Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Grant White Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1928-1932
Creator: White, Grant
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0046
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Dispatches to the Des Moines Register describing the Cow War in Cedar Co., Iowa, over the compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Grant White Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Papers concerning the "Cow War," controversial testing of cattle for tuberculosis.
Times of Trouble: The Cow War. The Iowan, vol. 7, no. 4, April, 1959 Scope and ContentsPapers concerning the "Cow War, " controversial testing of cattle for tuberculosis.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Legal Notices
  • Legal notice issued by the District Court of Iowa, Cedar County, to defendants of Cedar County accused of interfering with compulsory tuberculin testing of cattle. Request is made that they appear November 29 - 1926
  • A subpoena issued by the District Court of Iowa, Jefferson County, to G. W. White to appear as a witness for the State of Iowa on March 30, 1932; March 20 - 1932
  • News Releases Issued from Tipton, Iowa
  • Two releases: road surfacing; position of Cedar County Farmer's Defense League on compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis, March 21 - 1928
  • Filing of a petition to prevent compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis, November 16 - 1929
    Written for the Des Moines Register
  • The case of Merle Meny, February 10 - 1931
  • Three releases (2 pages): serving of notices on opponents of compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis; completion of Cedar County Golf course; extension of Primary Road through Tipton, February 17 - 1931
  • A meeting of 500 farmers to protest compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis, March 6 - 1931
  • Three releases (3 pages): letters sent by Governor Turner to County Attorney William M. Dallas and Paul Moore of West Branch; objectors to compulsory testing of cattle for tuberculosis, March 9 - 1931
    Written for the Des Moines Register; case of Mina Fifer vs. Roy Glick
  • Four releases (4 pages): development of anti-T. B. Test sentiment; meeting of the Tipton Chamber of Commerce; a High School Sub-District Declamatory Contest; meeting of Cedar County Board of Supervisors, March 10 - 1931
  • Attack on Ray Handley, Rural Mail Carrier, March 13 - 1931
  • "The Case of The State vs. E. C. Mitchell", March 20 - 1931
    Written for the Des Moines Register
  • Three releases (11 pages): The T.B. Test War; a birthday dinner; School Honor Rolls, April 30 - 1931
  • "A Gathering of T.B. Objectors", September 18 - 1931
    Written for the Des Moines Register
  • Possible placement of Cedar County under martial law (2 pages), September 23 - 1931
  • Herds of cattle being tested for tuberculosis, September 25 - 1931
    Written for the International News Service
  • Three releases (2 pages): the Cow-Test War; use of State Troops in the Cow-Test War, September 26 - 1931
    One written for United Press, two written for International News Service
  • Four releases (3 pages): a writ of habeas corpus for E. C. Marshall; return of State Troops to their homes, September 28 - 1931
    International News Service; United Press
  • Two releases: the case of E. C. Marshall, September 29 - 1931
    One written for United Press, one written for International News
  • Two releases: the arrest of J. W. Lenker, October 2 - 1970
    One written for United Press, one written for International News Service
  • Two releases: the case of J. W. Lenker, March 15 - 1932
    One written for the Des Moines Register, one written for the Associated Press
  • The "Farm Holiday" in Cedar County, August 11 - 1932
  • Undated Press Releases
  • From Tipton: Military arrests in the Cow-Test War and other military actions
    Written for International News Service
  • From Tipton: Arrival of State Troops in Tipton
    Written for United Press
  • Miscellaneous Pieces
  • Account of the Cow-Test War: reasons for its beginning and an indictment of Norman Baker as the instigator, incomplete (7 pages)
  • Account of the farmer's position in the Cow-Test War of 1931 (3 pages)
  • Article reporting a scheduled meeting of farmers at the William C. Butterbrodt farm
  • Article reporting legal events leading up to the Cow-Test War (3 pages)
  • Article entitled "Iowa's Fight For Pure Milk", incomplete
  • Article concerning propagandizing of farmers in the Cow-Test War of 1931, incomplete (2 pages)
  • Article entitled "Iowa's Fight for Tuberculosis Free Milk", incomplete (2 pages)
  • Article concerning Cow-Test War history, incomplete (2 pages)
  • Article concerning the call up of the National Guard troops in the Cow-Test War, September 22, 1931. Includes a Proclamation by Governor Dan W. Turner (2 pages)
  • Two comments: the case of Mina Fifer vs. Roy Glick; the enforcement of Iowa's Bovine Eradication Law by Dan Turner
  • Article reporting the dismissal of petitions filed by William Butterbrodt, Grant Walton, and others
  • Article reporting the filing of a petition by Arthur N. Fogg and 1100 other plaintiffs against the Department of Agriculture and its compulsory tuberculosis testing of cattle
  • Article concerning Norman Baker of Muscatine, incomplete
  • Statement by Paul P. Moore expressing regret for not subscribing to full quota of Liberty Bonds, October 19 - 1918
  • Letters and Photographs
  • Letter to Mr. White from David E. Archie, publisher-editor of The Iowan Magazine concerning use of Mr. White's Cow-Test War material, November 6 - 1958
  • Letter to Mr. White from David E. Archie concerning his Cow-Test War story, February 11 - 1959
  • Letter to David E. Archie from Mr. White concerning details of the Cow War, February 13 - 1959
  • Letter from David Archie to Grant White concerning use of Mr. Grant's manuscript by Mr. Archie, April 20 - 1959
  • Photograph: Dr. A.H. Joehnk, veterinarian who attempted to test cattle
  • Three photographs: farmers in Tipton, Iowa; taken by Judge B.J. Maxwell of Tipton, September 22 - 1931

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.