Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Maud Ballington Booth Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1896-1988
Creator: Booth, Maud Ballington
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0022
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Pioneer social reformer. Correspondence concerning her work for Volunteers of America , Volunteer Prison League, lectures, etc.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The collection was in part given to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1991 by Susan F. Welty, and in part purchased over a period of years.

Preferred Citation: Maud Ballington Booth Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

The papers of Maud Ballington Booth date from 1896 to 1988 and contain correspondence (arranged chronologically) and photographs. The correspondence between herself and author, Susan Welty, is generally of a personal and social nature, occasionally describing lectures or travels for the Volunteers of America. Booth's children, Charles and Theodora, also corresponded with Welty and these letters are included. There is also a speech given by Susan Welty which is a sketch of Look Up and Hope, her biography of Maud Ballington Booth. There are also business letters written to various representatives of the Redpath Lyceum Bureau and others for whom Maud Ballington Booth lectured. These letters discuss schedules, her work for the Volunteer Prison League, and her husband, Ballington Booth.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1898
  • Correspondence - 1936
  • Correspondence - 1896-1919
  • Correspondence - 1920-1925
  • Correspondence - 1926-1935
  • Correspondence - 1936-1943
  • Correspondence: Together with letters from Theodora Booth, speech by Susan Welty, and material regarding Look Up and Hope. - 1944 -1949, 1962-1969, 1986-1988.
  • Correspondence: Undated
  • "Memories: The Grand Canyon." Typescript
  • "Memories of Childhood." Handwritten in a stenographers notebook
  • "Salvation Army Treatment of Volunteers of America". Handwritten in a notebook
  • Photograph. Donated in 2005 by Jason Bacon.