Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Byron McClain Letters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1863-1864
Creator: McClain, Byron (-1864)
Extent: 46.00 items.
Collection Number: MSC0004
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Letters to McClain's family in Wilton Junction, Iowa, telling of experiences in Tennessee with the 2nd Regiment of Iowa Cavalry.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Byron McClain Letters, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Letters to and from McClain's family, describing his experiences as a Civil War soldier in Tennessee with the Second Regiment of the Iowa Cavalry.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Letters to and from McClain's family. Includes two letters from George Fluent telling of Byron's death.
  • Michael Fluent transcribed these letters in 2007. Copies of these transcriptions now form part of this collection.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Fluent, George
McClain, Byron

Corporate Names:
United States. Army. Iowa Cavalry Regiment, 2nd (1861-1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Occupations:
Soldiers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa
United States -- Tennessee

Genre/Form of Materials:
Sources
Correspondence

Browse:
Civil War