Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles Cady Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1864
Creator: Cady, Charles
Extent: 2.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0017
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier from Danville, Iowa. Consists of letters written to his parents and family describing life in the 15th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. Also includes his promotion and discharge papers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Charles Cady Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Charles Cady was born in Brooklin, Connecticut. On October 21, 1861, at the age of thirty-two he enlisted in Company E of the 15th Regiment of the Iowa Volunteer Infantry. He served as a sergeant in that company until his discharge on November 3, 1864.

The papers of Charles Cady consist of eleven items relating to his service during the Civil War. Included are the letters he wrote to his parents, brother, and sister living at home in Danville, Des Moines County, Iowa. He discussed army life, talked of casualties and illnesses in the regiment, and deplored Copperhead politics. His promotion papers and army discharge are included, as is an engraving plate of Cady. These papers were donated to the University of Iowa Libraries in 1955 by Mrs. Glenn Chandler. They are open to research by students and scholars.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Civil War letters, August 17-July 11 - 1862-1864
  • Picture of Grandmother's home
  • Engraved plate of Cady
  • Promotion papers, June 5 - 1863
  • Discharge papers, November 13 - 1864

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States Army. Iowa Infantry Regiment, 15th (1861- 1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865
Copperhead (Nickname)

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Danville
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives

Browse:
Civil War