Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lot Abraham Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1842-1921
Creator: Abraham, Lot (1838-1920)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: MSC0073
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence, Civil War diaries, military records, business papers, family papers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The papers of Lot Abraham were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by his son, Frank P. Abraham, in 1962.

Preferred Citation: Lot Abraham Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Lot Abraham ([April 18?]1838-1920) was born in Ohio. He moved to Iowa with his parents in 1841. Abraham was engaged in farming near Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, when he enlisted to serve in the Civil War. He joined the 4th Iowa Cavalry on November 25, 1861. On July 1, 1862, he received a commission and by 1863 had risen to the rank of captain. He returned to Mt. Pleasant after his discharge in 1865. He married Sarah Alden (1841-1888) shortly after his return from the war. Abraham led an active public life, having been a state senator, the Commander of the Iowa Grand Army of the Republic, and a delegate to the Farmers' National Congress.

The papers of Lot Abraham consist of one linear foot of manuscripts dating from 1843-1921. The papers are primarily concerned with his service in the 4th Iowa Cavalry during the Civil War. Included are his diaries and military records such as muster rolls, army purchase records, parole lists, etc. Other subject files relate to his civilian life as a farmer and Iowa State senator. There are business papers, family records, and correspondence, as well as diaries kept by both Lot Abraham and his wife Sarah.

One of the diaries is digizited and can be viewed at the Iowa Digital Library.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biography of Laura Nevada Wright Kitchen, by Mary Abraham Wright
  • Certificate. Lot Abraham, 1887-1921
  • Church membership: M.E. Church, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa - 1879
  • Clothing records - U.S. Army - 1863-1864
    2 folio sheets
  • Contracts and mortgages. Lot Abraham - 1878-1887
  • Copy book - 1884
  • Correspondence, - 1865-1914
  • Department Commander of Iowa G.A.R. - 1910
  • Descriptive roll of company, U.S. Army (bound volume) - 1862-1865
    1 thin ledger, 32 leaves including song lyrics pasted to the insides of the front and back covers
  • Diaries of Lot Abraham: typescript - 1862-1864
    May 11, 1862-June25, 1864
  • Diary of Lot Abrahamm March-February - 1858-1861
    Gift of William J. Griffing.
  • Diaries of Lot Abraham - 1863-1864
    Two volumes: Volume 1. June 3, 1863-August 31, 1864; Volume 2. January 1, 1864-December 31, 1864
  • Diaries of Lot Abraham - 1906-1910
    Two volumes, with the year noted, but rarely the date: Volume 1. 1906, 1907; Volume 2. 1910, 1911
  • Diaries of Lot Abraham: digitized
  • Diaries: Lot Abraham, Sarah Alden Abraham, and Kate Abraham Bourne - 1865-1921
    January 1865-February 1921
  • Diaries: Sarah C. Alden Abraham (first wife of Lot Abraham) - 1864-1881
    Marcy 9, 1864-January 27, 1881
  • Box 2:
  • Discharge and commendation, U.S. Army. Lot Abraham - 1862, 1865
  • Engraving of John W. Noble
  • Essay about Lot Abraham
  • Estate of John Abraham - 1843
  • "Famous Battle Grounds of the United States"
  • Genealogy: "The Spearman Family" by Mrs. Geo. G. Wright
  • orders, U.S. Army - 1856
  • "History of the Good Samaritan Society of Pleasant Hill Community," by Mrs. Geo. G. Wright
  • Horse appraisals and purchases, U.S. Army - 1865
  • Insurance policy: Lot Abraham - 1877
  • Inventory of effects of deceased soldiers, U.S. Army: Lt. E.T.Corner - 1862
  • Jack or 'Old One Eye'"
  • Map: G.C. Van Allen, Henry County, Iowa, survey - 1864
  • Marriage vows and certificate - 1880
  • Muster rolls, U.S. Army - 1864-1865
  • Newspaper clippings, 1861, 1954, 1962, 1990and undated - 1861, 1954,1962
  • Obituary: Lot Abraham - 1920
  • Parole list, U.S. Army (bound volume)
  • Parole oath, U.S. Army: W.H. Matlock - 1865
  • Portrait of Lot Abraham taken as Grand Army of the Republic state commander, engraving
  • Portrait of U.S. Grant, engraving
  • Press release concerning acquisition of the diaries and other materials of Abraham
  • Railroad complimentary passes: Lot Abraham - 1883-1884
  • Receipts - 1864-1965
  • Senate roll call: Iowa
  • Song lyrics by W.P. Gornshill? - 1852
  • Statements of loss of supplies and stores, U.S. Army - 1864
  • Speech for Farmers' Institute at Oxford, Ohio: Lot Abraham - 1898
  • Box 3:
  • Ledger book. Farm records, 1873-1911
    Includes hand-drawn maps of Elmwood Farm, with the crops grown and, in some cases, the yield.