Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the William F. Goodhue Diary

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861
Creator: Goodue, William F. (1861)
Extent: 1.00 diary.
Collection Number: MSC0013
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier. Goodhue was a member of the 3rd Wisconsin Infantry Regiment. He wrote of camp life, food, and military duties. He also describes the country through which he traveled.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: William F. Goodue Diary, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

William F. Goodhue, of Brodhead, Wisconsin, served with Company C of the 3rd Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. He enlisted in 1861, and was stationed around Harpers Ferry, Maryland, for most of that year. His diary, dating from April through December 1861, gives details of camp life, food, and military drills. He also includes some descriptions of the country through which he traveled.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DIARY

  • Series 1: DIARY
  • Box 1:
  • Civil War Diary - 1861
  • Digitized diary

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States Army. Wisconsin Infantry Regiment, 3rd (1861-1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Wisconsin

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives

Browse:
Civil War