Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Beecher Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1856-1892
Creator: Beecher Family (1856-1892)
Extent: 18.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0056
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Letters to and from several members of the Beecher family including Henry Ward Beecher, Edward W. Beecher, and Catharine Esther Beecher.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Beecher Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Beecher, Charles Emerson: ALS to James Wysax, Pennsylvania, 27 October - 1892
    Concerning his belief in the soul's pre-existence. 1p. 20.3cm
  • Beecher, Edward W.: ANS to Mr. H.S. Weld. 13 June - 1878
    Instructing an usher to seat friends in his pew. 1p. 13cm
  • Beecher, Edward W.: ALS to J.C. Derby. Jacksonville, Florida, 21 March - 1885
    Concerning Henry W. Beecher's lecture itinerary, Edward Beecher's health, and his desire to have a book of his re-published. 2p. 20.5cm
  • Beecher, Edward: ALS to an unknown recipient. Brooklyn, New York, 12 August - 1891
    Concerning the golden wedding anniversary of his sister, Isabella. 3p. 20.3cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to an unknown recipient. Brooklyn, New York, 26 December - 1856
    Recommending a person for a position. 2p. 20.3cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to Gov. Alexander Hawley. Brooklyn, New York, 6 November - 1859
    Recommending a person for a government office. 2p. 18cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to an unknown recipient. 1 November - 1861
    Recommending a Miss Ellen Raynor for a position. 1p. 20.2cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ANS to Mrs. [Patton]. Brooklyn, New York. 31 January - 1862
    Consenting to send a photograph to Mrs. Patton. 1p. 14.5cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to Mr. Woodruff. Brooklyn, New York, 27 March - 1862
    Concerning the employment of Miss Ellen Raynor. 3p. 20.8cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to Mr. Hart. 3 November - 1870
    Concerning a lecture engagement. 1p. 21.8cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to Mayor Hunter. Brooklyn, New York, 28 April - 1875
    Recommending an applicant for a position. 3p. 17.6cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to the Commissioner of Pensions. Brooklyn, New York, 6 February - 1885
    A request that a delayed soldier's pension be attended to. Also signed by five others. Soldier's request is attached. 2p. 20.5cm
  • Beecher, Henry Ward: ALS to Mr. Turner. - 1886
    Asking the recipient to attend to a horse he's sending, and to remove a portion of his house. 2p. 20.7cm
  • Beecher, Thomas Kinnicut
  • Beecher, W.C.: ALS to "My dear doctor." Brooklyn, New York, 20 December - 1885
    Sending his father's autograph and his own. 2p. 20.3cm
  • Kent, W.H.: ALS to Henry Ward Beecher. New York, 25 October - 1884
    Asking for authority for a statement Beecher made. Includes Beecher's reply. 2p. 22cm
  • Woodruff, W.W.: ANS to Philips. Philadelphia, 10 May - 1888
    Concerning the giving of the Beecher letters to the recipient and to James Green. 2p. 12cm
  • Beecher, Catharine Esther: ALS to Mr. and Mrs. William B. Spooner. Hartford, Connecticut, 20 June - 1858
    Concerning a proposed visit to the Spooners. 2p 20.6cm

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Beecher, Catharine Esther, 1800-1878
Beecher, Edward, 1803-1895
Beecher, Henry Ward, 1813-1887

Genre/Form of Materials:
Correspondence

Family Names:
Beecher family