Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Curt A. Zimansky Collection of Prints

Collection Overview

Date Span: Undated
Creator: Zimansky, Curt A. (1913-1973)
Extent: 2.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0093
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Educator and collector. 32 prints and drawings, mostly of British celebrities of the 18th and 19th centuries, removed from books.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Curt A. Zimansky Collection of Prints, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Curt A. Zimansky was born on August 13, 1913, in San Francisco, California, the son of Curt F. and Olga Glauch Zimansky. He earned a B.A. (1933) and M.A. (1934) from Stanford University. In 1936, Princeton University conferred another master's degree on him, and a Ph.D. the following year.

Zimansky came to teach at the University of Iowa in 1937, specializing in the study of restoration drama. He was the past president of the Iowa Archeological Society and was chairman of the editorial board of the University of Iowa Press. He belonged to both the Modern Language Association and the Johnson Society of America; he was also a member of the University Faculty Senate as well as many other committees. Zimansky began as the associate editor of the Philological Quarterly in 1953, and in 1964 became its editor, devoting vast amounts of time on its publication. As an editor of a rival journal put it, Editors of scholarly journals can be divided into two groups: Curt Zimansky and all the others.

Zimansky served in the army intelligence in World War II and the Korean War. During World War II he was a member of the top secret Ultra staff at Bletchley, England, that intercepted and deciphered the highest-level German command communications, analyzed and annotated them, and forwarded them for planning and action to senior English and American officers. He retired from the military in 1957 with the rank of major.

Curt A. Zimansky died of cancer on August 10, 1973, at age 59. He was survived by his wife Margaret Lacy Zimansky and their four sons.

The Curt A. Zimansky collection of prints consists of thirty-two prints and drawings collected by Professor Zimansky in and before 1951. He bought them in New York and San Francisco, where many of the pictures had doubtless been removed from old books. Most of the subjects are portraits of British celebrities of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. There are also colored prints showing occupations of common people, including bat-fowling, otter hunting, and pike fishing.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PRINTS AND DRAWINGS

  • Series 1: PRINTS AND DRAWINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Water color prints showing occupations of common people. (3 items)
  • Black and white portraits, primarily of 18th - 19th century British celebrities. (29 items)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Prints

Geographic Names:
Great Britain