Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Shelton Family Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1864-1866, 1936
Creator: Shelton Family
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: MSC0007
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Diaries of Mary E. Shelton and Rhode Maenad Shelton describing their nursing experience with Annie Wittenmeyer during the Civil War and at the Hospital for the Insane in Mount Pleasant, Iowa; also the Civil War diary of Orteus Carnefix Shelton, lieutenant of the 45th Regiment of Iowa Infantry.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Lucy Shelton Stewart and Helen S. Claassen, 1954.

Preferred Citation: Shelton Family Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Four diaries and a manuscript of a speech.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Diary of Mary E. Shelton, including a typed transcription, January 1-December 30 - 1864
  • Diary of Mary E. Shelton, including a typed transcription, January 1-December 31 - 1865
  • Diary of Lt. O.C. Shelton, Lieutenant in the 45th Regiment of the Iowa Infantry, May 8-August 30 - 1864
  • Diary of Rhoda Amanda Shelton, April 15, 1864-September 11 - 1866
  • "Address of Amanda Shelton Stewart on her Experiences as a Civil War Nurse" - 1937

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Shelton, Mary E.
Shelton, O. C., Lieutenant
Shelton, Rhoda Amanda

Corporate Names:
United States. Army. Iowa Infantry Regiment, 45th (1864)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865
Military nursing
Women

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal narratives
Diaries

Family Names:
Shelton family

Browse:
Civil War