Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Miles Beaty Letters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1862-1873
Creator: Beaty, Miles
Extent: 2.00 folders.
Collection Number: MSC0003
Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Summary: Letters written to Beaty's father, John Beaty, telling of experiences in the 149th Regiment of Pennsylvania Infantry.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folder 2

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was given to the University of Iowa Libraries by Dorothy Beaty Vasbender in 1960.

Preferred Citation: Miles Beaty Letters, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Special Collections
Address: Special Collections Department
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: Greg Prickman
Email: lib-spec@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc

Letters to his family in Strattonville, Clarion County, Pennsylvania, from Miles Beaty, telling of his experience as a soldier in the 149th Regiment of the Pennsylvania Infantry.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence, August 28-February - 1862 1863
  • Correspondence, March-June 19 - 1863 -1863
  • Letters regarding the death of Miles Beaty
  • Letters from Captain George W. Soult to John Beaty (Miles' father) telling of the death of his son, June 21-September 23 - 1863
  • Letters to John Beaty from Robert Beaty, August 28 - 1863
  • n.d. from unknown to unknown
  • Two pictures of Miles Beaty, with negatives

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
United States Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 149th (1862-1865)

Topics:
American Civil War, 1861-1865

Genre/Form of Materials:
Correspondence
Correspondence
Correspondence
Correspondence
Photographs

Browse:
Civil War