Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Guinn Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1880-1924
Creator: Guinn Family
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0084
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: The Guinn family moved to Iowa from Tennessee beginning in 1846 to settle near Belle Plaine. This collection includes legal documents, correspondence, a photograph, and a ledger book made up at the time of the sale of the estate of H. Guinn.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were collected for the University of Iowa Libraries by George Sheets in the late 1950s.

Preferred Citation: Guinn Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Several members of the Guinn family moved to Iowa Township, Benton County, Iowa from Tennessee, beginning with Hyrcanus Guinn who came first in March 1846. He was followed by his brother John. They set up farming about two miles south of what is now Belle Plaine. In 1850 or 1851, John Guinn relocated and with two other households, created the town of Guinnville which was platted November 8, 1856. A post office was established in Guinnville in February 1856. Eventually brothers William and Andrew Guinn and a brother-in-law, Frank Greenlee also moved to Iowa from Tennessee. Julia Fidelia Benson married into the Guinn family. Belle Plaine eventually subsumed Guinnville and the post office was moved to Belle Plaine August 6, 1862.

This small collection consists of legal documents and some correspondence, much of it having to do with the Benson family. Included are two versions of a history of Guinnville and a ledger book containing the possessions in the estate of H. Guinn, which provides a thorough record of the materials required to operate a farm in Iowa in the late nineteenth century.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence
  • Early histories of Guinnville and Belle Plaine, Iowa
  • Last will and testament, W. W. Benson (father to Julia Fidelia (Benson) Guinn), and additional estate papers
  • Miscellaneous including tax receipts and land sale records
  • Newspaper clipping concerning sale of property, estate of W. W. Benson
  • Photograph, Tom Lawrence, pioneer dry goods merchant
  • Record book of H. Guinn - 1890-1891

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Krantz, Audrey Z.
Krantz, C. L.
Krantz, C. L., Mrs.
Krantz, Zona A.

Corporate Names:
Redpath Lyceum
United Chautauquas

Topics:
Chautauquas
Popular culture

Occupations:
Entertainers
Musicians