Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Harrison Allspaugh Diaries Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1861-1865
Creator: Allspaugh, Harrison
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0008
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Diaries of the Civil War experiences of a member of the 31st Regiment of Ohio Infantry.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was a gift of Lucy Shelton Stewart and Helen S. Claassen, 1954.

Preferred Citation: Harrison Allspaugh Diaries Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Diaries recounting the Civil War experiences of Jacob Harrison Allspaugh of the 31st Ohio Infantry regiment. Primarily describing the war in Tennessee, Mississippi, and Georgia. Allspaugh was a resident of Rock Rapids, Iowa, in his later years.

These diaries have been digitized and are availbe for viewing at the Iowa Digital Library.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Diary with 36 page transcript, September 13, September 13 - 1861-1862
  • Diary with 37 page transcript, September 14, January 27 - 1862-1863
  • Diary with 38 page transcript, Jaunary 27, July 14 - 1862-1863
  • Diary with 15 page transcript, July 15-October 12 - 1863
  • Diary with 14 page transcript, October 13, January 5 - 1863-1864
  • Diary with 10 page transcript, January 17-July 12 - 1864
  • Diary, July 12-November 5 - 1864
  • Diary, November 8, January 15 - 1864-1865
  • Diary, January 16-August 2 - 1865
  • Typescript of poem "Moonlight Burial" by Mary Hartwell Catherwood
  • Tribute to Ira Marsh by Allspaugh

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States Army. Ohio Infantry Regiment, 31st (1861-1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Geographic Names:
United States -- Ohio

Genre/Form of Materials:
Diaries
Personal narratives

Browse:
Civil War