Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the George Clarke Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1904-1937
Creator: Clarke, George (1852-1936)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0047
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer, state legislator, and Governor of Iowa . Subject files, campaign files, correspondence, and clippings relating primarily to his 1914 bid for re-election.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Charles F. Clarke and Mrs. Frances C. Kinnick in 1959.

Preferred Citation: George Clarke Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

George Washington Clarke was born in Shelby County, Indiana, on October 24, 1852. He attended Oskaloosa College in 1877 and received his law degree from the University of Iowa the following year. He established a law practice in Adel, Iowa. Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives, he served there from 1901 to 1909, the last five years of which he was Speaker of the House. A Republican, Clarke was elected Lieutenant Governor in 1908 and Governor in 1912. During his term Clarke supported the passage of a Workmen's Compensation Bill, a bill creating the State Highway Commission, and election reform measures. Leaving office in 1917, Clarke served as the Dean of the College of Law at Drake University in Des Moines. From 1918 until his death in 1936, George W. Clarke practiced law in Des Moines, Iowa.

The papers of George W. Clarke consist of .5 linear foot (1 box) of manuscripts dating from 1904 to 1937. The collection primarily consists of correspondence, clippings, and campaign literature from his campaign for re-election as Governor of Iowa in 1914. There are also voting records, speeches, ballots, and pamphlets relating to Republican politics in Iowa.
Annals of Iowa XXXIII, no. 8 (April, 1957), pp. 553 -- 571; an article on George W. Clarke in the "Eminent Iowan Series"

Annals of Iowa XXXII, no. 1 (July, 1953), pp. 47 -- 50, "The Glory of the Hawkeye State" by George W. Clarke

Browse by Series:
Series 1: POLITICS

  • Series 1: POLITICS
  • Box 1:
  • Folder 1: Newspaper clippings
  • Twenty-seven clippings from various newspapers concerning taxation in Iowa - 1913-1914
  • Ten clippings from various newspapers concerning Gov. Clarke's re-election - 1914
  • Four clippings concerning Judge C. G. Lee's candidacy for Governor - 1914
  • Death of Clarke's sister, Mrs. Nile Kinnick, Sr. - 1966
  • "What Cummins Has Done" (undated)
  • "The Seed Corn Situation," The Iowa Homestead, Mar. 23 - 1916
  • "What an Extra Session Would Cost"
  • "Was It Rushed Through?" (concerning capitol extension legislation) Oct. 12 - 1914
  • "Des Moines Graft" (undated)
  • "State Buys Only 40.1 Acres," Ottumwa Daily Review, Feb. 25 - 1914
  • "Railroads Drop in Assessment," Jan. 30 - 1914
  • Folder 2: Letters and Documents
  • From Albert B. Cumming to Mr. Clarke concerning an appointment to the Board of Pharmacy and Clarke's re-election as Speaker, Dec. 12 - 1904
  • From J.T. Hamilton to Gov. Clarke concerning Clarke's position on the Teacher's Pension Bill, Apr. 12 - 1913
  • From Gov. Clarke's secretary to D.W. Norris concerning publications explaining tax bills with attached clipping on tax bills, May 22 - 1914
  • From Gov. Clarke to John T. Hamilton concerning taxes found in the pamphlet "Iowa Facts," Oct. 21 - 1914
  • From A.C. Gustafson to another unnamed clergyman concerning political support for Gov. Clarke, Oct. 23 - 1914
  • From Gov. Clarke's secretary to J.M. Lisner concerning Clarke's attitude toward old soldiers, Oct. 13, and a duplicate letter to Charles S. Cooper, Oct. 30 - 1914
  • From E.K. Blaise concerning Capitol Extension Grounds, Sept. 29 - 1922
  • From Albert J. Beveridge to Clarke concerning paper on Theodore Roosevelt, Feb. 27 - 1924
  • From A. C. Gustafson to Mrs. George W. Clarke concerning the Memorial Resolution adopted by the House honoring the Honorable George W. Clarke, Apr. 30 - 1937
  • A paper listing decrease of Republican votes in Iowa counties - 1911-1913
  • List of those voting for and against House Bill #669
  • Rep. Black's voting record on selected issues (2 pages)
  • Sen. Gavett's voting record on selected issues (2 pages)
  • Report on government spending during Governor Clarke's term (3 pages)
  • Poem by Charles F. Clarke entitled "Oak in Autumn" published in The Rotarian, Dec. - 1953
  • Copy of the Memorial Resolution adopted by the House honoring Governor George W. Clarke (2 pages)
  • Folder 3: Letters and Documents
  • Campaign ad for George Clarke, June 3 - 1912
  • Iowa Republican Platform adopted July 1 and a stenographer's report of Gov. Cummins's acceptance speech - 1903
  • Republican Ballot for Iowa's State Officers (undated)
  • Pamphlet issued by the Republican State Central Committee entitled "Iowa Facts, Governor Clarke on Assessments" (undated) - Governor Clarke "
  • Pamphlet entitled "Iowa Editorial Comment Upon Clarke's Candidacy for Governor"
  • Thanksgiving Proclamation issued by Gov. Clarke, Nov. 27 - 1913
  • Program of the Pioneer Lawmakers Association, at which a bust of George W. Clarke was presented, Feb. 24 - 1937
  • Abstract of record and notice of appeal to the Supreme Court of Iowa in the case of Frank J. Pierce vs. The Executive Council of the State of Iowa, May term - 1913
  • Final decree issued by Judge Hugh Brennan, District Court of Iowa in the case of Frank J. Pierce
  • Final decree issued by Judge Hugh Brennan, District Court of Iowa in the case of Frank J. Pierce vs. The Executive Council of Iowa, Apr. 26 - 1913
  • Form letter to Board of Supervisors for each Iowa County from the Secretary of the Executive Council of Iowa concerning assessment values, May 30 - 1913
  • Form letter to County Auditors from the Secretary of the Executive Council of Iowa concerning certificates of adjustment of real estate values, Aug. 4 - 1913
  • The Drake University Record, vol. 13, no. 10, including announcement of Mr. Clarke's appointment as Dean of the Drake Law School, Feb. - 1917
  • Map indicating average value per acre of Iowa land and average taxable value by county, July - 1913
  • Copy of a flyer by the German-American League endorsing and recommending State Officers (undated)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Republican Party (Iowa)

Topics:
Political campaigns

Occupations:
Governors
Legislators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Speeches