Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Myron Underwood Civil War Letters Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1865
Creator: Underwood, Myron
Extent: 3.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0027
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Letters to his wife telling of his experiences as assistant surgeon of the 12th Iowa infantry regiment.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was purchased by the University of Iowa Libraries in 1952.

Preferred Citation: Myron Underwood Civil War Letters Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Letters to his wife, Sophie, while he was an assistant surgeon of the 12th Regiment of the Iowa Infantry during the Civil War. Letters are contained in three folders.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LETTERS

  • Series 1: LETTERS
  • Box 1:
  • September 14-June 4 - 1862-1863
  • July 5-November 22 - 1863
  • December-June - 1863-1865

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Underwood, Myron, b. 1833

Corporate Names:
United States. Army. Iowa Infantry Regiment, 12th (1861-1866)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Occupations:
Surgeons

Genre/Form of Materials:
Sources
Correspondence

Browse:
Civil War