Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Elmer Bockes Diaries

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1893-1940
Creator: Bockes, Elmer
Extent: 1.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0063
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Farmer. Diaries describing farm life near Conrad, in Grundy Co.,Iowa .

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa by Florence A. Draper in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Elmer Bockes Diaries, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The Bockes collection consists of forty-seven one-year diaries of Elmer Bockes and Russell Bockes, farmers near Conrad, Iowa. According to his daughter, "He didn't always put down the temperature, but what they did every day.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DIARIES

  • Series 1: DIARIES
  • Box 1:
  • Diaries of Elmer Bockes (22 items) - 1893-1914
  • Box 2:
  • Diaries of Elmer Bockes (16 items) - 1915-1930
  • Box 3:
  • Diaries of Elmer Bockes (10 items) - 1931-1940
  • Diaries of Russell Bockes (5 items) - 1915; 1933-1935

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bockes, Elmer
Bockes, Russell

Topics:
Country life

Occupations:
Farmers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Grundy County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Diaries
Sources