Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Martin J. Wade Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1900-1927
Creator: Wade, Martin J. (1861-1931)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0050
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: U.S. District Court Judge and Congressman from Iowa. Scrapbooks, commentaries, and newspaper clippings concerning Wade's judicial and political careers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Judge Wade's papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1959 by his daughter Eleanor Wade.

Preferred Citation: Papers of Martin J. Wade, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Vermont native, Martin Joseph Wade (1861-1931) came to Iowa in the late 1870s. After graduating from Columbia College in Dubuque he earned his law degree from the University of Iowa in 1886. He practiced law in Iowa City until 1893 when he was appointed judge of the Eighth Judicial District. He remained on the bench until 1902, when he was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives. Upon leaving office, he helped form the law firm of Wade, Dutcher & Davis. In 1915, President Wilson appointed Wade to the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa. He was still holding this position at the time of his death. For many years, besides practicing law and serving as a district judge, he was on the law faculty at the University of Iowa, lectured and authored a number of books on the constitution and patriotism.

The papers of Martin J. Wade consist of one-half linear foot of manuscript material dating from 1900 to 1927. Three scrapbooks relating to his Congressional and Judicial careers make up the bulk of this small collection. His speeches and commentaries are included as well as newspaper clippings.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Black scrapbook no. 1. Judge Wade elected Congressman, only Democrat representing Iowa in U.S. Congress; mentioned for vice-president as running mate of Woodrow Wilson - 1912
  • Black scrapbook no 2. Appointed federal judge by Woodrow Wilson, letter dated March 11, signed "Woodrow Wilson," written on White House stationery (in Presidential Letters Collection); letter from Judge Wade to the President - 1915
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbook with mottled binder, relates appointment of Professor Wade of College of Law as Judge of Eighth Judicial District by Governor Boies of Iowa. He had previously been a successful trial attorney of the firm Ranck and Wade
  • Various public addresses given
  • Sample pages of "The Eighteenth Amendment" commentaries by Martin J. Wade, L.L.D.
  • A speech entitled "'Markets! More Markets!' Should be the Commercial and Political War Cry of the Present Hour," delivered by Hon. Martin J. Wade in the House of Representatives, February 18 - 1904
  • A booklet entitled "The Rebels, commentaries on Sacco and Vanzetti," by Martin J. Wade L.L.D., copyright 1927, published by American Citizen Publishing Company, Dubuque Iowa, and Los Angeles, California - 1927
  • Miscellaneous newspaper clippings; Judge Wade in Mt. Pleasant Gas and Electric rate case; also Espionage Case

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States. District Court (Iowa) : Southern District

Occupations:
Judges
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks