Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Rudolph M. Evans Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1844-1956
Creator: Evans, Rudolph M. (1890-1956)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0074
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Special assistant to Sec. of Agriculture, administrator of the Agriculture Adjustment Administration, Governor of Federal Reserve System, Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate from Iowa. Correspondence, reports, speeches, appointment books, scrapbooks, and photos.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 1 and 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Mrs. R. M. Evans.

Preferred Citation: R.M. Evans Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Chronological Timeline
 
Rudolph Martin Evans
 
1890 born
 
1936 Special assistant to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
 
1938 Administrator of the Agricultural Adjustment Administration
 
1942 Governor of the Federal Reserve System
 
1954 Ended term as governor of Federal Reserve System
 
1956 Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate from Iowa
 
1956 died.

This collections consists of texts for speeches, reports, press releases, appointment books, correspondence, albums of photographs, and scrapbooks of newspaper clippings. The scrapbooks have been removed from the sequence of item numbers and moved to the end of the collection.
Evans, Rudolph Martin. The reminiscences of R. M. Evans. [Glen Rock, N.J., Microfilming Corp. of America], c1972. MAIN MEDIA SERVICES Micro fiche 254

Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882 -- 1945. Letter to Rudolph M. Evans. Washington, D.C. 1943 February 5. Concerning his appointing Mr. Evans to a committee to consider cases of subversive activity on the part of Federal employees. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department Pres/Letters

Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1900 -- 1965. Letter to [R.M. Evans]. On verso is an ALS from Evans to Stevenson concerning the cut in farm prices, the importance of a Democratic victory in 1956, and requesting Evans' support at the convention. SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department MsL S847 e.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 3: ITEM UNACCOUNTED FOR

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • U. S. Department of Agriculture. "On the set of "Farmers and Defense." USDA Studio, August 4. Book of Photographs - 1941
  • Unidentified book of photographs. Photographs include one of Henry Wallace and Franklin D. Roosevelt and many autographed photos addressed to Evans, apparently while he was Administrator of the AAA.
  • Unidentified book of photographs. Photographs include Henry Wallace, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and many others. Apparently compiled while Evans was administrator of the AAA.
  • Unidentified book of photographs. Apparently U.S.D.A. photographs in connection with the early war effort of the United States.
  • Box 2:
  • R.M. Evans. Articles and statements. - 1943-1953
  • Items Labeled 21-38
  • J.L. Boatman. Letter to Evans. December 5 - 1934
  • James W. Hook. Carbon of letter to Mr. George H. Houston, mentioning Evans and also opposing farm policies of Henry Wallace. 27 November - 1934
  • R.M. Evans. Radio address over WHO. 24 January - 1935
  • R.M. Evans. Radio address over WHO. 31 January - 1935
  • R.M. Evans. Address, livestock situation. 5 December - 1935
  • R.M. Evans. AAA program. - 1935
  • R.M. Evans. Address about soil conservation.
  • R.M. Evans. Address over WOI. 26 February. Ray Murray. Letter to Evans concerning the above address. 27 February - 1936
  • R.M. Evans and R.K. Bliss. Radio dialogue, WOI. 4 April - 1936
  • R.M. Evans. Address before the Western Grain and Feed Dealers Convention, Sioux City, Iowa. 22 April - 1936
  • R.M. Evans. Report to the National Emergency Council. 27 April - 1935
  • R.M. Evans. Report to the National Emergency Council. 26 April (penciled notation on front page, "corrected for Year Book") - 1936
  • R.M. Evans. Talk over WHO. 5 May - 1936
  • Unknown author. Appears to be a candidate for the US Senate. 20 May - 1936
  • R.M. Evans. Address before the Western Grain and Feed Dealers Convention. Sioux City, Iowa. 22 April - 1936
  • R. M. Evans. Letter and reply about including enclosed material in the Iowa Agricultural Yearbook. 26 May - 1936
  • R. M. Evans. Speech in substitution for Governor Herring's weekly address. 6 June - 1935
  • County map of Iowa. Summary of construction activity. - 1934, 1935
  • Items Labeled 39-54
  • H. A. Wallace. Memorandum designating Evans as Administrator of the AAA. 6 October - 1938
  • Sparta Ishmaelite, Sparta, Georgia. Copy of old letter written in 1844 with suggestions for reducing the production of cotton. 3 November - 1938
  • Louis C. Nolan. Memorandum concerning Alexander Hamilton's statements concerning the farmer and the tariff. 3 November - 1938
  • R. M. Evans. Trips performed by R. M. Evans. - 1938-1941
  • H. A. Wallace. Memorandum appointing Evans to the Board.
  • E. Westman. Letter about an appointment with the President of the U. S. 8 February - 1939
  • R. M. Evans. Appointment as a director of the Federal Surplus Commodities Corporation. 4 January - 1940
  • H. A. Wallace. Appointment of Evans as Chairman of the Crop Insurance Board. 22 March - 1940
  • Claude R. Wickard. Evans to continue to serve as member of the Board of Directors of the Farmers' Home Corporation. 8 February - 1941
  • Pages from the diary of a Ministry of Food Observer. - 1941
  • Claude R. Wickard, Authorization for Evans to travel to England, France, Spain, and Portugal to obtain information about food problems from the Food Ministry and of the unoccupied countries of Europe. 30 July - 1941
  • U. S. Dept. of Agriculture. Press release: Appleby and Evans to visit Great Britain. 6 August - 1941
  • R. M. Evans. Note and enclosure of RAF propaganda for the Germans along with a translation of the propaganda. Propaganda dated 12 August - 1941
  • R. M. Evans. Photograph of Evans with an unidentified person in the doorway of the American embassy, London. 24 August - 1941
  • Royal Fountain Hotel. Canterbury. Brochure. Note on verso of cover by Evans. 24 August - 1941
  • R. M. Evans. Papers concerning trip to England. (9 pieces) - 1941
  • R. M. Evans. Story of his trip to England. Includes report, diary, and other memoranda. (20 pieces) - 1941
  • Items Labeled 56-66
  • R. M. Evans. Address: the AAA in a post-war world. 28 November - 1941
  • R. M. Evans. Reorganization memorandum. 17 January - 1942
  • Congressional Record. Torn page 2173 with red mark on page 2174 indicating the confirmation of R. M. Evans to be a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. 9 March - 1942
  • Photocopy. Franklin D. Roosevelt. Nomination of R. M. Evans to Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System. 1 February - 1940
  • R. M. Evans. Farewell letter to staff. 18 March - 1942
  • Agricultural Liaison Officer. Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries. To Evans thanking him for a tin of tobacco. 28 April - 1942
  • R. M. Evans and Capt. Cleveland Fyfe. Exchange of letters generally supporting agricultural cooperation between England and the United States after the war. 19 May - 1942
  • R. M. Evans. Address: the future of agriculture in a world of peace. Grinnell, Iowa. 20 June - 1942
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt. Appointment of Evans as a member of the interdepartmental committee to consider cases of subversive activity among Federal employees. 5 February. Copy of letter, original in presidential letter collection. - 1943
  • R. M. Evans. Letter of acceptance by Evans to the Interdepartmental Committee and the report of a conversation Attorney-General Biddle. 8 February - 1943
  • Interdepartmental Committee. Material dealing with the functioning of this committee. February - 1943
  • Items Labeled 67-72
  • Department of State. Letter authorizing Evans as a delegate to the United Nations Conference on Food and Agriculture. 8 May - 1943
  • R. M. Evans. Address: Conference On Food and Agriculture Offers Hope for Farmers. 31 May - 1943
  • United Nations Conference on Food and Agriculture. Summation of the results of the conference by the Secretary-General. 3 June - 1943
  • R. M. Evans. Economic results of conservation. 17 November - 1943
  • R. M. Evans. Letter to Herbert E. Gaston, Assistant Secretary of Treasury. 18 June - 1945
  • Committee on Subversives. Carbon of proposed report with penciled notations. Not dated, presumably linked with letter above.
  • Items Labeled 73-92
  • R. M. Evans. Activities as Red Cross Blood Donor Committee Chairman. Letters: December 6; 7 September; 20 September; 5 October - 1941, 1945
  • Member of the House of Lords (signature illegible). Note about Federal Reserve Board Statement on the loan to Britain. 21 March - 1946
  • N. E. Dodd, Under Secretary of Agriculture. Letter to Evans with revised article on agriculture which Evans wrote. USDA seems to have revised the article. 10 June - 1946
  • Herbert E. Gaston, Chairman, Interdepartmental Committee on Employee Investigations, Department of Justice, Washington, DC Covering letter and two reports of the Interdepartmental Committee on Employee Investigations. 3 December - 1946
  • P. G. Watterson, Chief, Budget and Finance Section, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Covering letter and enclosure exempting the Food and Agriculture Organization from U. S. income tax. 25 February - 1947
  • Herbert E. Gaston. Cover letter and a copy of statement which Gaston made to the President's Temporary Commission on Employee Loyalty. 4 March - 1947
  • R. M. Evans. Letter to Gaston about the receipt of the photostat of the letter from President Truman terminating the Interdepartmental Committee on Employee Investigations. 7 April - 1947
  • Mrs. Jerry Greene. Letter concerning possible radio speech by Evans supporting the fund raising campaign of the Red Cross. 30 March. (also 9 February letter) - 1949
  • R. M. Evans. Regulation W. -- Its role in economic stability. 30 March - 1949
  • Nita S. Russell, Director of Recruitment, Washington Regional Blood Center. 23 June - 1949
  • R. M. Evans, Statement about proposed changes and analysis of weaknesses in the Federal Reserve System. Apparently statement addressed to Chairman Martin (House Martin?). 2 April - 1952
  • R. M. Evans, Memorandum re: bank holding company legislation. 22 January - 1953
  • R. M. Evans (dictated this according to pencil note). Bank Holding, penciled title. May - 1953
  • R. M. Evans, "Statement by Governor R. M. Evans of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System regarding Bank Holding Company Legislation." 8 June - 1953
  • R. M. Evans. "Remarks by R. M. Evans. Member. Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at meeting of Farmers Grain Dealers Association of Iowa, Des Moines, Iowa." January 25 - 1954
  • R. M. Evans. "Farm Policies, remarks by R. M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at meeting of National Farm Institute, Des Moines, Iowa." February 20 - 1954
  • R. M. Evans. Correspondence by and to Mr. E. Howard Hill, President, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Farm Bureau Building, Des Moines 9, Iowa. 25 March - 1954
  • Frank W. Hussey, President, Nation Council of Farmer Cooperatives, Washington, D. C. 16 April - 1954
  • R. M. Evans. "The Independent Bank and Capitalism" before the Convention of the Independent Bankers Association, Sheraton-Cadillac Hotel, Detroit, Michigan. 30 April - 1954
  • The National Council of the National Planning Association. Directory of Membership. March - 1956
  • Items Labeled 93-103
  • American National Red Cross. Citation, letter, ticket of admission. - 1946
  • Censorship Bermuda. Stamped envelope issued by Pan Americans Airways Company for use with censoring material of persons entering the United Kingdom. Presumed this was in connection with his trip to England before the U. S. entered World War II.
  • United Nations Conference on Food and Agriculture. Officers of the conference, members of the delegations, officers of the secretariat. May -- June - 1943
  • R. M. Evans. Probably a note to himself of persons to visit, if he should make another trip as Governor of the Federal Reserve System. Undated
  • Banquet Nationale de Belgique. Invitations to R. M. Evans. Undated issuing
  • Calling cards. Apparently cards presented to R. M. Evans on various occasions. Undated
  • Photographs. "Rome -- 10/51, F.A.O." - 1951
  • Photograph "Holback Slot Ladegaard Holback Denmark." Undated
  • The Evening Star, Washington, D. C. Clipping, "FAO Delegates leave Rome with plans for raising world's diet." 7 December - 1951
  • Donato Menichella. Benca D'Italia. 28 October - 1951
  • U. S. Department of Agriculture. "Corn-hog reduction contract." Undated
  • Photographs with a note from Ralph Moyer. Miscellany
  • Conference Internationale Du Credit. October - 1951
  • H. L. Dietrich, Member, Iowa Agricultural Conservation Committee, Brooklyn, Iowa. "The A.A.A. in Iowa." August - 1940
  • Miscellaneous materials. These should be looked through by anyone using the papers. However, they do not bear enough identification to be listed as items in the inventory.
  • Record of activities in the Department of Agriculture - 1933-1942
  • Transamerica Case
  • Box 3:
  • Items Labeled 108-136
  • Adlai E. Stevenson, letter to R.M. Evans after presidential primaries. 20 June. Verso has undated, unsigned handwritten note, presumably Evan's draft reply to Stevenson. - 1956
  • Adlai E. Stevenson. Letter to R. M. Evans during '56 campaign. 23 August - 1956
  • Beth Short, Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee. Telegram to R. M. Evans about arranging meeting with Senator Humphrey. 24 August - 1956
  • Nancy Williams (wife of G. Mennen Williams, Governor of Michigan). Letter to R.M. Evans. 4 September - 1956
  • Hubert H. Humphrey. Letter to R.M. Evans during '56 campaign. 17 September - 1956
  • Estes Kefauver. Letter to R. M. Evans during campaign of '56. 17 October - 1956
  • Adlai F. Stevenson. Telegram to R.M. Evans during campaign of '56, 18 October. Verso has some undated, unsigned notes, probably by R. M. Evans. - 1956
  • Bob Connet and Bob Wilson. Telegram to R. M. Evans. 5 November - 1956
  • Estes Kefauver. Telegram to R.M. Evans on eve of election. 5 November. Verso has unsigned note, dated "11/8/56" to "Estes." - 1956
  • Estes Kefauver. Telegram to R.M. Evans on eve of election. 6 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: "Jack" (probably S. J. Galvin ). 7 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Edward A. McDermott. 7 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Paul M. Butler, chairman, Democratic National Committee. Telegram. 8 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Averell Harriman. Telegram. 8 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: "Leonard". (Possibly Leonard Townsend.) 8 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Arthur Sanford. Telegram to Evans. 8 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Robert M. Moore. 8 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Mrs. Joseph (Beth) Short. 9 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Otha D. Wearin. 9 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: George Smathers (U. S. Senator). 9 November. (Chairman of Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee) - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: "Estes" (Kefauver). Penned note at bottom of typed letter. 10 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Carl Hamilton, editor, Iowa Falls Citizen. Letter to Evans after defeat. 12 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Wesley McCune. 13 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: G. Mennen Williams. 14 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Frank W. Hussey. 14 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Helen Walker, Secretary of Young Democrats of Pottawattamie County. 15 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: R.J. Quackenbush, Meneough, Martin & Seymour, Inc. 16 November - 1956
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: "Elliott". (From office of Chairman of Board of Governors of Federal Reserve System). Undated
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: James R. Heyer. Undated
  • Items Labeled 137-168
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Albert C. Agnew, attorney. Letter to R.M. Evans concerning his resignation from Federal Reserve System, Board of Governors. 21 May - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret on Loss of Election: Chester Morrill, letter to R. M. Evans. 23 May - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Marvin Jones, U.S. Court of Claims, Chief Judge, Washington, D. C. 27 May - 1954
    (All of the following items in this box are letters to Even expressing regret that he is resigning, except #140)
  • Daniel W. Bell, chairman of Washington, DC, Chapter of American Red Cross. Letter to R.M. Evans in reply to his resignation from Board of Directors of that organization. 1 June - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Cecil E. Earhart, President, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco. 30 July - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Lowell Myrick. 4 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: "Bill" (from office of Chairman, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System.) 6 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: "Al", Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia. 13 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: "Hop", President, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. 13 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Watrous H. Irons, President, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas. 16 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: "Malcolm" (from office of President Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta). 16 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Harold D. Hodgkinson, Chairman, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston. 16 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Oliver S. Powell, President, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis. 18 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: A.H. (Harry) Brawner, Chairman of Board, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco. 18 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Joseph A. (Lief) Erickson, President, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston. 18 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: J. R. Parten, Chairman of the Board, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas. 18 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: John S. Coleman, Burroughs Corporation (Detroit). 19 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: William J. Mainel, Chairman of Board, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia. 23 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: H. Garvin Leedy, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City. 26 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Wilbur D. Fulton, President, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland. 31 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Raymond W. Hall, Chairman of the Board, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City. 31 August - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: J.B. Woodward, Jr., Chairman of the Board, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. 15 September - 1954
  • Letter to Evans Expressing Regret That He is Resigning: Robert D. Fleming, President and Chairman of the Board, The Riggs National Bank of Washington, DC 8 November - 1954
  • "Porter." Letter to R.M. Evans concerning his decision to run for the Senate from Iowa. Dated Fairfax, Virginia, 23 January - 1955
  • James Louis Robertson, member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System. Letter to R.M. Evans expressing regret at his resignation from Board. 15 February - 1955
  • Merriner S. Eccles, Chairman of the Board, First Security Corporation, Salt Lake City, Utah. Letter to R.M. Evans concerning his decision to run for the Senate. 11 January. Verso has unsigned, undated handwritten note in reply, probably by Evans - 1956
  • H.G. Hershey, Chairman, Iowa Natural Resources Council, Des Moines. Letter to R.M. Evans concerning his decision to run for the Senate. 26 January - 1956
  • Roy F. Hendrickson, Executive Secretary of National Federation of Grain Cooperatives. Letter to R.M. Evans on farm problems. 3 February. Verso of page 2 has unsigned, handwritten reply, probably by Evans, dated February 14 - 1956
  • E. Howard Hill, President of Iowa Farm Bureau Federation. Letter to R.M. Evans on farm problems. 7 February - 1956
  • H.G. Hershey. Letter to R.M. Evans, 23 February. Handwritten reply on bottom of page and continued on back, dated February 24. Unsigned but probably by R.M. Evans. - 1956
  • C.R. Elder, Director of Information Service, Iowa State College, Ames, Iowa. Letter to R.M. Evans concerning equal broadcast time. 8 March - 1956
  • Jane Alexander, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation. Letter to R.M. Evans. 18 June - 1956
  • Items Labeled 169-201
  • R.M. Evans. "The Future of Agriculture in a World of Peace." Address before the Institute of International Relations at Grinnell, Iowa, Friday, June 19 - 1942
  • R.M. Evans. "Agriculture in the Postwar World," (by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, Washington, DC). Penciled note at bottom of page 1: "For Wallace's Farmer" - 1943
  • R.M. Evans. "Plans for International Currency Stabilization" (by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, Washington, DC). Penciled note at bottom of p.1: "Appeared in Des Moines Register October" - 1943
  • R.M. Evans. "Beef Cattle Situation" (by R.M. Evans, Member of Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, Washington, DC). November 4 - 1943
  • Copy of above
  • R.M. Evans. "Danger of Inflation in Farm Land Values," (article for "Anti-Inflation Bulletin" written by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C.). Dated in pencil, January 29 - 1944
  • R.M. Evans. "Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Statement of Governor R.M. Evans before Senate Banking and Currency Committee on Regulation of Consumer Installment Credit." 24 November. Mimeographed copy. - 1947
  • Printed copy of above.
  • R.M. Evans. "Conservation and Credit," by R.M. Evans, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C. Reprint from unidentified source. Pencil note date, "Denver -- September 10" - 1948
  • R.M. Evans. "The Perpetual Farm Problem." (An abstract of an address to be delivered by R. M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors Federal Reserve System, at the meeting of the Westcentral Cooperative Grain Company at Omaha, Nebraska, on October 18 - 1948
  • R. M. Evans. "Regulation W -- Its Role in Economic Stability," by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors of Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C. Remarks before the Consumer Installment Credit Conference, American Bankers Association, St. Louis, Missouri, on March 30 - 1949
  • R.M. Evans. "Consumer Credit Regulation in a Garrison Economy." An address by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at a meeting of the Tri-State Convention, Atlantic City, New Jersey, at 10:15 a.m., October 13 - 1950
  • R.M. Evans. "The Bankers' Interest in Fighting the High Cost of Living." (Remarks by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at meeting of National Installment Credit Conference, ABA) Chicago, Illinois, on March 12 - 1951
  • R.M. Evans. "Monetary Policy and Food Production." Remarks by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at a meeting of the National Farm Institute, Des Moines, Iowa, February 15, 7 p.m. C.S.T. - 1952
  • R.M. Evans. "America's Stake in the Independent Bank" Remarks of R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at the annual Independent Bankers Breakfast, 8:00 a.m., Mayflower Hotel, Washington, D.C., September 21 - 1953
  • R.M. Evans. "Remarks by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at meeting of Farmers Grain Dealers Association of Iowa, Des Moines, Iowa, January 25 - 1954
  • R.M. Evans. "Farm Policies." Remarks by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, at meeting of National Farm Institute, Des Moines, Iowa. 20 February. Original copy of speech. - 1954
  • Mimeographed copies of above
  • R.M. Evans. "The Independent Bank and Capitalism." Address by R.M. Evans, Member, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System, before the Convention of The Independent Bankers Association, Sheraton-Cadillac Hotel, Detroit, Michigan, April 30 - 1954
  • R.M. Evans. "The Farmer in a Prosperous Economy." Undated speech.
  • R.M. Evans. "Foreign Aid." Remarks for a recorded campaign speech - 1956
  • Copy of above.
  • R.M. Evans. Remarks for a recorded campaign speech - 1956
  • Copy of above.
  • R.M. Evans. "Flexible Supports." Remarks for a recorded campaign speech - 1956
  • Copy of above.
  • R.M. Evans. "Editorial for Waterloo Daily Courier by R.M. 'Spike' Evans, Arnolds Park, Iowa," Senate campaign article - 1956
  • Copy of above.
  • R.M. Evans. Miscellaneous page of agriculture statistics. Undated
  • Appointment books - 1942-1947
  • Box 4:
  • Appointment books - 1948-1954
  • Series 2: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 5:
  • R.M. Evans, Speeches - 1942-1948
  • R.M. Evans. Speeches - 1949-1954
  • Box 6:
  • R.M. Evans. Speeches - 1938-1939
  • R.M. Evans. Speeches - 1940
  • Box 7:
  • 17: R.M. Evans. Speeches - 1941-1942
  • On shelf:
  • R.M. Evans. Scrapbook. Clippings - 1933-1936
  • R.M. Evans. Scrapbook. Clippings - 1936-1943
  • R.M. Evans. Scrapbook. Clippings about the Transamerica case
  • R.M. Evans. Scrapbook. Clippings - 1942-1954
  • Series 3: ITEM UNACCOUNTED FOR
  • Report of the Administrator of the Agricultural Adjustment Administration. This has a "Confidential" note pasted on the front cover. - 1941

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.