalter - 1900-1926
  • Grinnell Motor Car Company vs. H.A. Beenblossom - 1900-1926
  • In the matter of the last will and testament of William E. Sanders - 1900-1926
  • J.E. Gregson vs. Henry McGinn - 1900-1926
  • Lena Fegel vs. Roy Coburn - 1900-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. John Shultz - 1900-1926
  • The Schee Co. vs. Malcom Savings Bank - 1900-1926
  • Grinnell Overland Co. vs. Emery Schmitz - 1900-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Ray Scheel - 1900-1926
  • Box 4:
  • 19/932 -- 947/Instructions to Juries
  • Poweshiek County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. George E. Caple - 1900-1926
  • Poweshiek County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Emil Van Tonne - 1900-1926
  • Poweshiek County, District Court in Iowa: Murrison Auto Company vs. James McCann et al. - 1900-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: Lee E. Zachery Jr. vs. J.W. Anderson et al. - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: H.M. Cox. vs. Jasper County - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Oscar Harter - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Tom Jones - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: H.L. Morgan vs. V. Kinyan - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. William Hunter - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: J.W. Schnell vs. F.W. Sweaningen et al. - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: R.W. Sayre vs. W.A. Livingston - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: Chester Sloanakev vs. Eli Wood - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: Orville Sparks vs. John H. Sherman - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Roy Scheel - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: Walter S. Van Wyngarden vs. William D. McKinney - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Harry Ver Stug - 1893-1926
  • 20/948 -- 956/Instructions to Juries, Jasper County, District Court of Iowa - 1893-1926
  • L.P. Mintle vs. Dora Sylvester et al. - 1893-1926
  • Wilford C. Lane vs. The City of Newton - 1893-1926
  • George Long vs. Joe Stratton - 1893-1926
  • John E. Lutz vs. James C. Davis - 1893-1926
  • Dr. F.L. Smith vs. Guy Nolin, Albert Nolin - 1893-1926
  • Jacob De Haan vs. Jasper County - 1893-1926
  • H.D. Cross vs. Louis T. Herbold - 1893-1926
  • Fred Evans vs. Fred Evans - 1893-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Earl Dodd - 1893-1926
  • 21/957 -- 971/Instructions to Juries
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Ramaldo Gomez - 1893-1926
  • Jasper County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Lev Krampe - 1893-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: Seeley Baldwin et al. vs. Iowa City and Western Railway Co. - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Charles B. Hix - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Leroy Haines - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: Indiana Hunt vs. John A. Greenlee - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Isaac Deweese - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: Everett L. Kirkpatrick vs. William Coffman et al. - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. W. T. Layton - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: Joe Borough vs. Minneapolis St. Louis Railway Co. - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. C. J. Nicola - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: W.H. Harshman vs. W.H. Cooper - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Jay Chapman - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Charles Conger - 1891-1926
  • Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Jameson E. Brinkmeyer - 1891-1926
  • 22/972 -- 983/Instructions to Juries, Keokuk County, District Court of Iowa - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Frankie G. Greiner - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Eddie Green - 1891-1926
  • Andrew Hinnah vs. Edward Seaba et al. - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Charley Wagamon - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Lloyd M. Robinson - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Robert Plum - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Lee Dungar - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Myrtle Shifflet et al. - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. William Ethington - 1891-1926
  • U.S. of America vs. Richard H. Ditto - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. William Lovell - 1891-1926
  • State of Iowa vs. Myrtle Shifflet and Charley Hinz - 1891-1926
  • 23/984 -- 1014/Instructions to Juries
  • Woodbury County, District Court in Iowa: Samuel G. Clevinger vs. Chicago Milwaukee and St. Louis Railway Co. - 1888-1892
  • Woodbury County, District Court in Iowa: Mrs. H.A. Ernst vs. Hugh Parkhill - 1888-1892
  • Woodbury County, District Court in Iowa: W.F. Gibbons vs. Christian Stenbeck et al. - 1888-1892
  • Woodbury County, District Court in Iowa: W.H. Beebe et al. vs. Niles A. McFaul et al. - 1888-1892
  • Pottawattamie County, District Court in Iowa: Fred W. Leehman vs. Union Pacific Railroad - 1913
  • Plymouth County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. James Deviney - 1913
  • Harrison County, District Court in Iowa: Iris M. Lusk vs. James Lusk - 1897
  • Harrison County, District Court in Iowa: James Lusk vs. C.A. Bolter - 1897
  • Iowa County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Howard Berry - 1919
  • Iowa County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Howard Berry - 1919
  • Iowa County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Howard Berry - 1919
  • District Court in Iowa for Dallas County: Cecil Samuel Oliphant vs. E.L. Kaser, Don Kaser and Kaser Construction Co.
  • Dubuque County, District Court in Iowa: Hirshborn, Mack and Co. vs Charles Bradly
  • Cerro Gordo County, District Court in Iowa: Atlas Brewing Company vs. Huffman
  • Mills County, District Court in Iowa: John Newsome vs. Troy Brooks
  • Keokuk County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. H.B. Hetzlee - 1923
  • Sioux County, District Court in Iowa: W.H. Hart vs. Seth Allen - 1896
  • Louisa County, District Court in Iowa: State of Iowa vs. Rafe Mauland - 1891-1894
  • Louisa County, District Court in Iowa: George Baker vs. D.H. Westbrook - 1891-1894
  • Louisa County, District Court in Iowa: W.A. Coulton vs. H.J. Preston et al. - 1891-1894
  • Snowden vs. Town of Logan
  • Louise Faivre vs. John Manderscheid
  • Jams J. Fitzgibbons vs. Chicago Northwestern Railway Co.
  • Elizabeth Tuttle vs. Matt Franciscus
  • S.G. Jones vs. Howey Van Cleve
  • C.D. McFadden vs. Sioux City Rapid Transit Co.
  • William and Robert Glenn vs. J.B. Jeffery
  • T.W. Brennan vs. Simon O'Connor
  • Sioux City Cable Railway Co.
  • T.L. Foley, Amd., of the Estate of Iver Olson vs. The Cudahy Packing Company
  • George F. Gorham vs. Sioux City Stock Yards Co.
  • 24/1015 -- 1059/Instructions to Juries
  • Mary E. Case vs. The City of Sioux City
  • C.H. Dean vs. Nichols Shepard Co.
  • Avery Planter Co. vs. C.M. Martz
  • Marten vs. Shannon
  • Oliver Burton vs. Hiram Neill
  • George F. Gorham vs. Sioux City Stock Yards
  • Sallie McConahey vs. Thomas L. Griffey
  • Sam Dimsdale vs. Tolerton-Waifield Co.
  • Hans Stomme vs. Hanford Produce Co.
  • George M. Patterson vs. James A. Beacom
  • White vs. International Text Book Co.
  • Lawrence Admr. vs. City of Sioux City
  • Hanansek vs. Marshalltown
  • International Harvester Co. vs. Iowa Hardware Co.
  • Kaux vs. Glen Gracey et al.
  • E.R. Sly vs. Bell
  • Wright vs. Voorhees et al.
  • Sheffield vs. Hanna
  • D.A. Enslow vs. W.W. Ennis
  • Whitlock vs. Berry et al.
  • Weiershauser vs. Cole and Johnson
  • H.F. McCombs vs. Travelers Insurance Co.
  • Mary E. Scott vs. The Homesteader
  • Henderson vs. Standard Fire Insurance Co.
  • Walrod vs. Des Moines Fire Insurance
  • McClure vs. Great Western Accident Insurance Co.
  • Mattie Vernon vs. Iowa State Travelers Men's Assn.
  • Flower vs. Continental Casualty Co.
  • McAllister vs. Johnson
  • Parker vs. City of Bedford
  • State vs. Vlin
  • H.N. Spencer vs. O.J. Butler
  • Stotts vs. Fairfield
  • U.S. vs. 20.08 Acres of Land in Harman Township
  • Morah and Webber Cases
  • Baughmann vs. Engr. Co.
  • Prudential Ins. Co. vs. G.E. Wolfe
  • Lang Mfg. Co. vs. E.V. Benjamin Co.
  • Husted vs. Rock Island Railroad
  • Ross Morry vs. Interstate Transit Lines
  • Title opinion on Will E. Foster and Bertha B.C. Foster Tract, Civil No. 16
  • Longstreet vs. Town of Sharon
  • Hess vs. County
  • W.M. Champion Will Instructions
  • Tiddle vs. Salter
  • Box 5: 25/1060 -- 1080/Instructions to Juries
  • Phelpott vs. Janes
  • Ramsey vs. Nedham
  • Van Baalen vs. Whitehead
  • Wobuitz vs. Hunt
  • Williams vs. Clark Co.
  • Vandeventor vs. Nelson
  • Laine vs. I.S.L.M.A.
  • Parnham vs. Weeks
  • Hookes and Son vs. F.H. Simpson Fruit Co.
  • Schultz vs. Starr
  • Fawley vs. Sheldon
  • Askaloosa College vs. Standard Coal Co.
  • Anna Faulk vs. Iowa Co.
  • Oscar L. Brock vs. ----
  • State vs. Turner
  • Cook vs. C.M. and St. Paul Railway
  • Chaplin Corp. vs. Grady
  • Farmers Natl. Bank vs. Frank E. Baker
  • Gove vs. Edd ver Stug
  • In the matter of the Estate of Sarah Jamison
  • Middleton vs. Railway Co.
  • 26/1081 -- 1103/Instructions to Juries
  • Middleton vs. Railway Co.
  • Rawn vs. Reixion (?)
  • Reints vs. Uhlenhopp
  • Reom vs. Padgett
  • C.W. Beck vs. J.P. Scott and Lou Scott
  • Wilson vs. Fry
  • State vs. Edward Stoll and George MacDonald
  • State vs. Spencer
  • State vs. Iowa Miles Parish
  • State vs. L.H. Sherman
  • Burgess vs. Sims Drug Co.
  • U.S. vs. Samuel Chapman
  • State of Iowa vs. J.D. Deihl
  • Connell vs. Keokuk Electric Railway and Power Co.
  • Evans Admr. vs. Oskaloosa Traction and Light Co.
  • Fontana vs. Ft. Dodge Des Moines and Sioux Railway
  • Ahlson vs. High Bridge Coal Co.
  • Anderson vs. Standard Oil Co.
  • New York Life vs. Anderson
  • Howard and Harper vs. C.B. and I. Railroad
  • R.F. Murrison Auto Co. vs. McCann et al.
  • Reynolds vs. Smith and Sehader
  • Day vs. Shallenberger
  • 27/1104 -- 1118/Instructions to Juries
  • Henry Ford vs. Chicago Tribune
  • Billick vs. Davidson
  • I. Maytag vs. M. Breen
  • U.S.A. vs. John Dancy
  • U.S.A. vs. Millman
  • U.S.A. vs. Stevens Market
  • U.S.A. vs. John Dancy
  • U.S.A. vs. Christopher J. Montaltos
  • U.S.A. vs. John Lopez, Bertram Erickson, Chris Reinertsen
  • U.S.A. vs. Arthur Palma
  • Murray vs. C.R.I. and P.R.R. Co.
  • St. Louis and S.F.R. Co. vs. Chapman
  • Nellie Walters vs. Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad Co.
  • William James vs. Winifred Coal Co.
  • U.S. vs. Ora W. Grow et al.
  • 28/1119 -- 1147/Instructions to Juries
  • U.S. vs. Nathan Zeldin
  • State vs. Seligman
  • State vs. G.S. Refining Co.
  • State vs. S.C. Keenan
  • State vs. Warner
  • State vs. Whitcomb
  • State vs. Goble
  • State vs. Dankwarkt
  • State vs. Hanlin
  • State vs. Swich
  • State vs. Pingel
  • State vs. Ginnegan
  • State vs. Hoffman
  • State vs. Hanley
  • State vs. Mulhern
  • State vs. Harvey
  • State vs. Poe
  • State vs. Akin
  • State vs. Browning
  • U.S.A. vs. M.C. Walker et al.
  • Stephens vs. John G. Brill
  • U.S.A. vs. Edward Murphy
  • District Court of the U.S. in and for the Southern District of Iowa, Western Division: U.S.A. vs. Royce L. Terry
  • District Court of the U.S. in and for the Southern District of Iowa, Western Division: U.S.A. vs. Ed Leffler, Steve Hanson
  • District Court of the U.S. in and for the Southern District of Iowa, Western Division: Francis Gangl, doing business under the name of Gangl Engineering Co., vs. Giant Manufacturing Co.
  • District Court of the U.S. in and for the Southern District of Iowa, Western Division: Earl Mackie vs. Chicago Great Western Railroad Co.
  • District Court of the U.S. in and for the Southern District of Iowa, Western Division: U.S.A. vs. Donald Roarity, William Pilling
  • District Court of the U.S. in and for the Southern District of Iowa, Western Division: U.S.A. vs. Joseph Smith
  • 29/1148 -- 1158/Instructions to Juries, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Western Division
  • U.S.A. vs Edward J. Stoll
  • Gerald Skalla minor, by Jospeh Skalla, his father and next friend, vs. John Johansen
  • Goldie Gustason vs. Chicago R.I. and Pacific Railroad
  • U.S.A. vs. Certain land in Mills County, Iowa and John Ruge, et al.
  • John Baughman vs. Walco Eng. and Construction Co.
  • Clarence W. Todd vs. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co.
  • Storz Supply Co., Inc., The Automotive Equipment Co., Inc., B.F. Goodrich Rubber Co., Shedd Brown Mfg. Co. vs. Henry Sahn
  • Daniel Tague vs. Soren Johansen
  • C.J. Connor vs. Gene Oalgliesh and B.W. Oalgliesh
  • U.S.A. vs. E.M. Peet Mfg. Co., and a corporation and Ernest M. Peet
  • Box 6:
  • 30/1159 -- 1173/Instructions to Juries, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Iowa, Western Division
  • J.T. Manion, Guardian of Wincent Michael Manion, Incompetent, vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S.A. vs. David Milling Co.
  • James Francis Roberts vs. U.S.A.
  • Yates-American Machine Co. vs. Giant Mfg. Co.
  • U.S.A. vs. Howard Chandler
  • John McKnight vs. Bruce Motor Freight Inc., a corporation, and Ethel McKnight vs. Bruce Transfer Company and Bruce Motor Freight, Inc., a corporation
  • Mildred Adkins Administratrix of the Estate of Charles Adkins vs. Chicago, Burlington, Quincy Railway Co.
  • U.S.A. vs. 273.09 acres of land more or less in Page County, Iowa, and Essie Pearl Davison, Elmer C. King, and others
  • Delbert Sevier vs. Swift and Company
  • W.F. Lindsey, Administrator of the Estate of Robert Lindsey, vs. Orville Burton and Farmers Elevator Company of Dalton, Missouri, a corporation
  • P.J. Mart vs. Percy A. Lainson, as warden of the Iowa State Penitentiary, Respondent
  • In the matter of designation of a referee in bankruptcy outside of said district for temporary service in said district
  • U.S.A. vs. Abraham Greenswag
  • P.C. Baridon vs. E.J. DuPont De Nemours and Co.
  • U.S.A. vs. Walter Bedell, L.E. Chapman, H.E. Chapman, William Stevenson, Gene Russell
  • 31/1174 -- 1196/Instructions to Juries, , U.S. District Court, Southern District of Iowa, Central Division
  • U.S.A. vs. Grover M. Kirsch
  • Mary C. Goetz vs. Dr. John R. Rankin
  • Maskowitz Flour Corporation vs. Earl Fulenwider and others
  • Nellie Walters vs. Atchison Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad
  • U.S.A. vs. Anna Louise Kavanagh
  • George Duncan vs. Percy A. Lainson, Warden, State Penitentiary, Ft. Madison, Iowa
  • Leo Kennedy vs. Percy A. Lainson
  • Howard Morse vs. Percy A. Lainson
  • Domenick Touche vs. Percy A. Lainson
  • Herman Kennedy vs. Percy A. Lainson
  • Henry Hawk vs. T.P. Hollowell, Warden, Iowa State Penitentiary at Ft. Madison, Iowa
  • Henry Hawk vs. Glenn C. Haynes, Warden, Iowa State Penitentiary at Ft. Madison, Iowa
  • Ed. J. Farrant vs. Percy A. Lainson
  • Louis Hendren vs. Percy A. Lainson
  • Harry Reeves vs. Percy A. Lainson
  • U.S.A. vs. Rex Eugene Blott
  • U.S.A. vs. Certain lands in the City of Burlington, Iowa, and W. D. Hanna and Company and others
  • U.S.A. vs. Certain Public Roads and Highway situate in Des Moines County, Iowa, County of Des Moines, Iowa, and State of Iowa
  • U.S.A. vs. 235 acres of land more or less situate in Des Moines County, State of Iowa, and Bertha B. Foster et al. and U.S.A. vs 132.53 acres more or less situate in Des Moines County, State of Iowa, and Henry C. Buescher et al.
  • Charles E. Vandevut vs. Day and Zimmerman, Inc.
  • Fred Distelharst vs. Day and Zimmerman, Inc.
  • Samuel O. Emery, Ernest E. Miller vs. Day and Zimmerman, Inc.
  • U.S.A. vs. 235 acres of land, more or less situate in Des Moines County, Hereinafter described, and Bertha B. Foster and W.E. Foster
  • 32/1197 -- 1213/United States District Court, Southern District of Iowa, Davenport Division
  • U.S.A. vs. Lester Tilton, trading as Tilton Laboratories
  • U.S.A. vs. Floyd E. Harvey, Everett G. Horner, Charles A. Burr, Stanley W. Hedberg, Melvin B. Reed, Halstead M. Carpenter
  • U.S.A. vs. James Stuart
  • U.S.A. vs. Carleton D. Beh
  • Elizabeth Kyle Guiles vs. C., R.I., and Pacific Railroad Co., a corporation, and Elizabeth Kyle Guiles, administratrix of the Estate of Spencer Allen Guiles, deceased, vs. Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway Co., a corporation
  • U.S.A. vs. Certain lands within the county of Clinton, State of Iowa, and other defendants, and U.S.A. vs. Certain lands in the county of Scott, State of Iowa and other defendants
  • Leona D. Geurink vs. Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company
  • U.S.A. vs. Ten cases, more or less, Bred Spred, Strawberry flavor, ten cases, more or less, of Bred Spred, Raspberry flavor, and nine cases, more or less, of Bred Spred, assorted flavors, consisting of Strawberry, Raspberry, Peach, Pineapple, and Blackberry flavors
  • U.S.A. vs. Certain lands in the county of Scott, State of Iowa, and Marion M. Richardson, et al.
  • U.S.A. vs. J. Dewey Hawkins
  • U.S.A. vs. Warren Rogers, Floyd Rogers
  • Stanley Coffman, Jr., by his next friend, Ruth Coffman vs. L. R. Carr
  • Turner-Simplicity Manufacturing Co. et al. vs. William H. Bremner, Receiver for the Minneapolis and St. Louis Railroad Co.
  • The Turner Simplicity Mfg. Co., the Franklin Fire Insurance Co., Firemen's Insurance Co. of Newark, N.J., Iowa National Fire Insurance Co. of Des Moines, Farmer's Fire Insurance Co., the American Insurance Co., The Travelers Insurance Co., Detroit Fire and Marine Insurance Co., the Agricultural Insurance Co. vs. William H. Bremner, Receiver of the Minneapolis and St. Louis Railroad Company
  • Chester B. Day vs. Dr. J.F. Shallenberger
  • Melvin Lechty et al. vs. Harley Carter
  • V.H. Scheuring vs. Thomas Fahey
  • Elmer Eggers vs. Thomas Fahey
  • 33/1214 -- 1237/Instructions
  • Supreme Court of Iowa, Appeals: William Green vs. Martin Cochran
  • Supreme Court of Iowa, Appeals: State of Iowa vs. G.W. Biewen
  • Supreme Court of Iowa, Appeals: Stephen Umtheun vs. Day and Zimmerman, Inc.
  • Supreme Court of Iowa, Appeals: Statement of Cases in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit
  • Supreme Court of Iowa, Appeals: National Labor Relations Board vs. S.W. Dixon, doing business as U.S. Trailor Mfg. Co.
  • Supreme Court of Iowa, Appeals: Silk vs. U.S. and Meek vs. U.S.
  • Supreme Court of Iowa, Appeals: Republic Pictures Corporation vs. Francis Kappler
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: National Labor Relations Board vs. S.W. Dixon, U.S. Trailor Mfg. Co.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Aquilla Redditt Ek et al. vs. James C. Hall
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: R.C. Booth vs. John William Haggard et al.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Charles Lee McIntosh vs. Dr. Ivan W. Steele, Warden, U.S. Medical Center, Springfield, Missouri
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Eric Nelson vs. Commissioner of Internal Revenue
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Ernest R. Woodward vs. U.S.A. and Leroy Haizlip
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Willie Mae Spencer vs. Gulf, Mobile and Ohio Railroad Co., a corporation
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Aaron Rogers Robinson vs. Railroad Retirement Board
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Reconstruction Finance Corp. vs. MacArthur Mining Com. Inc., a corporation
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Richard Clarence Willis and Weldon Burl Meadows vs. L.F. Utecht, Warden, Minnesota State Prison
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Standard Brands Inc., vs. J.F. Bateman et al.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Company vs. Stephen Slowick
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Palmer Danaher vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Melvin Herman Phillips vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: U.S.A. vs. Missco Homestead Association, Inc.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Richard Willis et al. vs. L.F. Utecht, Warden, Minnesota State Prison
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: The Fargo National Bank, a corporation, vs. Agricultural Insurance Company, a corporation
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: U.S.A. vs. Serge Robenstein and Frank Bliss
  • Box 7:
  • 34/1233 -- 1252/Instructions to Juries
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: U.S.A. vs. James J. Maran
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: U.S.A. vs. Louis Weber
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: Bascom Laundry Corp., et al, vs. Telecoin Corporation et al.
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: Memorandum to the court from Maurice Sanders, U.S. Probation Officer
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: U.S.A. vs. James J. Maran
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: U.S.A. vs. Abraham Brothman
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: U.S.A. vs. William Walter Remington
  • U.S. District Court Southern District of New York: U.S.A. vs. Alger Hiss, second trial
  • U.S. District Court in and for Southern Division of Florida: U.S.A. vs. Alfred E. O'Neil
  • U.S. District Court in and for Southern Division of Florida: U.S.A. vs. Martin Accardo
  • U.S. District Court in and for Southern Division of Florida: U.S.A. George Hunt Robinson
  • U.S. District Court in and for Southern Division of Florida: Jean O. Murphy vs. Prudential Insurance Company
  • U.S. District Court in and for Southern Division of Florida: U.S.A. vs. Theodore Rogers
  • U.S. District Court in and for Southern Division of Florida: U.S.A. vs. Pete Rand et al.
  • U.S. District Court in and for Southern Division of Florida: E.I. DuPont de Nemours and Co. vs. Clarborne-Reno Co.
  • 35/1253 -- 1260/Instructions to Juries, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Iowa, Central Division
  • Barnsdall Refining Corporation vs. Cushman-Wilson Oil Co.
  • U.S.A. vs. Elliott M. Fine
  • U.S.A. vs. Francis E. Byers
  • U.S.A. vs. Perry A. Keister et al.
  • U.S.A. vs. Harold R. Cash et al.
  • U.S.A. vs. Pete Rand, Tony Dishphaw, John Face, Sum Valenti
  • U.S.A. vs. John D. Peoples
  • U.S.A. vs. D. Earl Combs
  • 36/1261 -- 1270/Instructions to Juries, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Iowa, Central Division
  • U.S.A. vs. Fred C. Caue
  • U.S.A. vs. Olaf Grandquist
  • U.S.A. vs. Lloyd P. Lang
  • U.S.A. vs. Francis E. Byers
  • U.S.A. vs. Grover Kirsch
  • U.S.A. vs. William Matzke and Roy Muck
  • Harold Sheil by Willard T. Sheil vs. Interstate Transit Lines
  • L.P. Wright vs. U.S. Rubber Company, a corporation
  • Ruan Transport Corporation vs. Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad Company, a corporation
  • Daisy L. Martin vs. Southern Surety Company of New York
  • 37/1271 -- 1288/ Instructions to Juries, In the District Court of the United States for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division
  • Alex Pomerantz vs. Millers National Insurance Company
  • R.B. Eaton, Jay Eggleston, and Harold E. Phipps, Iowa Aero Supply Company vs. Glen Falls Insurance Company, Springfield Fire and Marine Insurance Co., U.S. Fire Insurance Co. of New York
  • Maskowitz Flour Corporation vs. Earl Fulenwider, Bruce Fulenwider, Clay Center Milling Company
  • Albert Latham, Jr. vs. City of Des Moines, Iowa
  • U.S.A. vs. Ralph William Owen
  • U.S.A. vs. 2445 acres, situate in Polk Country, State of Iowa, and S.M. Morriss et al.
  • U.S.A. vs. Certain lands and personal property located in the city of Des Moines, Iowa, and Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa
  • L.P. Wright vs. U.S. Rubber Company, a corporation
  • S.F. Craff vs. Welden Brothers, C.F. Lytle Company, Green Construction Company
  • Frank B. Dedrick, vs. Welden Brothers, C.F. Lytle Company, Green Construction Company
  • Gustaf E. Peterson, for and in behalf of himself, and for and in behalf of Gilbert E. Wollum, and other employees similarly situated vs. C.F. Lytle Company and Green Construction Company, a corporation
  • U.S.A. vs. 140 cases, more or less, each containing 24 pints of "Prescription Brand Straight Bourbon Whiskey," and 108 cases, more or less, each containing 12 quarts of "Prescription Brand Straight Bourbon Whiskey," Iowa Liquor Control Commission, Des Moines, Iowa, and Fort Clark Distilleries, Inc., Peoria, Illinois
  • Everett E. Husted vs. Joseph B. Fleming and Aaron Colnon, Trustees, Estate of Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway Co., a corporation
  • Bankers Trust Co. vs. U.S. Fidelity and Guaranty Co.
  • Homer Tally vs. New York Life Insurance Co.
  • Francis Kappler vs. Republic Pictures Corporation
  • Roy Bartels, Ed Bartels. Carl Bartels, and Justin Coulan, doing business as Cuptal Ballroom vs. E.H. Birmingham, Individually and as collector of Internal Revenue for the State of Iowa
  • Larry V. Geer and Margaret Geer doing business as Larry Geer Ballrooms vs. F.H. Birmingham Individually and as collector for the Internal Revenue of the State of Iowa
  • H.S. Zarnow vs. U.S. Rubber Company, a corporation
  • U.S.A. vs. Certain lands and personal property located in the city of Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa, and the National Investment Company of Des Moines, Iowa, et al.
  • U.S.A. vs. 1997.66 acres, more or less, situated in Polk County, State of Iowa, and Frank Darr et al.
  • 38/1289 -- 1300/ Instructions to Juries
  • District Court of the United States, for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division: U.S.A. vs. Certain Lands located in the city of Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa, and the Savery House Hotel Company
  • District Court of the United States, for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division: Ray Walter Hodson vs. U.S.A.
  • District Court of the United States, for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division: William G. Parke vs. U.S.A.
  • District Court of the United States, for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division: Robert Roy Ageton vs. U.S.A.
  • District Court of the United States, for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division: Herbert T. Newcomer vs. U.S.A.
  • District Court of the United States, for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division: Ethel Storm vs. U.S.A. and Lila May Harker
  • District Court of the United States, for the Southern District of Iowa, Central Division: Mabel Cockrell vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit: The Republic of China, Shanghai-Nanking Railway Administration, Moh Han vs. National City Bank of New York
  • U.S. District Court District of Minnesota, Fourth Division: Melvin S. Martin vs. Federal Cartridge Corporation
  • U.S. District Court, Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division: Raymond A. Smith vs. Federal Cartridge Corporation
  • U.S. District Court, Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division: Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation vs. Graver Tank and Mfg. Co., Inc., The Lincoln Electric Company, James Finney Lincoln, President, of Lincoln Electric Company
  • U.S. District Court for the District of North Dakota: U.S. vs. W.J. Ray
  • District Court of the U.S. in and for the Northern District of Iowa, Central Division: Harry J. Reid vs. Solar Corporation
  • 39/1301 -- 1312/Instructions to Juries, U.S. Court of Appeals. Eighth Circuit
  • Standard Brands, Inc., a corporation, vs. J.F. Bateman, J.W. Galbrath, E.J. Davis et al.
  • Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Company vs. Stephen Slowik
  • Harry (Peck) Murrey vs. U.S.A.
  • Vincent Raymond Dunne et al. vs. U.S.A.
  • Aaron Rogus Robinson vs. Railroad Retirement Board
  • Richard Clarence Willis and Weldon Burl Meadows vs. L.F. Utecht, Warden, Minnesota State Prison
  • Melvin Herman Phillips vs. U.S.A.
  • Fargo National Bank vs. Agricultural Insurance Company
  • Carl Wilhelm Baumgartner vs. U.S.A.
  • Everett Zumwalt vs. Harry A. Gardner
  • Chicago, Saint Paul, Minneapolis, and Omaha Railway Company, a corporation, vs. Leroy F. Arnold
  • Alice Wolfe vs. Berryman Henwood, Trustee , St. Louis-Southwestern Railway Company
  • May Department Stores, a corporation, vs. Jimmie Ball, an infant, by Elmer J. Bell, his next Friend
  • Box 8:
  • 40/1313 -- 1348/Instructions to Juries
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Norman B. Pitcairn and Frank C. Nicodemus, Receivers of The Wabash Railway Company, a corporation, vs. Oliver S. Perry
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Josephy B. Fleming and Aaron Colman as Trustees of the Estate of the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway Company, a corporation, vs. Everett E. Husted
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Chicago, and Northwestern Railway Company, a corporation, vs. Harry A. Green
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Grace Ferrand vs. N.Y. Life Insurance Company, a corporation
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: The Mutual Life Insurance Company of N.Y. vs. Josephine L. Still
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Fidelity and Deposit Company of Maryland vs. D.W. Bates, Superintendent of Banking of Iowa
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: N.Y. Life Insurance Company, a corporation, vs. Lewis K. Stover
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: N.Y. Life Insurance Company vs. Gertrude V. Miller
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Dan C. Hesselberg vs. Aetna Life Insurance Company
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Lester Ettman vs. Federal Life Insurance Company
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: First Trust Company of St. Paul, a corporation, vs. Kansas City Life Insurance Company, a corporation
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Bertha Rohrback vs. Mutual Life Insurance Company of N.Y.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Floyd Hudson and Curtis M. Fitch vs. Pius Moonier
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis, a corporation, vs. William A. Staengel
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Fred A. Davidson et al. vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Cook Paint and Varnish Company vs. Elizabeth Hiskling
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: William Miller vs. Union Pacific Railroad Company, a corporation
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Uranus Boyd vs. Joseph O'Grady, Warden, Nebraska State Penitentiary
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: William J. Banks vs. Joseph O'Grady, Warden, Nebraska State Penitentiary
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Max Wolstein vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Kroger Grocery and Baking Company vs. Minnie J. Yount
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Philadelphia Storage Battery Company vs. Kelley-How-Thomson Company, a corporation
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Anne Harton and A.D. Horton vs. Beulah Reynolds and J.F. Reynolds
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Mrs. Julia Caroline Sponenbarger et al. vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: J.A. Swallum vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Clarence W. Haggerty vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Isadore Walter Walk vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Lewis K. McAdams vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Charles M. Thomson, as Trustee of the property of the Chicago and North Western Railway Company vs. Ruth Stevens, Administratrix of the Estate of Herbert Stevens, Decreased
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Oscar E. Dahly vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Ernest W. Beaton vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Clarence Middleton vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: William Cook vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit: Joseph Feigenbutz, Henry Feigenbutz, Addis McCarthy, and Arthur Ramsey vs. U.S.A.
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit: U.S.A. vs. 15 cases of Bred Spred Raspberry Flavor, 45 cases Bred Spred Strawberry Flavor, 100 cases Bred Spred Assorted Flavors consisting of Raspberry, Strawberry, Peach, Pineapple, more or less, and Glaser-Crandell Company, a corporation
  • U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit: Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation vs. Graver Tank and Mfg. Co., Inc., and the Lincoln Electric Co.
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit: The Republic of China, Shanghai-Nanking Railway Administration, Moh Han as Director of the Shanghai-Nanking Railway Administration, San Chen, as Deputy Director of the Shanghai-Nanking Railway Administration vs. The National City Bank of N.Y.
  • 41/1349 -- 1352. Instructions to Juries, Supreme Court of Iowa
  • J.H. Brooks vs. Van Buren County
  • U.S.A. vs. Ed Smith, et al.
  • Railroad Crossing cases
  • Charles Jones and Robert Prentiss vs. William Skelton
  • 42/1353. North Western Reporter. (Second Series) October 21, Iowa edition, No. 8. Cases argued and determined in the courts of Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin - 1942
  • 42/1354. Masonic Service Association, Washington, D.C., October 20. "Tho: Carmick Manuscript, 1927, Being one of the old charges" - 1927, 1953
  • 42/1355. Biographical newspaper clippings
  • 42/1356. Memorial Proceedings for Judge Leon McCord. - 1952
  • 42/1357. 100th anniversary of Hardin Lodge No. 29, A.F. and A.M. Keokuk, Iowa - 1852-1952
  • 42/1358 -- 1360
  • In Memoriam Claude Wallace Smith Sr. - 1884-1952
  • In Memoriam Roy Everett Roudebush - 1880-1952
  • In Memoriam John H. Soller - 1883-1952
  • 42/1361. U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. Motion of Dismissal of Petition. Republic of China, Shanghai-Nanking Railway Administration vs. Charles A. Dewey, Edward A. Conger.
  • 42/1362. Motion for the Dismissal of the Appeals. The Republic of China, Shanghai-Nanking Railway Administration... vs. National City Bank of New York - 1951
  • 42/1363 -- 1364. U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York. Report of Commission. Sword Line, Inc. vs. Nicolas Gonzalez, Enoch Flowers, Ralph Panzrino, Agnar P. Markusen, Howard LeRoy Dovey, Jr., Joaquin De Sousa, Pacific-Atlantic Steamship Corporation
  • 42/1365. Biography. Isaac C. Parker. "One of the Greatest American Trial Judges." 19 pages
  • 42/1366 -- 1369. Committee Reports. Judicial Conference for the Eighth Circuit. St. Louis, Missouri - 1951-1952
  • 42/1370. Local Rules of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa. 13 pages.
  • 42/1371. U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit. Petition for Rehearing. Standard Brands, Inc. vs. J.F. Bateman, J.W. Galbrath, E.J. Davis, James H. Moore, C.H. Benson, and Midwest Refrigeration, Inc.
  • 42/1372. Rules in Bankruptcy of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa. As amended and revised to May 1 - 1937
  • 42/1373. Livingston, Schuyler W. 50 Years at Law. - 1951
  • 42/1374. Standardized Government Travel Regulations. As amended October 1. 32 pages. - 1950
  • 43/1375. Dedication of the Illuminated Fountain in Central Park, Washington, Iowa. Eight pages. Two copies
  • 43/1376. Dedication of the Lewis Memorial Fountain, Sigourney, Iowa, September 2, 8:00 p.m. Six pages. - 1940
  • 43/1377. Memorial Speech in honor of James A. Devitt. Sunday, July 2. Oskaloosa, Iowa. Ten pages. - 1939
  • 43/1378. Dewey, Charles A. The Work of Our Federal Courts. 44 pages. Two copies.
  • 43/1379. Story of the Battle for Leyte Gulf. Paper read before the Prairie Club, Des Moines, Iowa. 35 pages.
  • 43/1380. The Martial Spirit; or, A Splendid Little War. Paper read before the Prairie Club, Des Moines, Iowa. May 15. 39 pages. - 1942
  • 43/1381. Freedom of Speech Under the Constitution. Paper read before the Prairie Club, September 26. Two copies. 21 pages. - 1942
  • 43/1382. Resolution on the Death of Amos Norris Alberson. One page.
  • Box 9:
  • 44/1383. Dewey, Charles A. Ledger. Manuscript notes
  • 45/1384. U.S. District Court, Northern District of Iowa, Eastern Division. Session commemorating the centennial of the holding of the first session of federal court at Dubuque, Iowa, January 7. 78 pages. - 1850
  • Series 4: UNION CARBIDE AND CARBON CORPORATION LAWSUIT
  • Box 9:
  • 46/1385. U.S. District Court, Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division. Record of Proceedings. Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation vs. Graver Tank and Manufacturing Company, Inc., Lincoln Electric Company. November 19. 117 pages. Volume 11-A. - 1951
  • 47/1386. November 9. 106 pages, Volume 5-B. - 1951
  • 48/1387. November 8. 110 pages, Volume 4-B. - 1951
  • 49/1388. November 9. 132 pages, Volume 5-A. - 1951
  • 50/1389. November 16. 99 pages, Volume 10-A. - 1951
  • 51/1390. November 8. 99 pages, Volume 4-A. - 1951
  • Box 10:
  • 52/1391. November 12. 103 pages, Volume 6-A. - 1951
  • 53/1392. November 12. 88 pages, Volume 6-B. - 1951
  • 54/1393. November 16. 117 pages, Volume 10-B. - 1951
  • 55/1394. November 23. 12 pages, Defendants' Supplemental Brief . - 1951
  • 56/1395. November 13. 140 pages, Volume 7-A. - 1951
  • 57/1396. November 10. 8 pages. - 1951
  • 58/1397. November 19. 13 pages, Defendants' Brief on Law. - 1951
  • 59/1398. n.d. 2 pages, Amended Motion to Adjudge Defendants in Contempt of Court.
  • 60/1399. November 20. 103 pages, Volume 12-B - 1951
  • 61/1400. November 20. 106 pages, Volume 12-A. - 1951
  • 62/1401. November 19. 94 pages, Volume 11-B. - 1951
  • 63/1402. November 6. 113 pages, Volumes 2-B. - 1951
  • 64/1403. November 7. 104 pages, Volume 3-B. - 1951
  • Box 11:
  • 65/1404. November 5. 89 pages, Volume 1-B. - 1951
  • 66/1405. November 6. 42 pages, Volume 2-A. - 1951
  • 67/1406. November 5. 94 pages, Volume 1-A. - 1951
  • 68/1407. November 15. 103 pages, Volume 9-B. - 1951
  • 69/1408. November 15. 127 pages, Volume 9-A. - 1951
  • 69/1409. November 14. 72 pages, Volume 8-A. - 1951
  • 70/1410. November 14. 114 pages, Volume 8-B. - 1951
  • 71/1411. November 7. 99 pages, Volume 3-A. - 1951
  • 72/1412. November 13. 105 pages, Volume 7-B. - 1951
  • 73/1413. Rule Book Concerning the Making and Executing of Wills. Some manuscript notes. 150 pages.
  • Box 12:
  • 74/1414. U.S. District Court, Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division. Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation (plaintiff) vs. Graver Tank and Manufacturing Co., Inc., The Lincoln Electric Company, and Graver Tank and Manufacturing Corp. (defendants). Trial Brief Submitted on Behalf of Plaintiff. 102 pages.
  • 75/1415. Plaintiff's cases on the Effect on the Issues in this Contempt Proceeding of the Prior Judgment That Lincolnweld 660 Flux Infringes the Jones Patent. 11 pages, Two copies
  • 76/1416.Trial Brief Submitted on Behalf of Plaintiff. 102 pages.
  • 77/1417. Plaintiff's Memorandum on the case up to End of Second Week of Trial. 87 pages.
  • 77/1418. Loose-leaf notebook. Judge Dewey's Book on Instructions, Indictments...criminal. 457 pages. (Not in folder or box)
  • Series 5: NOTES AND INDEX
  • Box 13:
  • 79/1419. Several hundred pages of miscellaneous manuscript notes
  • Index of Important Names (ALS, TLS) Name -- Folder
  • U.S. Presidents: Coolidge, Calvin -- (xf case, miscellaneous documents)
  • U.S. Presidents: Truman, Harry S. -- 1
  • U.S. Attorneys: Gay, J. Edwin (Florida) -- 2
  • U.S. Attorneys: Lane, Myles T. (New York) -- 4
  • U.S. Attorneys: Saypol, Irving H. (New York) -- 4
  • U.S. Attorneys: Roth, Eugene F. (New York) -- 4
  • U.S. Supreme Court Justices: Vinson, Fred M., Chief Justice (3 TLS) -- 4
  • U.S. Circuit Court Judges: Collet, John Caskie (Missouri) -- 1
  • U.S. Circuit Court Judges: Gardner, Archibald K. (South Dakota) -- 2, 7, 8, 9
  • U.S. Circuit Court Judges: Major, J. Earl (Illinois) -- 3
  • U.S. Circuit Court Judges: Stone, Kimbrough (Missouri) -- 4
  • U.S. Circuit Court Judges: Thomas, Seth (Iowa) -- 4, 7, 8
  • U.S. Circuit Court Judges: Sanborn, John B. (Missouri, Minnesota) -- 7, 8, 9
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Goddard, Henry W. (New York) -- 2
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Graven, Henry N. (Iowa) -- 2
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Holland, John W. (Florida) -- 2
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Leibell, Vincent L. (New York) -- 3
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Thomas, Daniel H. (Alabama) -- 4
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Swygert, Luther M. (Indiana) -- 4
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Miller, John E. (Arkansas) -- 5
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Riley, William F. (Iowa) -- 5
  • U.S. District Court Judges: Switzer, Carroll O. -- 8
  • U.S. Representatives: O'Sullivan, Eugene D. (Nebraska) -- 5
  • U.S. Senators: Gillette, Guy Mark -- 7
  • U.S. Senators: Hickenlooper, Bourke Blakemore -- 7
  • Notable Persons: Darling, Jay N. (Iowa) -- 5, 7
  • Prominent Government Officials and Cabinet Members: Clark, Tom C., U.S. Attorney General -- 7
  • Series 6: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
  • Certificate appointing Dewey as a United States District Judge, January 31. Signed by Calvin Coolidge. Oversized folder 1. In Map Case 13; drawer 17.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation
United States. District Court (Iowa) : Southern District

Topics:
Law

Occupations:
Judges
Lawyers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Instructions (Document genre)
Speeches