Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Batchelder Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1847-1976
Creator: Batchelder Family (1822-)
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0064
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Papers of Reverend Joseph Mayo Batchelder and his wife. Included are about 50 letters, written in the 1840s and 1850s mostly from Peoria, Illinois and Owego, New York; an account book dated from 1848-1884; and a diary dated from 1847-1848. Manuscript sermons, and other items.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Oversized folder

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Jean Bonar of Fairfield, Iowa, in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Batchelder Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Joseph Mayo Batchelder, born 1822, was raised by his father, Joseph, and stepmother, Rachel Stone. He was a Presbyterian minister, having graduated from Princeton's Theological Seminary in 1855. Batchelder first served as pastor in Albia, Iowa (1856-1878). During part of this time, he was also state clerk of the Des Moines Presbytery for seventeen years. The majority of his ministry was spent in Osborne, Kansas, where he moved in 1878 to later form the First Presbyterian Church there.
 
In 1855, Batchelder married Harriet Frances Gearhart. They had one son (d. 1864) and four daughters: Mary, Lillian ("Harriet's Daughter," "Harriet's Second") Mina, and Annie. Lillian married Joseph Donahue Bonar in 1859. They had one daughter, Jean Bonar, this collection's donor.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Batchelder children school notes and notebooks - 1879-1888
    5 items
  • Joseph M. Batchelder notebooks, some undated - 1844-1897
    14 items
  • Joseph M. Batchelder sermons, lectures, etc., including undated - 1862-1895
    57 items
  • Jean Bonar. "Harriets Daughter" - 1953
  • Jean Bonar. Recollections - 1975
  • Jean Bonar. "To Harriet" - 1976
  • Lillian Frances Batchelder Bonar. "Harriet's Second" - 1945
  • Compositions written by the Batchelder daughters - 1875
    14 items
  • Box 2:
  • Batchelder family correspondence - 1844-1895
    58 items
  • Bonar corresppondence - 1902-1956
    9 items
  • Harriet Gearhart Batchelder diary - 1847-1848
  • Photographs of Joseph M. Batchelder and Kate I. Jones
    2 items
  • Printed materials for Presbyterian churches - 1866-1951
    26 ite,s
  • Stone, William L., II. The Stone Family - 1888
    1 item
  • Box 3:
  • Oversized folder
  • Photograph of Presbyterian Generall Assembly - 1883
  • Certificate of Contribution, Five Million Memorial Fund - 1871

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Batchelder, Joseph Mayo, 1822-
Gearhart, Harriet Frances

Topics:
Presbyterian Church

Occupations:
Clergy

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Correspondence
Diaries
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Sermons

Family Names:
Batchelor family
Bonner family

Browse:
Clergy and the Church