Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Albert A. Couch Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1951
Creator: Couch, Albert A.
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0065
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Labor leader. Correspondence, reports, and clippings relating to a proposed hydroelectric dam at Moscow, Iowa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Mr. Couch gave this small collection of papers to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1958.

Preferred Citation: Albert A. Couch Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Albert A. Couch was president of the AFL's Iowa State Federation of Labor.

The papers of Albert A. Couch date from 1940 to 1951 and consist of approximately 100 items of correspondence, reports, and clippings relating to a proposed hydroelectric dam at Moscow, Iowa, and the establishment of Iowas Hydroelectric Cooperative. The correspondence includes letters from: William Beardsley, Guy M. Gillette, Jake More, and Burton K. Wheeler.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence and clippings. Regarding the A.A. Couch and C.F. Brannan controversy - 1950
  • Correspondence and reports. Regarding Iowas Hydroelectric Cooperative, political appointments, etc.
  • Correspondence and reports. Including letters from Guy M. Gillette and Burton K. Wheeler - 1940-1942
  • Correspondence and reports - 1943
  • Correspondence and reports. Including letters from William Beardsley and Jake More - 1947-1951
  • Exhibits used in the Power Commissions hearings for the Iowa Hydroelectric Cooperative

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Topics:
Dams
Hydroelectric power plants
Labor unions

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa -- Moscow