Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the California Civil War Diary

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1863
Creator: Unknown soldier
Extent: 1.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0079
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Diary of an unknown soldier in Company C, 4th Infantry C.V., who was assigned to a detail guarding a wagon train carrying specie to the East.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: California Civil War Diary, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

This collection is made of up one 2.75 x 4 inch diary bound in black leather with daily notes from August 22 to September 14, 1862, and miscellaneous notes and accounts in the back, some dating from 1863. Some pages, which were obviously written on, have been cut out. The writer was concerned with the land, making daily notes on the condition of the road, soil, timber, and water, as well as the game they see and harvest. He also kept a daily log of distances travelled and in the back of the diary there appears a table of these distances. Place names mentioned in this table are San Pedro, Temples Rock, Crystal (") Rock, Chino, Laniscal ("), Lagoona, Temacula, Dutchmans ("), Camp Wright, Himbal's (") Ranch, San Phillipe, Viaseta ("), and Palm Springs. Other place names include Camp Lutherson, Clyne's Ranch, Warner's Ranch, Alinas (") Well, and Cooks Well. Though he mentions very few people, some names that do occur are Lieut. Sherman, Capt. Morris, Mr. Carlyle the proprietor of Rancho del Chino, and 1st Lieut. Baily of the 5th Inf. C.V.

In the back of this small diary, there are miscellaneous accounts, including clothing accounts, a sutler's bill, and a list of names, including Waterman, Terrel, Marne, Cook, McMuflin ("), Lowell, Gilbert, Ogden, Parson, Fox, Dean, Hill, Beaver, Bancroft, Leighton, and Eliott.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1: California Civil War diary

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- California

Genre/Form of Materials:
Accounts
Archives
Diaries
Sources

Browse:
Civil War