Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the David Bremner Henderson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1884-1951
Creator: Henderson, David Bremner (1840-1906)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0095
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and U.S. Representative from Iowa. Newspaper clippings, magazine articles, pamphlets, letters, medals, and photographs.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Folders 2 and 6.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Congressman David Bremner Henderson were obtained for the library as a result of the efforts, interests, and correspondence initiated by George M. Sheets, 1958--1959. They were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by D. W. Peaslee.

Preferred Citation: David Bremner Henderson Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Chronological Biography of David Bremner Henderson
 
1840: Born in Old Deer, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, March 14, 1840, the son of Thomas and Barbara (Bremner) Henderson
 
1846: Immigrated to the United States with his parents
 
1856: Married March 4, 1856 to Augusta A. Fox, daughter of Alonzo H. Fox of West Union, Iowa. Three children were born to this union: Donald M. Henderson; Belle Henderson, who died in Los Angeles, July 24, 1949; and Angie Henderson, who later became Mrs. S.C. Peaslee
 
1858: Entered Upper Iowa University, Fayette, Iowa
 
1861: Enlisted in the Union Army, September 15, 1861, as a Private in Company C, Twelfth Regiment, Iowa Volunteer Infantry
 
1863: Discharged as a First Lieutenant due to the loss of a leg, February 26, 1863
 
1864: Entered the Army as a Colonel of the Forty-sixth Regiment, Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and served until the close of the Civil War
 
1865: Studied law in the office of Bissel and Shiras, Dubuque, Iowa. He was admitted to the bar in the fall of 1865, and began law practice in Dubuque, Iowa
 
1869: Became the Assistant U.S. District Attorney for the northern district of Iowa
 
1883: Elected as a Republican to the U.S. House of Representatives, 48th-57th Congresses, March 4, 1883 to March 3, 1903
 
1899: Elected Speaker of the House of Representatives, 56th Congress, December 4, 1899. Re-elected in that office, 57th Congress, December 2, 1901
 
1906: Died in Dubuque, Iowa, on February 25, 1906.

The collection is mostly newspaper clippings, biographical in nature, much of which is duplicated in the Biographical Directory of the American Congresses, 1774 -- 1961, and The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: OVERSIZED BOX

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper clippings and pamphlet
  • 1: Newspaper clipping. Reprint of a telegram to Mrs. Henderson from President Theodore Roosevelt expressing the latter's sympathy upon the death of David Bremner Henderson, dated February 27 - 1906
  • 2: Newspaper clipping. "Henderson Honored by Legislators," Des Moines Register and Leader, March 9 - 1906
  • 3: Newspaper clipping. "Eulogy Over the Late David Bremner Henderson," delivered Thursday, March 1, by George D. Perkins of Sioux City, Dubuque Telegraph and Herald - 1906
  • 4: Pamphlet. Eulogy. Delivered by George D. Perkins at the funeral, Dubuque, March 1. Eight pages - 1906
  • 5-15: Newspaper clippings related to the illness and death of David Bremner Henderson, February 25 - 1906
  • Advertisement and newspaper clippings
  • 16: Advertisement folder. Containing an unsigned typed letter from D.B. Henderson to Sydney A. Foster, and an unsigned typed letter from W.B. Allison to the Royal Union Mutual Life Insurance Company, Des Moines, Iowa, accompanied by photographs of the two Congressmen - 1900, 1902
  • 17-25: Newspaper clippings concerning David Bremner Henderson's statesmanship and qualifications for becoming Speaker of the House of Representatives
  • Letters and clippings
  • 26: Autograph letter signed. From George L. Durno to "Willie," dated December 3. Concerns the boyhood adventures of George Durno with David B. Henderson when the latter was eight years old. Six pages - 1899
  • 27: Autograph letter unsigned and undated. Biographical sketch of David B. Henderson
  • 28: Typewritten biographical sketch of David B. Henderson and his student days at Upper Iowa University, Fayette, Iowa. Three pages
  • 29: Typewritten letter unsigned. From James A. Henderson to "Uncle Alec". Gives the genealogical data of the Henderson family. Nine pages
  • 30: Newspaper clipping. Account of David B. Henderson's boyhood in Scotland and the United States
  • 31: Newspaper clipping. A poem by Colonel David B. Henderson entitled "The Yes or No".
  • 32-40: Newspaper clippings. Biographical data on David Bremner Henderson, and two death notices, one of his brother, Alexander C. Henderson, and one of his daughter, Belle S. Henderson
  • Medals and memorials
  • 41: Packet of four G.A.R. medals and ribbons
  • 42: Newspaper clipping. Dedication of the library building at Fayette, Iowa, which bears the name the David B. Henderson Library
  • 43: Telegram to William Richman. Relates to the launching of the liberty ship, David B. Henderson, September 20 - 1943
  • 44: Newspaper clipping. Unveiling of a statue of Colonel David B. Henderson in Clermont, Iowa
  • 45: Newspaper clipping. Monument dedicated to William Boyd Allison and David Bremner Henderson erected in Allison Henderson Memorial Park, Dubuque, Iowa, May 13 - 1951
  • 46: Pamphlet. Memorial Exercises in Honor of David B. Henderson, in the hall of the House of Representatives in Des Moines, Iowa, Thursday, March 9. Twenty-eight pages - 1906
  • 47: Delzell, Earl B. "David Bremner Henderson", Grand Lodge Bulletin 32:154-160, May - 1931
  • 48: Weed, Cora Chaplin, comp. “Colonel David B. Henderson", Handbook for Iowa Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument, pp. 31-32 - 1898
  • Series 2: OVERSIZED BOX
  • Scrapbook
  • 49: Scrapbook of newspaper clippings on Congressman David B. Henderson's career and death. Contains a photograph of the burial services at Dubuque, Iowa
  • Music and photographs
  • 50: Sheet music. Dedicated to Congressman David B. Henderson. "Forward: First Grande Galop a la Militaire", composed by Stephen S. Bonbright. Cincinnatti, Ohio, Allen Brothers - 1884
  • 51-53: Three large photographs of David Bremner Henderson

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.