Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harry Carroll Evans Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1888-1918
Creator: Evans, Harry Carroll (1858-1932)
Extent: 7.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0020
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and editor. Correspondence and scrapbooks relating to the Ford Peace Party of 1915.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 3 and 4.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Harry Carroll Evans Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Newspaper clippings, papers, speeches, correspondence, scrapbooks and photographs.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: FORD PEACE PARTY
Series 3: GENEALOGY
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHY
Series 5: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 6: WRITINGS ABOUT AND BY HARRY CARROLL EVANS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Alice Evans Dannreuther to Clara Evans Gallaher (5 folders)
  • Alice Evans Dannreuther to Harry Carroll Evans.
  • Alice Evans Dannreuther to Family (6 folders)
  • Alice Evans Dannreuther to/from Taylor Dannreuther
  • Aunt Ester to Alice Evans Dannreuther
  • Clara Evans Gallaher to Alice Evans Dannreuther
  • Clara Evans Gallaher to Parents
  • Clara Evans Gallaher to Robert Gallaher
  • Harry Carroll Evans to Family (2 folders)
  • Box 2:
  • Harry Carroll Evans to Miscellaneous
  • Harry Carroll Evans to Susan Weaver Evans
  • Miscellaneous (2 folders)
  • Miscellaneous to Alice Evans Dannreuther
  • Miscellaneous to Clara Evans Gallaher
  • Miscellaneous to Harry Carroll Evans
  • Miscellaneous to Susan Weaver Evans
  • Nellie Dannreuther to Children
  • Susan Dannreuther to Grandparents
  • Susan Dannreuther to Parents
  • Susan Weaver Evans to Alice Evans Dannreuther
  • Susan Weaver Evans to Clara Evans Gallaher
  • Susan Weaver Evans to Harry Carroll Gallaher (2 folders)
  • Taylor and Alice Dannreuther to Family
  • To/From Susan Dannreuther
  • To/From Taylor Dannreuther
  • Series 2: FORD PEACE PARTY
  • Box 3:
  • Three folders containing information related to the Ford Peace Party.
    This material includes newspaper clippings, papers, speeches, correspondence, and a photograph.;
  • Series 3: GENEALOGY
  • Box 4:
  • Five folders and a book containing information related to the genealogy of the Evans and Gallaher families.;
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHY
  • Box 5:
  • Evans Family Photographs (2 folders)
  • Gallaher Family Photographs. (2 folders)
  • Susan Weaver Evans Photographs
  • Series 5: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 5:
  • Articles written about the Ford Peace Party
  • Articles written by Harry Carroll Evans and placed inside the Memorial Addresses of Thomas Hendricks
  • Articles written by Harry Carroll Evans during World War I
  • Evans and Weaver Scrapbook-Collection of Articles and Letters
  • Harry Carroll Evans Scrapbook-Prepared by Alice Evans Dannreuther
  • Harry Carroll Evans' War Letters 1917-1919
  • Iowa History-Prepared by Alice Evans Dannreuther
  • Series 6: WRITINGS ABOUT AND BY HARRY CARROLL EVANS
  • Box 6:
  • Funeral Arrangements and Programs for Evans
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Pamphlets written by Evans
  • Papers by and about Harry Carroll Evans
  • Posters advertising Evans' Speeches
  • Programs from several of Evans' speeches as well as other events
  • Transcripts of Speeches made by Evans

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.