Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the W.B. Emmons Diary Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1864-1865
Creator: Emmons, W.B.
Extent: 1.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0010
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Civil War soldier, member of the 34th Illinois Infantry Regiment. Participated in the Atlanta Campaign and saw a good deal of action in Georgia. Recorded. Wrote of many battles and skirmishes.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: W.B. Emmons Diary Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

W.B. Emmons was a soldier with the 34th Illinois Infantry during the Civil War.

W. B. Emmons' diary dates from May 1, 1864 to July 17, 1865, and describes his wartime activities in great detail. His regiment participated in the Atlanta campaign and witnessed the burning of much of Georgia. He describes many battles and skirmishes, as well as the everyday life of a soldier. Emmons also discusses Lincoln's election, assassination, and Copperhead politics. The diary is missing pages 37-48 and pages 53-56.
Digitized version of the diary of W. B. Emmons is available at the Iowa Digital Library.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Diary; lacks pages 37-48, 53-56, May 1st - July 17th - 1864-1865

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865

Corporate Names:
United States Army. Illinois Infantry Regiment, 34th (1861-1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865
Atlanta Campaign, 1864
Copperhead (Nickname)

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Illinois

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives

Browse:
Civil War