Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Robert Metzler "Colombo" Diaries

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1975-1977
Creator: Metzler, Robert
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0097
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Writer and producer Robert Metzler was hired in March 1975 to work on the NBC television series Colombo starring Peter Falk. He continued on the show into 1977, making near daily diary entries that record behind-the-scenes activity in great detail.

Access: This collection is open for research

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were purchased from bookseller Charles Apfelbaum in March 2002. Guide posted to Internet: August 2004.

Preferred Citation: Robert Metzler "Colombo" Diaries, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Writer and producer Robert Metzler was hired by NBC Television to work on the "Colombo" series starring Peter Falk on Mach 26, 1975. From that day until November 23, 1977, he kept a diary with nearly daily entries, often extensive, through 1976; the entries become less frequent and briefer in 1977, and Metzler had left the show before the end of the year.

Metzler provides extensive and intimate details of deals, writers, actors, scripts, people hired and fired, Universal Productions, NBC, and almost daily dealings with Peter Falk. In May 1975, the entire company withdrew to Mexico to shoot an episode over a 20-day period that Metzler records in considerable detail.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Standard Diary. 8x10 inches, bound in red cloth. - 1975
  • Standard Diary. - 1976
  • Standard Diary. - 1977
  • Typed memorandum, 5 pages, dated May 1, regarding conversation with Falk. - 1975
  • ALS from Bert Kopperl to Metzler, June 23 - 1975
  • Folder 2 contents
  • Press release April 7-8, Marilyn Beck's Hollywood, regarding Falk and "Colombo". - 1973
  • Press release Summer regarding upcoming "Colombo" season. - 1974
  • Mimeograph sheets recording national audience shares for each episode as against other shows in the 8:30 - 10:00 p.m slot. - 1974, 1975, 1976