Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John W. Pratt Diaries Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1865
Creator: Pratt, John W.
Extent: 1.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0011
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier. Relates his feelings and experiences with the 27th Iowa Volunteer Infantry Regiment.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These diaries were a gift of Mrs. Bernice Pratt in 1955.

Preferred Citation: John W. Pratt Diaries Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

John W. Pratt was a soldier in Company A of the 27th Iowa Volunteer Infantry Regiment during the Civil War. He enlisted on August 22, 1862, and was mustered out on August 7, 1865.

The Civil War diaries of John W. Pratt date from August 22, 1862 - October 20, 1862 and from April 2, 1865 - August 9, 1865. The first diary is filled with his feelings of homesickness and longing for his wife. The second diary includes short comments about encounters with the rebel forces, mentions Lees surrender and Lincolns assassination, sickness, and his desire to be released from military service.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: DIARIES

  • Series 1: DIARIES
  • Box 1:
  • August 22-October 20 - 1862
  • April 2-August 9. This diary also includes records of a financial nature, such as money spent on food and tobacco. - 1865

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States Army. Iowa Infantry Regiment, 27th (1862- 1865), Company A

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives

Browse:
Civil War