Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Morrell Meat Packing Company Collection Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1850-1953
Creator:
Extent: 21.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0100
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Business and personal correspondence, account books, statements, and other records, relating to the meat packing company particularly in Liverpool, England, and Ottumwa, Iowa; and papers, including some of Thomas Dove Foster.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 30, 31

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by the company from 1959-1961.

Preferred Citation: Morrell Meat Packing Company Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: GENERAL
Series 3: 2002 ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: America-England correspondence 1868-1879
  • Box 1:
  • T.D. Foster to Liverpool - 1874-1879
  • Alfred Illingworth to Thomas Dove Foster - 1878-1885
  • John Morrell to Thomas Dove Foster - 1879-1885
  • George Morrell to Thomas Dove Foster - 1879-1883
  • W.A. Venables, indenture - 1879
  • Sub-Series: America-England correspondence 1880-1884
  • Box 2:
  • Thomas Dove Foster to George Morrell - 1880-1883
  • Thomas Dove Foster to Alfred Illingworth - 1881-1907
  • Thomas Dove Foster to John Morrell - 1881, 1885
  • Memoranda of agreement - 1882-1883
  • Thomas Dove Foster and Alfred Morrell - 1883-1912
  • Sub-Series: America-England correspondence 1885-1902
  • Box 3:
  • Fire - 1893
  • Semiannual and annual reports - 1896-1902
  • C.E.L. Gregson - 1897-1899
  • Jackson case - 1897-1899
  • Finances - 1897-1909
  • New York branches - 1898-1899
  • Advertising - 1899
  • Thomas Dove Foster and John Morrell - 1902-1905
  • Sub-Series: America-England correspondence 1903-1909
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence - 1903-1909
  • Sub-Series: America-England correspondence 1910-1916
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence - 1910-1916
  • Sub-Series: America-England correspondence 1917-1919
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1917-1919
  • Sub-Series: America-England correspondence 1920-1928
  • Box 7:
  • Financing - 1922-1941
  • Sub-Series: American papers and correspondence 1878-1900
  • Box 8:
  • Canton, Illinois, business - 1878-1929
  • Sub-Series: American papers and correspondence 1901-1910
  • Box 9:
  • American Fine Art Company - 1903-1925
  • Wells - 1904-1917
  • Lists of shareholders - 1905-1911
  • Sub-Series: American papers and correspondence 1911-1913
  • Box 10:
  • Collins Bros. General Contractors - 1910-1911
  • Brooks case - 1912
  • Sulzberger & Sons Company - 1913
  • Income tax returns - 1913-1915
  • Sub-Series: American papers and correspondence 1914-1915
  • Box 11:
  • Financing, Chicago-Ottumwa - 1914-1919
  • John Morrell & Company, Delaware - 1915
  • John Morrell & Company, Maine - 1915
  • Robert Morris Trust Company - 1915-1921
  • Banking connections - 1915-1922
  • Sub-Series: American papers and correspondence 1916 -1917
  • Box 12:
  • New York Produce Exchange - 1916
  • Tax papers - 1917
  • Sub-Series: American papers and correspondence 1918-1924
  • Box 13:
  • Construction - 1918-1924
  • Davies & Company - 1919
  • Allied Packers - 1919
  • Ottumwa Serum Company - 1924
  • Sub-Series: American papers and correspondence 1925-1949
  • Box 14:
  • Mayer, Meyer, Austrian, and Platt - 1926-1928
  • Sales territories - 1933-1934
  • Robinson-Patman Law - 1936
  • Working conditions - 1939
  • Government seizure and fact-finding files, January-May - 1946
  • Sub-Series: Sioux-Falls-Ottumwa correspondence
  • Box 15:
  • Sioux-Falls-Ottumwa correspondence - 1909-1932
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Business
  • Box 16:
  • Board of Directors meetings, minutes - 1882-1927
  • Box 17:
  • Closing papers - 1903-1914
  • Box 18:
  • Statements of assets and liabilities - 1879-1930
  • Box 19:
  • Settlements (employees accidents) - 1906-1912
  • Box 20:
  • Co-partnership papers: Agreements - 1904, 1909, 1914
  • Box 21:
  • Hog receipts: Four books - 1878-1945
  • Hog receipts: Several papers - 1878-1945
  • Box 22:
  • Kittery Realty Company: Deeds, agreements, leases, and minutes of meetings - 1878-1932
  • Morrell Refrigerator Car Company - 1893-1911
  • Box 23:
  • Yorkshire Land and Cattle Company, Yorkshire Creamery Company: Deeds, correspondence, by-laws, etc. - 1902-1914
  • Codes - 1871-1911
  • Codes, with cables - 1883-1885
  • Diagrams and recipes: Meat-hanger - 1908
  • Diagrams and recipes: Report of examination of ham, undated
  • Diagrams and recipes: Singeing equipment, July 22 - 1905
  • Diagrams and recipes: Formula for Devonshire Cream, May 27 - 1903
  • Diagrams and recipes: Two sketches for an office building
  • Diagrams and recipes: Mode of refining, undated
  • Memoranda and Articles of Association - 1880-1887
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous notebooks and items
  • Box 24:
  • Employees' time books, five - 1892-1912
  • Tests books, two - 1893-1944, 1915-1923
  • Unidentifiable business notebooks, six - 1861-1914
  • Box 25:
  • Recipe book - 1908-1913
  • Orders issued from director's desk - 1907-1912
  • Account book - 1906-1915
  • Breakfast Bacon Special, October 3-15 - 1910
  • Box 26:
  • Hog kill, Ottumwa, five books - 1920-1940
  • Private ledger journal from Sioux Falls, November 30; March 31 - 1909, 1916
  • Liverpool papers, December 13-April 1 - 1893-1898
  • Liverpool papers, April 1-April 1 - 1898-1904
  • Box 27:
  • Miscellaneous pamphlets, business cards, calendars, announcements, recipe booklets, handbooks, stationery, Christmas greetings, Mutual Aid Association, resolutions, notices, tags, buttons, price lists, etc.
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 28:
  • Sioux Falls buildings - 1949
  • Topeka - 1931
  • Assessment, Ottumwa - 1910
  • Advertisements
  • Livestock, meat packing, etc.
  • Ottumwa strikes - 1921, 1935, 1948
  • Topeka strike - 1948
  • Sub-Series: Businesses other than Morrell Meat Packing Company and Affiliates
  • Box 29:
  • George A. Hormel & Company, correspondence - 1902-1928
  • Dakota Plow and Wagon Company, stock papers - 1911-1913
  • Lever Brothers Limited, correspondence - 1907
  • Hygrade food Products Corporation, minutes of Board of Directors - 1931
  • Bradford American Corporation, correspondence - 1929-1930
  • Bannatyne and Company, Limited, statements - 1923-1931
  • Victoria Cold Storage Company, Limited, statements, minutes, memoranda - 1908-1931
  • Map of electric railway, Ottumwa-Oskaloosa - 1909
  • Box 29a:
  • Miscellaneous publications of businesses other than Morrell Meat Packing Company and Affiliates
  • Sub-Series: Photographs and drawings
  • Box 30:
  • Buildings, Ottumwa - 1939
  • Buildings, Brooklyn - 1933
  • Buildings, Ireland - 1850
  • Buildings, Liverpool - 1859
  • Buildings, Bradford - 1928
  • Packing plants - 1926
  • Plant views, interior, Ottumwa, undated
  • Trucks and cars - 1915-1935
  • Signs - 1917
  • Picnics - 1920-1929
  • Women employees, undated
  • First building - 1878
  • Ottumwa office force, R.N. Morrell included - 1889
  • MRX car and paint crew - 1898
  • Export department - 1898
  • Main buildings before fire of 1893
  • Fire - 1893
  • Fairs and parades - 1904-1923
  • Ottumwa plant - 1895
  • Henry Seiter
  • F.J. Bullock
  • Miscellaneous unidentified
  • Box 31:
  • Buildings, Bardney - 1904
  • Buildings, Boston - 1895, 1897
  • Buildings, Topeka - 1893
  • Centennial celebration - 1927
  • Salesmen - 1898, 1919
  • Fire - 1893
  • Flood - 1903
  • Sioux Falls Plant - 1925
  • Employees - 1894, 1874
  • Directors, Morrell, Foster, outside of either family
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence, bills, newspapers about the portraits of:
  • Box 32:
  • Thomas Dove Foster
  • John H. Morrell
  • Major P.T. Spilman
  • Alfred Morrell
  • John Morrell
  • Morgan T. McClelland
  • Sub-Series: John Morrell & Company history
  • Box 33:
  • Correspondence, short history
  • Reminiscences - 1907-1948
  • Boston - 1943
  • Morrell and Isitt - 1926
  • London, Canada directory - 1872-1873
  • Sub-Series: Biographical data concerning:
  • Box 33:
  • John Morrell, will dispute - 1881-1946
  • George F. Morrell
  • George Morrell
  • Alfred Morrell
  • John H. Morrell
  • George McClelland Foster
  • W.H.T. Foster
  • William Foster as trustee for George Corless's will
  • Morrell genealogy
  • Foster genealogy
  • Memorial cards and pamphlets
  • Correspondence, John Morrell to George Morrell - 1883-1884
  • Sub-Series: Thomas Dove Foster personal items
  • Box 34:
  • Four diaries - 1873-1912
  • Diary of voyages 1 and 2 - 1868, 1871
  • Account book - 1908
  • ALS to Father and Mother, nine pages
  • Will - 1915
  • Mary Morrell to Foster - 1884
  • Letters to Foster concerning his wife's death - 1879
  • Short biography, marriage certificate, reminiscences
  • Historical notes by Foster - 1878
  • The Armory Company of Ottumwa, bonds, undated
  • TLS about Budgett and Company
  • Sub-Series: Personal correspondence
  • Box 35:
  • William Foster to Thomas Dove Foster - 1878-1884
  • Correspondence of John Morrell Jr., Pollie, Josephine, and Lizzie
  • Box 36:
  • Correspondence concerning biography of Thomas Dove Foster - 1913-1929
  • Sub-Series: Thomas Henry Foster personal items
  • Box 37:
  • Checkbook - 1916
  • Correspondence concerning Foster's opinion on war - 1914
  • Personal correspondence with relatives, friends, employees - 1913-1914
  • Correspondence concerning Foster's donations to charity and needy organizations - 1914
  • Biographical sketch - 1926
  • Box 38:
  • Literary correspondence - 1945-1946
  • Sub-Series: Thomas Henry Foster articles and speeches
  • Box 38:
  • Untitled article concerning "spend less; save more." May 2 - 1941
    Typescript/carbon, 2 leaves
  • Untitled article concerning war bonds. April 12 - 1943
    Typescript/carbon, 8 leaves
  • "Agriculture and the Meat Packing Industry." August - 1945
    Typescript/carbon, 6 leaves
  • "Agriculture-Industry"
    Typescript/carbon, 12 leaves
  • American Meat Institute. Chicago, October 30 - 1945
    Corrected typescript with two carbons, 91, 15L, 154
  • "America's Most Famous Book." Privately printed - 1947
    AMS, 46 leaves
  • "Animal Health in War-Time." State Veterinary Convention, Des Moines, January 27 - 1943
    Typescript with carbon, 15 leaves
  • "At the Gateway." Ottumwa plant, October 13 - 1942
    Typescript/carbon, 2 leaves
  • "Beadles, Bibles and Bibliophiles." Privately printed - 1948
    Corrected typescript/carbon, 30 leaves
  • "The Bible." August - 1910
    Typescript with carbon, 12 leaves
  • "Book Collecting"
    Typescript, 12 leaves
  • ["The Business Man in the Church"]
    AMS, 19 leaves
  • "A Businessman Looks at Books and Literature" - 1945
    Three typescripts with carbon, 18 leaves, 11 leaves, 27 leaves, 18 leaves, with reprint in The Daily Iowan, January 19
  • "Dear Sir." November 17 - 1951
    AMS and typescript, 56 leaves, carbon, 58 leaves
  • "Dear Sir." Privately printed - 1951
    Proofs, 17 leaves, 73 leaves
  • "The Dime Novel"
    AMS, 59 leaves, corrected typescript, 31 leaves
  • Box 39:
  • "Food in Two World Wars"
    Typescript, 13 leaves, typescript, 18 leaves, carbon, 18 leaves
  • "The Humanities in a World of Uncertainties." Reprint in Vital Speeches of the Day, September 1 - 1945
    Newspaper clippings, correspondence, AMS, 28 leaves, notes, typescript, 13 leaves, mimeographed copy, 6 leaves
  • Iowa State College, Ames, Iowa. February 4
    Typescript/carbon, 16 leaves
  • Kenyon, Hon. W. S. Open letters by Foster to Kenyon concerning
  • Federal control of the packing and livestock industries, January 31 - 1921
    Two copies
  • Gronna bill S.3944, January 31 - 1921
  • Kenyon bill S. 2202, September 17 - 1919
  • "A Little Journey to the Chateaux of the Loire"
    Typescript, 9 leaves, carbon, 9 leaves, correspondence, proofs, 29 leaves, corrected typescript entitled "Garden Memories," 8 leaves
  • "Maintaining Cooperation Between Related Industries. In Executive Services Bulletin, August 28 - 1945
    Reprints, 3 leaves
  • "Ottumwa Courier 1848-1948"
    AMS of poem, 2 leaves, carbon typescript, 1 leaf, reprint, 1 leaf
  • "Outlook for Packing Industry." November 12 - 1945
    AMS incomplete, 121
  • "The Meat Packing Industry's Service to the Live Stock Producer." July 18 - 1939
    Copy, 3 leaves
  • "The Packing Industry in War Time"
  • Typescript, March 28 - 1944
    16 leaves
  • Copy, February 4 - 1942
  • Copy, May - 1942
    1 leaf
  • "Parsons College Library." January 1949 - 1949
    AMS, 6 leaves
  • [Rath Packing Company]. August 11 - 1941
    Typescript signed, 7 leaves
  • "Shakespeare - Man of Mystery"
    Typescript, 26 leaves
  • A short history of the house of Morrell
  • Typescript corrected
    13 leaves
  • Typescript/carbon
    14 leaves
  • Typescript/carbon
    20 leaves
  • Reprint in "Morrell's Pride," October 1 - 1923
  • "Speak Well of Your Home Town." Reprint in Ottumwa Chamber of Commerce pamphlet, v. 1, no. 4
  • South Dakota Bankers' Association. Talk given to in June - 1942
    Corrected AMS and typescript, 11 leaves
  • "The Tale of a Tub." June 7 - 1947
    Two mimeographed copies, 4 leaves
  • "The Traveling Salesman and Reconstruction Problems." Address to Traveling Salesmen's Bureau at Ottumwa Commercial Club - 1918
    1 leaf
  • "The Unbought Grace of Life"
    AMS corrected, 32 leaves, corrected typescript, 11 leaves
  • Reprints in newspaper
  • "Wapello County's Duty and the Meat Supply"
  • "Would Waken Ottumwa Up"
  • Sub-Series: The House of Morrell. Cheever, Lawrence Oakley. The Torch Press
  • Box 40:
  • Correspondence, proofs, sketches, notes concerned with early, preliminary drafts - 1946-1947
  • Final drafts, carbon copies of each section
  • Correspondence, notes, carbon copies of sections concerned with writing - 1946-1947
  • Sub-Series: Parsons College, Fairfield, Iowa
  • Box 41:
  • Correspondence, Thomas Henry Foster to College - 1903-1922
  • Indenture between College Board of Presbyterian Church in the United States of America and Parsons College, March 4 - 1913
  • By-Laws of Parsons College, undated
  • Parsons, Lewis B., will, July 21 - 1856
    copy
  • Board of Trustees meetings, minutes - 1911-1914
  • Sub-Series: Presbyterian Church work
  • Box 42:
  • Correspondence - 1899-1925
  • Correspondence of Thomas Henry Foster and Richard Paul Graebel - 1946-1951
  • Sub-Series: YMCA work
  • Box 43:
  • Correspondence, Thomas Dove Foster - 1892-1914
  • Ottumwa YMCA building, correspondence, J. W. Mock and Thomas Henry Foster - 1901-1923
  • YMCA War Work Council, notes and correspondence of J. W. Mock - 1917
  • President's yearly reports, Thomas Dove Foster - 1892-1913
  • Financial and statistical reports - 1897-1914
  • Sub-Series: Unboxed
  • Box 44:
  • Weekly Sales Record Book, jobbing and wholesale. January 1-December 31 - 1904-1920
  • Series 3: 2002 ADDENDUM
  • Box 45:
  • History and genealogy of Eliza Jane McClelland, wife of Thomas D. Foster
  • Obituary of John Morrell Foster, (1895-1958); President of John Morrell & Co., (1952-1953); Vice President, (1953-1957) - 1958
  • Newspaper clipping - 1993
  • Cheever, Lawrence O. "John Morrell & Co." The Palimpsest, 47:4 - 1966