Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lester Jesse Dickinson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1898-1955
Creator: Dickinson, Lester Jesse (1873-1968)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0094
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Representative and Senator from Iowa. Speeches, scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, and campaign material all related to his political career.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs box 3; scrapbooks

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University in 1959 by Lester Dickinson.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Lest Jesse Dickinson, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lester J. Dickinson was born on a farm in Lucas County, Iowa, on October 29, 1873. He graduated from Cornell College in Mt. Vernon, Iowa, in 1898. The following year he received his law degree from the University of Iowa, was admitted to the bar, and began his law practice in Algona, Iowa. A Republican, L.J. Dickinson served six terms in the U.S. House of Representatives (1919-1931) and one term in the Senate (1931-1937). He was a darkhorse candidate for the Republican nomination for vice-president in 1924, and was considered for the presidential nomination in 1936. After leaving office, Dickinson returned to the practice of law in Des Moines, Iowa. He died on June 4, 1968, at the age of 94.

The papers of Lester J. Dickinson consist of 3.5 linear feet of manuscripts dating from 1898 to 1955. Documenting his political career, the collection includes speeches, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, clippings, and campaign material. Most of the material is from the 1920s and 1930s, while some of the photographs are from earlier years. L.J. Dickinson donated his papers to The University of Iowa Libraries in 1959. They are available for research by students and scholars.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 3: SEPTEMBER ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches, articles: Miscellaneous, undated
  • Speeches, articles: Miscellaneous - 1922-1932
  • Speeches, articles: Miscellaneous: January-October - 1933
  • Speeches, articles: Miscellaneous: November-December - 1933
  • Speeches, articles: Miscellaneous: January-February - 1934
  • Speeches, articles: Miscellaneous: March-April - 1934
  • Box 2:
  • Speeches: May-October - 1934
  • Speeches: November-December - 1934
  • Speeches: January-February - 1935
  • Speeches: March-August; includes correspondence - 1935
  • Speeches: August-September - 1935
  • Box 3:
  • Speeches: September-November - 1935
  • Speeches: November-January - 1935-1936
  • Speeches: February - 1936
  • Speeches: February-March - 1936
  • Speeches: April-May - 1936
  • Photographs
  • Box 4:
  • Articles and Campaign Materials - 1932-1936
  • Speeches and Correspondence - 1936-1938
  • Correspondence: January-November - 1930-1936
  • Correspondence: November-December - 1936-1955
  • Biographical Statements
  • Box 5:
  • The American Mercury
  • Meet Mr. Wilkie - 1939
  • Proceedings of the Academy of Political Science - 1933
  • Promise and Performance - 1938
  • Review of Reviews - 1931-1935
  • The Roosevelt Record in Red! - 1940
  • Vital National Issues - 1935-1936
  • Series 2: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Sub-Series: Scrapbooks of Newspaper Clippings, Myrtle Call Dickinson
  • Scrapbook 1 - 1919-1928
  • Scrapbook 2 - 1927-1931
  • Scrapbook 3 - 1933-1936
  • Sub-Series: Scrapbooks of Newspaper Clippings
  • Scrapbook 4 - 1918-1928
  • (Farm Bloc) - Scrapbook 5 - 1921-1928
  • Small Scrapbook of Clippings. Missing? - 1923-1924
  • June 2-November 8- Scrapbook 7. On oversized shelf - 1930
  • Election of Dickinson - Scrapbook 8. On oversized shelf - 1930
  • Scrapbook 9. On oversized shelf - 1931-1935
  • March-April - Scrapbook 10 - 1931-1936
  • January 1-April 30 - Scrapbook 11 - 1938
  • May 1-June 6 - Scrapbook 12 - 1938
  • June 7-July 27 - Scrapbook 13 - 1938
  • July 27-October 27 - Scrapbook 14 - 1938
  • October 26-December - Scrapbook 15 - 1938-1939
  • Photograph Album - 1898-1953
  • Folder of Oversized Photographs
  • Series 3: SEPTEMBER ADDENDUM
  • Box 5:
  • Campaign materials - 2003
  • Clippings - 2003