Guide to the Wendell D. Wiltsie Diaries

Collection Overview
Date Span: 1863-1865
Creator: Wiltsie, Wendell D. (1835-1929)
Extent: 5.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0078
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Diaries of a soldier in Company E, 23rd Michigan volunteer Infantry.

Administrative Information

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Wendell D. Wiltsie Diaries, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Biographical Note

Wendell D. Wiltsie was a soldier in the Union Army, 23rd Michigan Volunteer Infantry Regiment, Company E. He was born to James and Rahcel (Dorn) Wiltsie in Hannibal, New York on October 1, 1835. He and his wife Jennie had only one child, Rose Marie. Wiltise died sometime before July 31, 1929 in Saginaw, Michigan. Wendell had a brother, James, who was killed during the war.


Content Description

This collection consists of three diaries written by Wiltsie during the Civil War, as well as a typed version of the entries of the first diary from October 1, 1863, to January 8, 1864, and a single diary entry dated December 15, 1864.

J. Moeller September 2004.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
Civil War