Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sewell Van Alstine Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1863-1864
Creator: Van Alstine, Sewell
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0028
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War diary of a member of the 95th Illinois infantry regiment.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Gift of Sewell Van Alstine, 1959.

Preferred Citation: Sewell Van Alstine Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

1863-1864 Civil War diary of a member of the 95th Illinois Infantry.  A typed copy of the original is included.
See also his autobiographical sketch in A Story of the English People SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Iowa Authors Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PAPERS

  • Series 1: PAPERS
  • Box 1:
  • Sewell Van Alstine Diary - 1863-1864
  • Digitized diary - 1863-1864

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Van Alstine, Sewell, b. 1824

Corporate Names:
United States. Army. Illinois Infantry Regiment, 95th (1862-1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Illinois

Genre/Form of Materials:
Diaries

Browse:
Civil War