Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Emlin McClain Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1869 - 1915
Creator: McClain, Emlin (1851-1915)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0035
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer, judge, and professor. Personal and business correspondence, diaries, and speeches on painting. Most of the material dates before 1880, while McClain was a law student at the University of Iowa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated by the McClain family.

Preferred Citation: Emlin McClain Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Emlin McClain Collection. State Historical Society of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa. 10 linear ft.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DIARIES
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: SPEECHES

  • Series 1: DIARIES
  • Box 1:
  • Volume 1, July 18-January 19 - 1869-1872
  • Volume 2, January 21-January 1 - 1872-1874
  • Volume 3, January 6-April 28 - 1874-1878
  • Volume 4, April 23-June 2 - 1876-1878
  • Volume 5, October 29-February 19 - 1878-1883
  • Volume 6, June 10-June 20 - 1894-1897
  • Volume 7, August 25-August 29 - 1897-1904
  • Volume 8, September 1-September 12 - 1897-1900
  • Volume 9, March 25- January 4 - 1906-1908
  • Volume 10, July 3-September 17 - 1908
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • "Letter Book" (letter press) correspondence, December 3-September 24 - 1875- 1876
  • "Book of Letters," received, December 2 - March 12 - 1875-1877
  • Newspaper clippings, April 18-July 12 - 1876-1913
  • Correspondence (loose), March 22-November - 1869-1913
  • Series 3: SPEECHES
  • Box 3:
  • Manuscripts of twenty-four speeches given on subjects related to his interest in painting - 1890-1919
  • Iowa Law Bulletin, November - 1915

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
McClain, Emlin, 1851-1915

Occupations:
Lawyers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Clippings (Information artifacts)
Manuscripts (Document genre)
Correspondence
Diaries