Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Linograph Corporation Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1916-1961
Creator: Linograph Corporation, Davenport Iowa
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0083
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Catalogs, type specimen books, advertising brochures.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Materials in this collection were received from Charles Dunham, Deep River, Iowa, September 5, 1969, from Mrs. Robert Swaney, Dixon, Illinois, September 4, 1970, from Jim Moyer in 2005, and from Jim Daggs in 2009.

Preferred Citation: Linograph Corporation Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Linograph was developed by Hans Petersen (1872-1924). Born in Denmark, Petersen emigrated with his parents at the age of ten and by the time he was twelve began working as a compositor in Scandinavian printing shops in the Minneapolis area. Trained on the Linotype, he developed ideas for a simpler and more efficient typecaster which, with two brothers, he developed into the Linograph Corporation, incorporated in Minneapolis in 1911 and moved to Davenport, Iowa, in 1912. The Linograph Corporation was bought by Intertype in January of 1944. (Source: Eckman, James. The Heritage of the Printer, pp. 31-35.

The Linograph Corporation includes parts catalogs, instructions manuals, and other technical information about the Linograph machine. It also includes historical information about the company, including a photograph and business card of Hans Petersen.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS OF THE LINOGRAPH CORPORATION

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Business card and photo of Hans Petersen
  • "Hans Petersen and His Linograph Machine," by Dr. James Eckman (clipping from Printing Impressions. April - 1961
  • The Slug. January and August - 1923
    House organ of Linograph Company
  • The Linograph - 1916
    Gift of James Moyer.
  • Photographs
  • Advertising
  • Letters
  • Le Penseur qui a transforme le travail en un jeu
  • Jim Daggs reproductions of two Linograph catalogs - 1920
    APA695
  • CD containing images from the collection
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS OF THE LINOGRAPH CORPORATION
  • Box 1:
  • Instructions for Linograph Operators
  • Linograph Specimen Book of Type Faces and Borders
  • Price List: Linograph Parts and Supplies: Models 1 and 3
  • Winged Words
  • Catalogue of Linograph Parts and Supplies, Models 1 and 3
  • Simplicity That Reduces Typesetting Costs. Linograph Models 1 and 3
  • The Linograph "50"
  • The Story of the Linograph: A Business Romance
  • The Story of Model 12 Linograph

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.