Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Edward C. Eicher Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1899-1944
Creator: Eicher, Edward C.
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0049
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer, Government official, and U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, and speeches, including material on Iowa politics and government.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photograph in Folder 8; Ephemera in Folder 8.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Edward C. Eicher Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: WRITINGS
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: SPEECHES
Series 4: CLIPPINGS
Series 5: EPHEMERA
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1: Miscellaneous class themes and essays while a student at University of Chicago
  • "The Mennonite Settlement," a history of Mennonite settlement centered on the town of Noble, Iowa (Washington County). 4 pp.
  • "The Literary Side of Farm Life" 6 pp.
  • "The Parting of the Ways" (short story). 5 pp.
  • "Aurora Headlight" 5 pp.
  • "Hobson's 'The Social Problem'" 6 pp.
  • "Argumentation," written for English III class, November 20. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "The Dramatization of Ben Hur," written for English III class, October 4. 1 p. - 1901
  • "Graustark," written for English III class, November 14. 1 p. - 1901
  • "A Brief Comparison of Shakespeare's Richard III and Marlowe's Edward II," written for English 40, April 27. 3 pp.
  • "An Utopian Dream," written for English I, November 17. 3 pp. - 1899
  • "A Coalition," short story written for English IIIa, October 15. 5 pp. - 1901
  • "Fraternities as Social Factors," written for English IIIa, October 15. 1 p. - 1901
  • "Some Anomalies of the Short Story," written for English IIIa, October 21. 1 p. - 1901
  • "Humility," written for English IIIa, October 18. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Ethical Aspects of the Early Hebrews as Illustrated in the Book of Judges," written for Ethics Ia, January 23. 3 pp. - 1902
  • "Annihilated," written for English I, October 26. 3 pp. - 1899
  • Folder 2: Miscellaneous class themes and essays while a student at University of Chicago
  • "Daring Bank Robbery," typewritten for English IIIa, October 31. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Sol Dawson," short story written for English IIIa, October 29. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Conceptions of Holiness Among the Early Hebrews," written for Philosophy 2a, January 30. 3 pp. - 1903
  • "Retrospective," written for English I, November 10. 3 pp. - 1899
  • "Habit," typewritten for English IIIa, October 21. 4 pp. - 1901
  • "Daniel Webster," written for English I, undated. 3 pp.
  • "Exposition," written for English III, November 19. 1 p. - 1901
  • "Avarice," written for English III, October 15. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Ego," written for English II, December 3. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Daniel Webster," written for English I, November 24. 3 pp. - 1899
  • "An Utopian Dream," rewritten for English I, undated. 2 pp.
  • Untitled paper written for English 40, May 8. 4 pp. - 1903
  • Untitled paper written for English 40, April 30. 3 pp. - 1903
  • "The Art of Composition Epitomized," written for English I, December 18. 11 pp. - 1899
  • "The 'Medics'," written for English IIIa, October 3. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Boer and Briton," written for English I, October 12. 3 pp. - 1899
  • "My Preparatory English," written for English I, October 6. 3 pp. - 1899
  • "Three Rides in a Patrol Wagon," written for English I, November 2. 3 pp. - 1899
  • "Desolation," written for English IIIa, December 4. 1 p. - 1901
  • "On Living in a Small Town," outline prepared for English IIIa, October 16. 1 p. - 1901
  • "Class Rushes," written for English IIIa, November 12. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Old English Ballads," April 14. 3 pp. - 1903
  • "A Glimpse of Yellowstone Park," typewritten for English IIIa, December 9. 3 pp. - 1901
  • "Does Rushing Injure the University in the Public Mind?" written for English IIIa, November 13. 1 p. - 1901
  • "The Passing of a Custom," written for English IIIa, October 4. 2 pp. - 1901
  • "Retropective," rewritten for English I, November 10. 2 pp. - 1899
  • "A Nebraska Proposition," written for English I, October 20. 3 pp. - 1899
  • Folder 3: Miscellaneous writings
  • "Biographical Sketch of Edward C. Eicher," untitled biographical sketch of Eicher
  • "Edward C. Eicher: From Noble, Iowa to Washington D.C.," two portions of a biography of Eicher written by Melvin Gingerich, undated
  • "The Ballad of Charlies McCoffus," photostat and typewritten copy of poem
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 4: Correspondence: - 1937-1944
    Includes letters from Harold Ickes, John J. Pershing, and William Gibbs McAdoo
  • Series 3: SPEECHES
  • Box 1:
  • Folders 5-7:Speeches delivered as Congressman, member and chairman of SEC, and as Chief Justice of District Court, District of Columbia - 1935-1944
  • Series 4: CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 8: Clippings relating to career on SEC, program, invitation and photograph
  • H.R. 5580, bill introduced by Eicher, February 12 - 1935
  • Issue of Congressional Record, April 18 - 1939
  • H.R. 9869, bill introduced by Eicher, January 7 - 1936
  • H.R. 2731, bill introduced by Eicher, January 12 - 1937
  • H.J. Res. 502, joint resolution introduced by Eicher, November 17 - 1937
  • S. 2787, amendments proposed to bill S. 2787 by Senator McAdoo
  • H.R. 1531, bill of January 5 - 1938
  • H.R. 8894, bill introduced by Eicher, January 10 - 1938
  • H.R. 9632, bill introduced by Eicher, February 25 - 1938
  • H.R. 10176, bill introduced by Eicher, April 6 - 1938
  • H.R. 10610, bill introduced by Eicher, May 11 - 1938
  • H.R. 10715-, bill introduced by Eicher, May 20 - 1938
  • Series 5: EPHEMERA
  • Box 1:
  • Program of Presidential inauguration ceremonies - 1941
  • Invitation to inauguration ceremonies (in envelope) - 1941
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • Photograph, Edward C. Eicher