Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Albert Foster Dawson Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1904-1942
Creator: Dawson, Albert Foster (1872-1949)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0067
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. Representative from Iowa and businessman. Speeches on various topics.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1958 by Mrs. Laurence L. Howe.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Albert Foster Dawson, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Albert Foster Dawson was born in Spragueville, Iowa, on January 26, 1872. Educated at the University of Wisconsin, he later studied finance at George Washington University in Washington, D.C. Dawson began his career as a newspaperman. From 1895-1905 he worked as a secretary to Representative George M. Curtis and Senator William B. Allison. Dawson was elected as Republican to the Fifty-ninth, Sixtieth, and Sixty-first Congresses (1905-1911). He did not choose to run for a fourth term and declined an appointment as private secretary to President William H. Taft. Instead, he returned to Iowa and became president of Davenport's First National Bank. In 1930, he was the executive secretary of the Republican National Senatorial Committee. The following year he became an executive working with public utilities. He retired from business in 1945. Albert Foster Dawson died on March 9, 1949.

The papers of Albert Foster Dawson consist primarily of speeches, on various subjects, delivered during his career. This small collection (1/2 linear foot) dates from 1904 to 1942. It also contains copies of three bills introduced by Dawson, and a reprint of an article about Cincinnati that he co-authored with L. Thomas Rainey.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Bills, 59th Congress - 1905-1906
  • Bills, 60th Congress - 1907-1908
  • Bills, 61st Congress - 1909-1910
  • "Cincinnati's Great Part in the Northwest Territory" by L. Thomas Rainey and Albert F. Dawson. - 1937
    Reprint from the Cincinnati Times Star, December 7-21, 1937
  • Speeches - 1904-1909
  • Speeches - 1910-1919
  • Speeches - 1920-1929
  • Speeches - 1930-1942
  • Undated Speeches

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Occupations:
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches