Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Chicago & Northwestern Railway Ticket Agent papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890 - 1907
Creator:
Extent: 13.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0085
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Records of the Cedar Rapids ticket agent for the railway, this collection consists of record books, correspondence with headquarters in Chicago , and correspondence dealing with problems of passenger transportation. Bulk dates are 1896-1899.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Chicago & Northwestern Railway Ticket Agent Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection includes the records of the Cedar Rapids passenger ticket agent for the Chicago North Western Railway from 1896 to 1899. The collection includes the record books necessary for selling tickets, correspondence with the railroad headquarters in Chicago, and correspondence dealing with the problems of passenger transportation. While the collection is most complete for the period from 1896 to 1899, there is some material covering the period from 1890 to 1907.

The collection is of greatest significance for the period from 1896 to 1899. However, since the records of the Chicago North Western Railway are incomplete, this collection could be valuable in studying policies of the road, passenger traffic methods, and business methods for the last decade of the nineteenth century.

The collection was in very poor condition when brought into the library, having been subject to water damage and having served as a roost for pigeons. However, most of the collection was salvaged, and only minor parts of it, which were illegible and impossible to restore, were destroyed.

Register Completed: August 20, 1963.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1886-1892
    10 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1893-1896
    9 folders
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1897-1903
    and undated.
  • Box 4:
  • Letterpress book - 1903
  • Letterpress book - 1906-1907
  • Milk receipts - 1908
  • Box 5:
  • Telegrams - 1887-1900
    and miscellaneous telegrams. 14 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Cashbook - 1901-1903
  • Letterpress book - 1899
  • Letterpress book - 1902
  • Letterpress book - 1903
  • REA Routing Guide - 1951
  • REA Routing Guide - 1955
  • Box 7:
  • Letterpress book - 1902
  • Letterpress book - 1903
  • Letterpress book - 1903
  • Ticket Sales Returns - 1895
  • Remittance Book - 1895-1896
  • Letterpress book - 1905-1906
  • Letterpress book - 1908, 1909
  • Box 8:
  • Printed and form materials - 1886-1899
    and undated. 15 folders
  • Box 9:
  • Remittances - 1896-1900
    4 folders
  • Miscellaneous