Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James A. Throop Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1860-1864
Creator: Throop, James A.
Extent: 2.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0076
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Businessman and proprietor of the Mount Pleasant Free Press. One journal contains Throop's hardware store accounts and recipes kept by Bessie Throop. The other is a record book kept by the Loyal Union League of Henry County, Iowa, 1863-1864, which includes bylaws, meeting minutes, a membership list, etc.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These records were purchased in 1996 with funds from the Homer Calkin memorial fund.

Preferred Citation: James A. Throop Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

James A. Throop was raised by his uncle D.D.W.C. Throop. The two were engaged in the hardware business in Mount Pleasant, Iowa, before and during the Civil War. An ardent Republican, James Throop was elected secretary of the Loyal Union League of Henry County, Iowa, in 1864. These Union Leagues were dedicated to supporting the Union cause and the Lincoln administration's policies and were committed to exposing Copperheads (Southern sympathizers) in their midst. In 1872, James A. Throop became one of the proprietors of the Mount Pleasant Free Press. When his partner moved in 1877, Throop assumed editorial control. Returning to the hardware trade in 1881, he placed the paper under the editorial control of his uncle and cousin. The following year, Throop became the sole owner of the Free Press. Disposing of the hardware store in 1885, he again assumed the management of the newspaper office, with D.D.W.C. Throop continuing with him as editor.

The records of James A. Throop consist of two manuscript volumes. The first is a "Journal" kept by James A. Throop which records hardware accounts from 1860 to 1864. In the back of this volume are recipes recorded by Bessie Throop and dated 1897. The second volume is titled Loyal Union League Henry County, Iowa, 1863 -- 1864. Books and Records - James A. Throop Elected Secty Jan. 7, 1864 Last Record Nov. 4, 1864. This record book contains such material as bylaws, minutes of meetings, a list of members, etc., for this Union League in Mount Pleasant, Iowa.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Journal. Hardware accounts, 1860-1864, James A. Throop, also contains: Recipes, 1897, Bessie Throop
  • Loyal Union League Henry County, Iowa, 1863-1864. Books and Recordsby James A. Throop - 1863-1864