Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Thomas E. Corkhill Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1868-1874
Creator: Corkhill, Thomas E. (1822-)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0060
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Methodist minister and moving force behind the organization of schools at Eldora and Mitchellville. Included are certificates of Corkhill's appointment of trustee of Iowa Reform School and an account book relating to his expenses as trustee as well as a holograph commonplace book containing the text of a diary of his experience in the Civil War, commissioned by Governor Samuel Kirkwood. This diary also contains poems and clippings. Also included is a CD of a transcription of the diary, plus a commentary on the text of over 150 pages, including background information and photographs.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Thomas E. Corkhill Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Typewritten biography of Thomas E. Corkhill
  • Corkhill's Iowa Reform School ledger accounts and auditing report by Isaac T. Gibson signed by school president J.S. Parvin - 1868-1874
  • Corkhill's certificate of appointment as Trustee of the Iowa Reform School signed by Governor of Iowa Samuel Merrill
  • Corkhill's certificate of appointment as trustee of Iowa Reform School signed by Governor John H. Gear, May 2 - 1878
  • Land grant of 40 acres to Ford Barnes, Fairfield, Iowa District--Millard Fillmore, September 1 - 1851
  • Land grant of 40 acres to Sally Christy (widow of John Christy)--Franklin Pierce, October 2 - 1854
  • Reprint from Oskaloosa Daily Herald by Col. Swalm, entitled “The Iowa Industrial School – The Boy-Saver and Man-Maker of the Reformatory Systems," October 26 - 1895
  • Holograph diary commissioned by Gov. Samuel Kirkwood including lists of wounded in the Battle of Chickasaw Bayou and the Battle of Arkansas Post, and visit to the Army of the Potomac - 1863-1895
  • CD of holographic diary minus extraneous material and with commentary by Michael H. Graham, Apr. - 2009
  • Map Case:
  • Vicksburg Daily Citizen with wallpaper backing, October 2 - 1863

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Corkhill, Thomas E.

Topics:
Methodist Church
Reformatories

Occupations:
Clergy
Teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Biographies
Certificates
Land grants
Ledgers (Account books)
Reprints
Sources
Typescripts

Browse:
Clergy and the Church