Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George W. Strong Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1908
Creator: Strong, George W. (1833-)
Extent: 3.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0057
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Correspondence to and from the Second Lieutenant.

Alternate Extent Statement: Film/Video: Negative microfilm in Main Media

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Harry J. Strong.

Preferred Citation: George W. Strong Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

George W. Strong was born in Oswego, New York near the year 1833. He worked as a farm laborer, a lumber man and a sailor, and as of 1861 was in Michigan. That year, he enlisted as a drum major in the Fifteenth Michigan Infantry Volunteers, where he attained the position of second lieutenant in Company F. In 1863, he went to the First West Tennessee Infantry of African descent as captain of Company H. He served in this company until 1864, when he was discovered to be involved in fradulent practices in the enlistment of African American soldiers. Before he could be arrested, he deserted his company and regiment and escaped. He was never captured, but documents in this collection indicate that he likely cleared his legal difficulties and enlisted in the Iowa Volunteers in 1866.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Miscellaneous Army Items
  • Special Orders, No. 123, to report to Capt. E. Boulon to assist in organizing a regiment of colored men, May 16 - 1863
  • Quarterly Return of Ordnance and Ordnance Stores, Company H, 59th Infantry, December 31 - 1863
  • Invoice of Stores, February 5 - 1864
  • Statement of Charges, Voucher No. 2, February 27 - 1864
  • Abstract of Materials (expenditures), February - 1864
  • Inventory of the effects of Thomas Frazier who died of smallpox at the General Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee, March 24 - 1864
  • Inventory, March 31 - 1864
  • Envelope, April 12 - 1864
  • Camp equipage and envelope; Roll no. 2, June 10 - 1864
  • Camp equipage; Roll no. 3, June 30 - 1864
  • Clothing invoice; invoice no. 1, August 1 - 1864
  • Clothing receipt no. 1, August 2 - 1864
  • Garrison equipage list, August 2 - 1864
  • Camp equipage list, December 10 - 1864
  • Equipage receipt, September 10 - 1864
  • Ordnance Office letter, September 28 - 1864
  • List of stores received from the Regimental Quartermaster at Memphis, Tennessee, November 20 - 1864
  • Quartermaster letter, November 28 - 1864
  • Property return: receipt for equipment from Capt. Strong to Lt. Charles J. Kelly, November 30 - 1864
  • Special Orders 220, December 9 - 1864
  • Release of Capt. Strong of indebtedness for quartermaster property, January 31 - 1865
  • Regarding whereabouts of Private Benjamin Clark, February 20 - 1865
  • Ordnance Office letter - 1865
  • List of soldiers' effects lost when taken prisoner.
  • Envelope; date unknown
  • Personal Civil War and other letters - 1863-1908
  • Copy of the Davenport Gazette, November 10 - 1868