Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Elbert Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1828-1895
Creator: Elbert Family
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0042
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Legal papers, diplomas, certificates of appointments, scrapbook, 2 issues of Keosauqua, Iowa, newspapers (1852-58), and other papers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated to the University of Iowa Libraries by Bonnie L. Elbert in 1959.

Preferred Citation: Elbert Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Records of Dr. John Downs Elbert and LeRoy Elbert; also letters of Hon. Henry G. Little, Grinnell, Iowa, on Early Settlement of Henry County, Illinois.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CIVIL WAR ERA NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 2: GENERAL

  • Series 1: CIVIL WAR ERA NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Book of Newspaper clippings with the following inscription: "LeRoy S. Elbert, Washington City, January 14, 1862" - 1862-1863
    Contains clippings of obituary under date of September 26, 1863 clipping from Rocky Mountain News. He was a native of Ohio, citizen of Iowa, brother of Sam H. Elbert, Secretary, Territory of Colorado
  • Book of newspaper clippings with the inscription: "Sam H. Elbert 1869" inscribed in pencil on first blue colored sheet under clippings - 1869-1871
    Most clippings dates 1871--identifiable clippings being Denver Daily Tribune, 1871; New York Weekly Herald, June 8, 1871; Chicago Tribune June 16, 1871; New York Weekly Tribune, June 21, 1871
  • Book of newspaper clippings pasted in old Otis and Hewitt land book. May 1 - 1869
    Includes letter from Provost Marshall Office Fifth District, Ill., Peoria, June 10, 1864 to Enrolling Officer; contains many articles by Hon. Henry G. Little of Grinnell, Iowa, on Henry County, Illinois, early settlers, also Nebraska, Union Pacific Land Grant Map
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 2:
  • Rand McNally Pocket Map - 1895
    Acquired May 16, 1958 and donated by Mr. and Mrs. B.F. Elbert, Des Moines
  • Genealogical Chart of the Elbert Family
  • Card of Admission to Lectures of J. Whitman, M.S. at Medical College of Ohio issued to John D. Elbert, Jr. November 3 - 1828
  • Card certifying matriculation at Medical College of Ohio issued John D. Elbert, Jr. November 3 - 1828
  • Certificate issued to Dr. John D. Elbert as Senior Member of Ohio Medical and Philosophical Society of Cincinnati. March 2 - 1829
  • Certificate of the Court of Common Pleas of Logan County, Ohio; John D. Elbert elected commissioner. October 21 - 1830
  • Certificate of Appointment by Postmaster General U.S.A. of John D. Elbert as postmaster at Elberts, Logan County, Ohio. October 28 - 1833
  • Certificate from First District of Ohio, Cincinnati, admitting Dr. John D. Elbert, Jr. to practice of medicine and surgery in State. February 21 - 1829
  • Membership Certificate issued John D. Elbert by I.O.O.F. Lodge, March 28 - 1846
  • Land Grant to Oliver Elswick of 40-acre tract in Monroe County, Iowa, February 1 - 1848
  • Land Grant to Oliver Elswick of 40-acres, Fairfield Office, February 1 - 1848
  • Certificate of Membership in Sons of Temperance, issued John D. Elbert, June 18 - 1846
  • Cards of membership
  • Card of Membership in American Medical Assn. issued John D. Elbert, delegate from the Iowa Medical Society to annual meeting of A.M.A. St. Louis - 1854
  • Graduates Ticket of University of Pennsylvania - 1832
  • Tickets or Professional Cards Medical College of Ohio - 1828
  • Program of St. Louis convention
  • Letter from J.W. White, Columbus, Ohio - 1856
  • Certificate of Commission of LeRoy S. Elbert as 2nd Lieut. Mounted Riflemen, June 24 - 1861
    Bearing signature Abraham Lincoln
  • Certificate of Commission in 3rd Regt. of Cavalry as First Lieutenant to Leroy S. Elbert, February 7 - 1862
    Bearing signatures of Abraham Lincoln and Edwin Stanton
  • Letter from Headquarters Cavalry Division appointing 1st Lt. Leroy S. Elbert as Division Ordnance Officer
  • Various War Department orders, last appointing Leroy S. Elbert a captain
  • Letter of administration in Van Buren County, Iowa, appointing administrators in estate of John D. Elbert, deceased, March 27, 1865. May 1 - 1865
  • Warranty Deed, Monroe County, Iowa - 1865
  • Warranty Deed, Monroe County, Iowa - 1866
  • Warranty Deed, Monroe County, Iowa - 1867
  • Acknowledgement, Wapello County - 1866
  • Warranty Deed, Monroe County - 1865
  • Copy will of Virginia Smity (Penna) - 1869
  • Land Grant: Oliver Elswick, February 1 - 1848
  • Warranty Deed - 1872
  • Land Grant, Bloomington, Nebraska, March 6 - 1891
  • Appointment by President U.S. Grant of Samuel H. Elbert as Governor of Territory of Colorado, April 17 - 1873
  • Biographical sketch of Dr. John D. Elbert by Prof. John F. Sanford, read at Masonic Service
  • Transactions, Iowa State Medical Society, J.D. Elbert of Keosauqua nominated as President for ensuing year
  • Medical Counselor - September 29, 1855
  • U. of Pennsylvania catalogue - 1852-1853
  • Proceedings of Iowa State Medical Society - 1857-1858
  • The Western American Vol. 1, No., 45, Published at Keosauqua, May 15 - 1852
  • The Valley Weekly Vol. 1, No. 15 published at Keosauqua, April 9 - 1858
  • Roll of Scrolls