Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frank Emmanuel Stucki Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1961
Creator: Stucki, Frank Emmanuel (1895-1961)
Extent: 4.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0090
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Minister. Correspondence, sermons, and tax returns.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 9, 10

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the library by Curtis Stucki, Head of the Catalog Department and son of Frank Stucki.

Preferred Citation: Frank Emmanuel Stucki Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This material is valuable for the information it provides on Christianity as practiced in the first half of the twentieth century in the Midwestern United States. Of particular interest is the fact that the material relates in large part to German-American congregations. A list of books used by Rev. Stucki in preparing his sermons is also included. There is also some material on church financing, although this is not very extensive.

No published accounts of the material are known to exist.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Records of Sermons Preached [Book]
    The sermons are filed according to the numbering system used in the record book kept in box 1. Each service at which a sermon was preached is numbered in the record book. However, this same sermon may have been preached on several occasions. This practice accounts for the gaps in the sermons listed here by number.
  • Sermon Numbers 1-145
  • Box 2:
  • Sermons 146-399
  • Box 3:
  • Sermons 401-598
  • Box 4:
  • Sermons 600-857
  • Box 5:
  • Sermons 858-1352
  • Box 6:
  • Sermons 1353-1598
  • Box 7:
  • Sermons 1601-1991
  • Box 8:
  • Sermons 2000-7093
  • Letters dating from July 12 - September 15, 1957.
    Dealing with the seeking of a new ministry.
  • Income Tax Returns - 1926-1943
  • "God Works Thru Families" Radio Address, May 8-12
  • Miscellaneous Speeches and Notes
    Several addressed to the Women's Guild
  • Consistory - 1960-1961
  • Consistory - 1957
  • Consistory - 1946-1956
  • Consistory - 1934-1945
  • Consistory - 1922-1930
  • Box 9:
  • Seminary Papers and Records
  • The Pastor's Helper - 1920-1930
  • Letters and papers pertaining to seeking and accepting pastoratets
  • Composition Books - 1910
    9 books
  • Thanksgiving service and other special services
  • National Mission Briefs and miscellaneous sermon notes
  • Photograph of Frank Stucki, note, and Iowa Synod News Letter
  • Box 10:
  • Stall's Pastor's Pocket Record
  • Frank E. Stucki, Handy Note Book
  • Common Worship
    Contains laid-in notes throughout and marginal comments.
  • Directory of worship for the reformed church in the United States
    Contains laid-in notes.
  • Taschen: agende fur reformierte prediger
    Contains marginal notes.
  • Heidelberg Catechism
    Contains laid-in notes throughout and marginal comments.
  • His Last Week
  • St. Luke Evangelical and Reformed Church dedication program
  • Correspondence
  • Folder #1 - 1913-1920
  • J. Stucki (father) to Frank Stucki, December 30, 1913, from Black River Falls, Wisconsin. TL. 1l
  • Frank Stucki to his father, March 19, 1917, from Mission House, Plymouth, Wisconsin. ALS. 2l
  • Marie Dinker to Frank Stucki, October 15, 1917, from Waukesha, Wisconsin ALS. 1l
  • Five letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from Mission House, Plymouth, Wisconsin.
    October 21, 1917, 1l; November 18, 1917, 1l.; December 6, 1917, January 7, 1918, April 21, 1918, 2l
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, August 2, 1918, on letterhead paper (Manitowoc Shipbuilding Company, Shipbuilders Service Club), from Manitowoc, Wisconsin ALS. 3l
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, August 21, 1919, from Vegreville, Alta, Canada. ALS. 3l
  • Four letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from Mission House, Plymouth, Wisconsin.
    September 11, 1919, 1l; September 15, 1919, 1l; October 21, 1919, 2l; November 25, 1919, 2l. ALS
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, December 5, 1918, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. 1l
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, December 11, 1918, from La Crosse.
    March 16, 1919, from Mission House, Plymouth; April 15, 1919, from Mission House, Plymouth. ALS. 1l
  • Autograph Card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, July 24, 1919, from Vegreville, Alta, Canada
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, June 9, 1919, from Vegreville, Alta, Canada. ALS. 2l
  • Autograph postcard showing the Electric Building, from Frank Stucki to his parents, September 12, 1919, Buffalo, New York.
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, September 28, 1919, from 400 Hodge Hall, Princeton, New Jersey. ALS. 4l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, October 22, 1919, Princeton, New Jersey
  • Six letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from Princeton, New Jersey.
    November 10, 1919, 2l: December 8, 1919, 4l; January 8, 1920, 2l; January 18, 1920, 2l; February 22, 1920, 1l; May 3, 1920, 2l
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, from Hillsdale, Oregon.
    June 12, 1920, 1l; July 5, 1920, 2l; September 27, 1920, 2l; November 29, 1920, 3l. ALS
  • Programme for the Benefit Concert by the Mission House Band - 1917-1918
  • Picture postcard, Frank Stucki to his parents, May 18, 1920, Princeton, New Jersey
    showing what he refers to as his "eating club"
  • Printed announcement from the Princeton Theological Seminary to the Rev. J. Stucki (father), regarding the commencement exercises on May 4, 1920
  • Folder #2 - 1921-1926
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, January 10, 1921, from Hillsdale, Oregon
  • Ten letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from Hillsdale, Oregon
    January 10, 1921, 3l; April 4, 1921, 3l; May 12, 1921, 3l; June 2, July 5, 1921, 3l; November 7, 1921, 2l; December 19, 1921, 4l; February 13, 1922, 2l; March 6, 1922, 3l; April 18, 1922, 2l. ALS
  • Seven letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin.
    July 7, 1922, 3l; August 9, 1922, 1l; September 7, 1922, 2l; September 26, 1922, 2l; October 15, 1922, 1l; November 6, 1922, 2l; December 11, 1922, 2l. ALS
  • Autograph Christmas card, to Frank Stucki's parents from "Frank and Hulda," December 21, 1922, La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, January 7, 1923, from La Crosse, Wisconsin, 3l. ALS
  • Two autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin.
    February 9, 1923 and February 16, 1923
  • Three letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    February 27, 1923, 3l; April 20, 1923, 3l; May 4, 1923, 2l. ALS
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki, to his parents, May 25, 1923, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, May 30, 1923, from "On the Banks of the Mississippi." 2l. ALS
  • Ten letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    July 4, 1923. 3l; July 30, 1923, 1l; August 27, 1923, 2l; November 14, 1923, 1l; December 5, 1923, 1l; December 17, 1923, 1l; December 27, 1923, 1l; January. 22, 1924, 3l; February 5, 1924, 2l; February 22, 1924, 1l. ALS
  • Autograph card signed, Hulda Stucki to parents-in-law, March 8, 1924, from Portland, Oregon, concerning the illness of "Herman" (brother?)
  • Two autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: March 7, 1924, and March 17, 1924
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, March 31, 1924, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 2l.
  • Six autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents from La Crosse, Wisconsin.
    April 16, 1924; May 8, 1924; June 12, 1924; June 23, 1924; July 22, 1924; July 25, 1924
  • Frank Stucki to his parents, September 7, 1924, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 2l
  • Two autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: September 16, 1924, and October 7, 1924.
  • Eleven letters from Frank Stucki to his parents from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    October 15, 1924, November 30, 1924; December 29, 1924; January 27, 1925, 2l; March 9, 1925, 2l; April 22, 1925, 2l; May 21, 1925, 2l; June 21, 1925, 2l; July 16, 1925, 1l; July 21, 1925, 1l ; September 7, 1925, 2l. ALS
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, September 17, 1925, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, October 7, 1925, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 1l
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, November 2, 1925, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 1l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, December 12, 1925, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, December 16, 1925, from La Crosse. ALS. 1l
  • Five autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    January 6, 1926; January 14, 1926; January 18, 1926; January 29, 1926; February 4, 1926
  • Five letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    March 3, 1926, 2l; April 6, 1926, 2l; April 19, 1926, 1l; July 10, 1926, 1l; August 9, 1926,1l. ALS
  • Three autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his father, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    August 18, 1926; August 19; 1926; August 24, 1926
  • Programm fuer das Einweihungs-Fest der Reformierten-Gameinde in Hillsdale, Oregon. Sonntag, den 22, Mai 1921, 2l
  • Printed wedding announcement, Frank Stucki to Hulda M. Kehrli, on June 14, 1922, sent to the parents of Frank Stucki. 1l
  • Typescript, mimeographed, copy of letter to congregation regarding new church building project. No date. 1l
  • Typescript, mimeographed, copy of sermon delivered at St. John's Reformed Church, Sunday, April 15, 1923. 4l
  • Five photographs: two of Donald Frank Stucki, born December 8, 1925, and photographed here on April 12, 1926; three of family groups -- unidentified
  • Typescript, mimeographed, letter to congregation of St. John's Reformed Church, November 27, 1926, regarding church financing for the year 1927. 1l
  • Folder #3 - 1927-1930
  • Four letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    January. 9, 1927, 1l; February 6, 1927, 1l; April 4, 1927, 2l; April 19, 1927,1l. ALS
  • Three autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    April 27, 1927; May 6, 1927; May 19, 1927
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, June 9, 1927, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 1l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, June 17, 1927, from Hillsdale, Oregon
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, June 28, 1927, from Hillsdale, Oregon. ALS. 1l
  • Two autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, July 10, 1927, from Hillsdale, Oregon, and September 5, 1927, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, September 22, 1927, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 1l
  • Two autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates October 10, 1927, and October 27, 1927
  • Four letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    November 20, 1927, 2l; December 11, 1927, 1l; December 19, 1927, 3l; January 2, 1928, 1l. ALS
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. January 25, 1928
  • Two letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: February 16, 1928, 2l; March 6, 1928, 1l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, March 16, 1928, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, April 17, 1928, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS, 1l
  • Two autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: May 1, 1928; May 19, 1928
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, June 24, 1928, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS, 1l
  • Two autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: May 1, 1928; May 19, 1928
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, June 24, 1928, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS, 1l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, July 7, 1928, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Three letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    July 16, 1928, 4l; August 5, 1928, 2l; August 31, 1928, 1l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, October 24, 1928, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Two letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: November 4, 1928, 2l; November 30, 1928, 1l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, December 26, 1928, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Four letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    January 6, 1929, 2l; January 10, 1929,1l; January 22, 1929,1l; February 3, 1929, 2l
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, February 14, 1929, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Two letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: February 18, 1929, 1l; March 13, 1929, 2l. ALS
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, March 16, 1929, from St. Francis Hospital, La Crosse, Wisconsin. 1l. ALS
  • Frank Stucki and E. Hauser to the parents of Frank Stucki, Black River Falls, Wisconsin, April 8, 1929, thanking them in the name of St. John's Reformed Church of La Crosse, Wisconsin for a loan of $2000. ALS
  • Two letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: May 10, 1929, 1l; May 13, 1929, 1l. ALS
  • Three autograph cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    May 31, 1929; June 1, 1929; June 22, 1929
  • Letter from Hulda Stucki to parents-in-law, July 15, 1929, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 1l
  • Letter from Frank Stucki to his parents, July 26, 1929, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. ALS. 1l
  • Two autographs cards signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: August 13, 1929; August 18, 1929
  • Seven letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    September 16, 1929, 1l; October 3, 1929, 2l; October 22, 1929, 1l; November 19, 1929, 1l; December 4, 1929, 2l; December 17, 1929, 1l; January 8, 1930, 1l. ALS
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. February 7, 1930
  • Five letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    March 17, 1930, 1l; March 24, 1930, 2l; April 1, 1930, 2l; April 4, 1930, 2l; April 7, 1930, 1l. ALS
  • Two letters from "Mina Stucki", April 12 and April 6, 1930, La Crosse, Wisconsin, addressee unknown. ALS. 5l
  • Seven letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    September 16, 1929, 1l; October 3, 1929, 2l; October 22, 1929, 1l; November 19, 1929, 1l; December 4, 1929, 2l; December 17, 1929, 1l; January 8, 1930, 1l. ALS
  • Autograph card signed, Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. February 7, 1930
  • Five letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin
    March 17, 1930, 1l; March 24, 1930, 2l; April 1, 1930, 2l; April 4, 1930, 2l; April 7, 1930, 1l. ALS
  • Two letters from "Mina Stucki", April 12 and April 6, 1930, La Crosse, Wisconsin, addressee unknown. ALS. 5l
  • Letter on letterhead reading "The Mission House of the Reformed Church in the U.S., Plymouth, Wisconsin" from Alwin Grether to Mrs. Stucki, April 2, 1930. TLS. 1l
  • Two letters from Frank Stucki to his parents, from La Crosse, Wisconsin. Dates: April 24, 1930, 1l; April 24, 1930, 2l. ALS
  • Newspaper clipping of a poem, written in German, signed "Paul Bienand." No date
  • Two typescript, mimeographed copies of a form sent by the Stewardship Committee regarding "all the Congregational and Benevolent
    Gifts of the past year January 1, 1929 -- 1930"
  • Printed Christmas card from the Frank Stucki family to his parents. No date
  • Printed birth announcement; from Frank Stucki to his parents, concerning a Curtis William, born October 24, 1928. 1l
  • The Pastors Helper. Published in the interest of St. John's Reformed Church. Rev. F. E. Stucki, ed. La Crosse, Wisconsin; January, February, 1929
  • Miss Emma Manthe's Letters: Describing Life at the Winnebago Indian Mission, Black River Falls, Wisconsin, Circa 1900
    2003 Addendum, Edited by Jacob C. Stucki and Marcia V. Stucki, Kalamazoo, Michigan, 2003. Perfect bound notebook of photocopies of the letters and transcripts. Includes four pages of photocopies of photographs

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stucki, Frank Emmanuel, 1895-1961

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
German Americans
Church history

Occupations:
Clergy

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
Middle West

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs
Archives
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Sermons
Sermons
Sources
Correspondence

Browse:
Clergy and the Church