Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Judy Polumbaum papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1987-1997
Creator: Polumbaum, Judy
Extent: 10.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0914
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Professor of journalism at The University of Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 680) were donated by Judy Polumbaum in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Judy Polumbaum papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Professor and journalist Professor Judy Polumbaum was raised in New England. Her father, Ted, was a photojournalist and her mother was an artist. In 1961, she spent nearly a year of her youth in India with her family while her father was on a photography assignment. Following her undergraduate work in East Asian studies at McGill University, Polumbaum earned an M.A. from the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and a Ph.D. in communication from Stanford University. In addition to her work for English-language news organizations in China, she worked as a newspaper reporter in Vermont, California, and Oregon. In 1989 she joined the faculty of the University of Iowa School of Journalism, and later took on additional roles as affiliated faculty for international and interdisciplinary programs and centers at the University of Iowa, including the Center for Asian Pacific Studies and International Studies. Her book of interviews with twenty young Chinese journalists, [i]China Ink: Changing the Face of Chinese Journalism[/i], was published in 2008.

The Judy Polumbaum papers date from 1987-1997 and are arranged in two series: UI School of Journalism; and World, Women, and Media

The UI School of Journalism series dates from 1987-1996 and reflects many areas of department life. Materials include event descriptions, correspondence with guest speakers, course materials (including handouts as well as student writing), fellowship nominations, Daily Iowan applications, and other departmental news and information. A sizeable portion of the series is dedicated to writing professionals in residence at the university, including schedules of their public speaking events and availability for student appointments.

The World, Women, and Media series dates from 1975-1997 and is named for two events held at The University of Iowa in preparation for the 1995 UN conference on women in Beijing. The first event, proposed by Polumbaum, took place in June 1994 and featured presentations and discussions under the auspices of the Center for Advanced Studies. The second, which took place in March 1995, solidified preparations for the UN conference, and included people who later attended the Beijing meetings, who planned and edited news coverage of the meetings, or who were involved with the meetings in some other capacity. Both University of Iowa events are captured in planning correspondence, programs, and presentation materials.  Also in this series is correspondence and other material that reflects Polumbaum’s logistical role in helping other scholars and journalists attend the UN conference in Beijing. In addition to the conference-related material, this series includes articles and papers (many by University of Iowa graduate students) on topics relating to World Women & Media, as well as articles and research material on Chinese women and their relationship to government, society, and the academy.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: UI SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM
Series 2: WORLD WOMEN & MEDIA

  • Series 1: UI SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical
  • Berney, Louis, freelance journalist, published articles - 1991
  • Branch, Taylor, article - 1996
  • Chinese fellowships: Sun Xupei - 1990-1993
  • Chinese fellowships: Sun Xupei - 1994
  • Chinese fellowships: Sun Xupei: recommendations - 1987-1989
  • Foreign scholar applicants for masters in communication studies - 1996
  • Foreign scholar: Wu Ching - 1993
  • Box 2:
  • General news - 1993-1995
  • Guest Lecturer, Autry, James, Meredith Corporation Magazine group - 1991
  • Jones, Rachel, published articles - 1989-1996
  • Knight fellowship program applicants - 1993-1994
  • Lectures - 1992-1996
  • Magazine analysis course (folder 1) - 1992
  • Magazine analysis course (folder 2) - 1992
  • Mini internship reports - 1995
  • Box 3:
  • Professionals in residence - 1992-1994
  • Professional in residence: Sandy Bookman - 1995
  • Professional in residence: Marialise Calta - 1991
  • Professional in residence: Lyle Miller - 1991-1994
  • Professional in residence: Jane Schorer - 1991
  • Professional in residence: Jay Walljasper - 1991-1992
  • Professional in residence: Tom Witosky - 1994
  • Stanly Junior fellow, Zhang Ximing - 1993
  • Summer writing course - 1994
  • Box 4:
  • Summer writing course - 1996
  • Women’s films - 1996
  • Series 2: WORLD WOMEN & MEDIA
  • Box 4:
  • Anticipating the fourth UN world conference on women - 1995
  • Articles - 1978-1994
  • Articles (folder 1) - 1990-1994
  • Articles (folder 2) - 1990-1995
  • Articles - 1995-1997
  • Chinese Law and government re: women - 1993-1994
  • Box 5:
  • Chinese society of women’s studies: articles - 1987-1996
  • Chinese women and the communist government - 1981-1992
  • Chinese women information - 1992-1994
  • Box 6:
  • Chinese women’s media delegation - 1994
  • Chinese women’s studies in Beijing - 1992
  • Communications in the global community - 1997
  • Correspondence about conference, May - 1994
  • Curriculum vitae of applicants for summer project - 1994
  • Fashion articles - 1992-1993
  • Femininity articles - 1984-1994
  • General articles on women - 1994-1996
  • Guidelines for Joint committee on Chinese studies grants - 1993
  • International Women’s Tribune Centre - 1984-1993
  • Books in Chinese - 1991
  • Box 7:
  • Magazines in Chinese - 1993
  • Media publications - 1985-1993
  • Newspaper articles - 1992-1993
  • Newsprint coverage of women - 1992-1996
  • News services - 1994
  • "The Non-Government Sector in China: A Preliminary Report" - 1989
  • Non-governmental organizations (NGO) - 1995
  • Non-governmental organization: stories of Chinese women - 1995
  • Papers on women (folder 1) - 1994-1995
  • Box 8:
  • Papers on women (folder 2) - 1994-1995
  • Pew global stewardship initiative: population growth - 1994
  • Planning meeting at University of Iowa, June 3—June 5 - 1994
  • Population and development - 1994
  • Preparations for Beijing conference - 1995
  • Preparatory program - 1995
  • Preview of world conference on women - 1994
  • Priorities ’95, conference to submit recommendations for consideration at Beijing conference - 1994
  • Proposal for attending meetings in China, April 13 - 1994
  • Proposal for planning meeting - 1994
  • Remarks to women at media meeting - 1994
  • Repressed memories - 1991-1995
  • Sexual harassment articles - 1990-1994
  • Box 9:
  • Sources for information - 1994-1995
  • UNESCO: international symposium in Toronto - 1995
  • UN association, earth charter and agenda 21 for Iowa - 1994
  • UN conference of the international women’s year - 1975
  • UN decade of women - 1985
  • UN development program - 1980-1994
  • UN development fund for women - 1994
  • World conference on women - 1994-1995
  • UN fourth world conference on women, abstract - 1996
  • UN world conference on women in Beijing, coverage (folder 1) - 1995-1996
  • Box 10:
  • UN world conference on women in Beijing, coverage (folder 2) - 1995-1996
  • UN world conference on women, follow-up - 1996
  • UN world conference on women, letters - 1995
  • UN world conference on women, notes - 1995
  • UN world conference on women, paper, “Where’s the Truth?” - 1997
  • UN world conference on women, plans for attending - 1995
  • UN world conference on women, print material - 1994
  • UN world conference on women, “Women’s Rights are Human Rights” - 1996
  • UN world conference on women, workshop, March - 1995
  • Women and feminism - 1995
  • Women and children abuse - 1992-1995
  • Women and education - 1995
  • Women and human rights - 1992-1996
  • Box 11:
  • Women and the press - 1994-1995
  • Women in politics, newsprint - 1992-1995
  • Women in third world countries (folder 1) - 1993-1995
  • Women in third world countries (folder 2) - 1993-1995
  • Women of China, newsprint articles (folder 1) - 1991-1996
  • Women of China, newsprint articles (folder 2) - 1991-1996
  • Women v men - 1993-1995
  • Women’s health - 1994-1995
  • Women’s issues: abortion - 1991-1995
  • Box 12:
  • Workshop on world women and media - 1995
  • Workshop attendees - 1994
  • Workshop: “No shrinking violets,” by Polumbaum and Frey - 1995
  • Workshop plans - 1994
  • Workshop registrations - 1995

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.