Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John Loomis Stevens Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1873-1932
Creator: Stevens, John Loomis (1873-1932)
Extent: 6.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0005
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Lawyer and politician of Boone, Iowa. Correspondence relating primarily to Steven's political activities, particularly in 1912.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: John Loomis Stevens Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Extracts from diary of John L. Stevens, [n.d.]-July 28 - 1873-1932
  • Undated letters and materials relating to county chairmen of the Progressive Party in Iowa
  • Material including letters relating to the Des Moines River Land Claims and letters of J.P. Dolliver, April 14-December 16 - 1881; 1896-1898
  • Letters: including from J.P. Dolliver, John H. Gear, Leslie M. Shaw and Albert Cummins, February 25, April 6 - 1899-1904
  • Letters: mostly relating to the Cummins for President movement and formation of the Progressive Party. Includes letters from Albert B. Cummins, April 27-December 3 - 1912
  • Letters: primarily correspondence with the leaders of the Progressive Party in Iowa. Includes letters from George W. Perkins, March 7-December 29 - 1913
  • Letters: concerned with the Progressive Party, January 1-June 5 - 1914

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Stevens, John Loomis, 1850-1933

Corporate Names:
Progressive Party (1912)

Occupations:
Politicians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Sources
Correspondence
Diaries