Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Shirley Wyrick papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-1999
Creator: Wyrick, Shirley
Extent: 10.80 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0911
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary:

Access: The papers are open for research

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1253) were donated by Shirley Wyrick in 2011.

Preferred Citation: Shirley Wyrick papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraryies, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Shirley Wyrick was an Iowa City artist and resident. In her art practice, Wyrick focused on large scale sculptural and installation works. Many of her works were installed within the state of Iowa including at the State Historical Society in Des Moines and at multiple locations across the University of Iowa'€™s campus in Iowa City. Wyrick was an advocate for supporting and encouraging arts in the Iowa City community and served on committees for multiple arts organizations including the Greater Iowa City Cultural Alliance (GICACA). She also helped lead an effort to build CenterSpace, a multi-disciplinary community arts center that would have been located in downtown Iowa City.

The Shirley Wyrick Papers date from 1974 to 1999 and measure 10.8 linear feet.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: WRITINGS
Series 3: CONFERENCES & WORKSHOPS
Series 4: EXHIBITIONS
Series 5: ARTWORK
Series 6: PROFESSIONAL
Series 7: COMMUNITY
Series 8: GREATER IOWA CITY AREA CULTURAL ALLIANCE (GICACA)
Series 9: CENTERSPACE

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Resumes and Business Cards
  • Articles
  • Englert Theater Art Gallery Honor
  • Series 2: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • MFA Thesis - 1982-1983
  • MA Thesis - 1976
  • Research Paper on Joseph Cornell
  • Research Paper on Robert Morris
  • "Kinetic Mechanisims" Technical Paper - 1974
  • Public Art Class Talk - 1988
  • Series 3: CONFERENCES & WORKSHOPS
  • Box 1:
  • National Conference on Contemporary Cast Iron Art - 1988
  • Common Ground Artists Conference - 1994
  • Iowa Museum Association Conference - 1995
  • Public Art Workshop - 2002
  • Arrt/Public Symposium - 2000
  • Business of Art Workshop
  • Iowa Public Art Networking Conference - 2009
  • Series 4: EXHIBITIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Art Center of Minnesota (folder 1)
  • Art Center of Minnesota (folder 2)
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa Arts Council Touring Programs Brochure
  • North Hennepin Community College, Minneapolis
  • Brochures
  • Letters seeking bookings
  • Artspace15, Basic Science Building
  • Blander Art Gallery, Fort Dodge, IA
  • Charles H. MacNider Museum, Mason City, IA
  • Promotional mailings
  • Clinton Art Association
  • Participant, various - 1978-1982
  • Participant, various - 1985-1988
  • Box 3:
  • Participant, various - 1991-1996
  • Participant, various - 2003-2007
  • Listening to the River - 1992
  • In Situ - 2007
  • Series 5: ARTWORK
  • Box 3:
  • In collections
  • Building A Foundation (folder 1)
  • Building A Foundation (folder 2)
  • 21st Boundary
  • Critical Juncture/Fluid Boundary
  • The River, newspaper clippings
  • The River, correspondence
  • The River, Iver Iverson (Installer)
  • Eigth Continent, Under Blue Skies, Post Sculpture
  • Free Flow
  • Bio Pathways
  • Unique Needle Drawings
  • Proposals, Microbial Genetics Division
  • Proposals, Iowa Olympiad - 1982
  • Box 4:
  • Newspaper articles
  • Gallery representation inquiries, Lydon Fine Art Inc.
  • Gallery representation inquiries, various (folder 1)
  • Gallery representation inquiries, various (folder 2)
  • AIA Master lists
  • Slide Bank correspondence (folder 1)
  • Slide Bank correspondence (folder 2)
  • Slide Bank correspondence (folder 3)
  • Slide Bank correspondence (folder 4)
  • Box 29:
  • Binder, "The River of Art"
  • Binder, "The River of Ecology"
  • Binder, "The River of Thought"
  • Box 30:
  • Binder, "The River"
  • Binder, "Waterways of Johnson County"
  • Series 6: PROFESSIONAL
  • Box 5:
  • Artworks Incorporated: Binder
  • Artworks Incorporated: Correspondence
  • Artworks Incorporated: Brochures
  • Artworks Incorporated: Proposals
  • Artworks Incorporated: Newspaper clippings
  • Artworks Incorporated: Wyrick artwork contacts
  • Artworks Incorporated: Business Plan
  • Artworks Incorporated: Newsletters
  • Series 7: COMMUNITY
  • Box 6:
  • National League of American Pen Women: State Meeting - 2009
  • National League of American Pen Women: Iowa City Chapter
  • National League of American Pen Women: Arts Showcase
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts
  • Townscape Institute
  • Arts Resource Italy trip planning
  • Domestic Violence Intervention Program (DVIP)
  • Homeless Shelter overflow - 2006-2007
  • Various activities
  • Juror, art shows and festivals
  • Speeches and studio tours
  • Box 7:
  • Action Plan for Des Moines - 1996
  • Artist consultant, Cedar Rapids (folder 1)
  • Artist consultant, Cedar Rapids (folder 2)
  • Tree of Five Seasons controversy
  • Washington Hills Art (folder 1)
  • Washington Hills Art (folder 2)
  • Washington Hills Neighborhood Association
  • Arts Iowa City: General
  • Arts Iowa City: Correspondence
  • City High Arts Council: Optstad Auditorium (folder 1)
  • City High Arts Council: Optstad Auditorium (folder 2)
  • City High Arts Council: Optstad Auditorium (folder 3)
  • City High Arts Council: Optstad Auditorium (folder 4)
  • City High Arts Council: Arts as core curriculum
  • Arts and business partnership
  • Laces: Community Arts Calendar - 1996-1997
  • Laces: Entry Information
  • Box 8:
  • Downtown Iowa City Streetscape - 1997
  • Downtown Iowa City Streetscape - 1998
  • Downtown Iowa City Streetscape: Meeting notes - 1992
  • Iowa City downtown parking study - 1997
  • Iowa City Near Southside Design Plan - 1995
  • Iowa City Water Treatment Facility charette
  • Center for the Arts: Sieberlinn Landscape Beautification Committee
  • Center for the Arts: Landscape master plan
  • Center for the Arts: Landscape architect candidates (folder 1)
  • Center for the Arts: Landscape architect candidates (folder 2)
  • Iowa City Public Art Commission
  • Box 9:
  • Downtown Iowa City: Ordinance and Rules
  • Downtown Iowa City: Strategies (folder 1) - 1996-1997
  • Downtown Iowa City: Strategies (folder 2) - 1996-1998
  • Downtown Iowa City: Proposed Action Plan - 1997
  • University of Iowa: Art Building West
  • University of Iowa: Sculpture Department
  • University of Iowa: Muesum of Art (UIMA) brochures
  • University of Iowa: Muesum of Art (UIMA) Foerstner book
  • University of Iowa: Walking tour
  • University of Iowa: Arts on campus, Engineering
  • University of Iowa: Class Gift Leadership Committee
  • University of Iowa: Skywalk
  • Visiting Artist Molly Mason (folder 1)
  • Visiting Artist Molly Mason (folder 2)
  • Series 8: GREATER IOWA CITY AREA CULTURAL ALLIANCE (GICACA)
  • Box 10:
  • Johnson County
  • Finances
  • EIN and vendor forms
  • Accounting books
  • Logos
  • Membership forms
  • Membership records
  • Membership and solicitation mailings - 1998
  • Cultural directory, Iowa City
  • By-laws
  • Media Fair and Information - 1997
  • Arts/Culture Resource Directory: Model
  • Arts/Cultural Resource Directory: Forms
  • Arts/Cultural Resource Directory: Correspondence
  • Committee lists
  • Membership lists - 1997-1999
  • Topics of interest
  • Arts calendar, links to LACES
  • Articles promoting arts education
  • Box 11:
  • Pasadena Community Cultural Plan
  • Mission Statement and goals - 1998
  • Mission Statement and goals - 1997
  • Correspondence
  • 501(3) IRS filing
  • Meeting notices and minutes - 1998-1999
  • Meeting notices and minutes - 1997-1998
  • Meeting notices and minutes - 1996-1997
  • Press articles and releases
  • Postcard flier
  • Arts Reource Directory - 1996
  • Forms for xerox
  • Membership
  • Iowa Alliance for Arts Education position papers
  • Art Sense Forum - 1999
  • Art Sense Forum: Agenda - 1999
  • Art Sense Forum: Correspondence - 1999
  • Art Sense Forum: Publicity - 1999
  • Box 12:
  • Arts Speaker possible project
  • "Eloquent Evidence - Arts at the Core Learning"
  • Membership information
  • Iowa Humanities Board (IHB) grants (folder 1)
  • Iowa Humanities Board (IHB) grants (folder 2)
  • List of umbrella arts organizations
  • List of arts/cultural organizations, Iowa City area
  • Cultural map
  • Related cultural alliances (folder 1)
  • Related cultural alliances (folder 2)
  • National Arts and Humanities Month
  • Arts and Cultural Resource Directory development
  • Resource directory related information
  • Web page
  • Johnson County Community Network (JCCN) website
  • InfoVision
  • National Assembly of State Arts Agencies
  • Series 9: CENTERSPACE
  • Box 13:
  • First survey, March - 1990
  • Second survey, June - 1990
  • Letters of Intent, October - 1990
  • Phase II survey, October - 1990
  • Phase II follow-up survey (folder 1), January - 1991
  • Phase II follow-up survey (folder 2), January - 1991
  • Survey responses (folder 1) - 1991
  • Survey responses (folder 2) - 1991
  • Box 14:
  • Survey responses (folder 3)
  • Survey summaries, March - 1992
  • Newspaper articles
  • Newspaper articles - 1990-1991
  • Newspaper articles - 1996
  • Newspaper articles, Fall/Winter - 1996
  • Newspaper articles, Summer - 1996
  • Newspaper articles, March - 1997
  • Newspaper articles, April - 1997
  • Newspaper articles, The Arts (folder 1)
  • Box 15:
  • Newspaper articles, The Arts (folder 2)
  • Newspaper articles about concept, Fall/Winter - 1996
  • Correspondence
  • Correspondence - 1996-1997
  • Resource books and research
    IS ON TOP OF BOXES 24-28
  • Davenport Museum of Art, education
  • Des Moines Art District: Business Plan
  • Des Moines Art District: Education brochures
  • Des Moines Art District: Education Department history
  • Hearst Center for Arts, Cedar Falls
  • Various arts organizations, Cedar Falls
  • Iowa Children's Museum
  • Iowa City Historic Preservation Plan - 1992
  • Iowa City Science Center
  • Iowa City Teen Center
  • Partners (folder 1)
  • Partners (folder 2)
  • Partners (folder 3)
  • Octagon Center for the Arts, Ames, IA
  • Box 16:
  • U.S. Arts Centers
  • Various arts centers
  • Master mailing list
  • Wyrick phone log - 1989-1991
  • Open Forums - 1990
  • Arts organization updates and meetings, September - 1991
  • Campaign letters and mailing lists
  • Business Partnership, Chamber of Commerce - 1984-1994
  • Resident user groups - 1991
  • Arts Education Subcommittee (folder 1) - 1990-1991
  • Arts Education Subcommittee (folder 2) - 1990-1991
  • Public Awareness Committee
  • Fundraising Committee
  • Box 17:
  • Financial Strategies Committee - 1990
  • Design Committee - 1991
  • Communications and Publications Committee - 1990-1994
  • Administration and Operations Committee - 1991-1993
  • Executive Committee: Staff - 1989-1992
  • Executive Committee: Staff (folder 1) - 1993-1994
  • Executive Committee: Staff (folder 2) - 1993-1994
  • Committee lists - 1991
  • Arts Organizations, potential users - 1990-1994
  • Supervisors, Johnson County - 1991
  • Case Statements - 1990
  • Preliminary cost summaries - 1990
  • Executive Summary, January - 1991
  • Hotel/Motel Tax Lobby - 1991-1994
  • Project history - 1992-1993
  • Mission Statement - 1993
  • Progress Report, Fall - 1993
  • Community trends and statistics
  • City Council Proposals - 1989-1991
  • Early meetings and investigations - 1989-1994
  • Box 18:
  • Conference Center investigations (folder 1)
  • Conference Center investigations (folder 2)
  • Grant research (folder 1)
  • Grant research (folder 2)
  • Meeting space - 1991-1993
  • Arts Business Partnership, Chamber of Commerce - 1989
  • Position Papers - 1994
  • Iowa City Council - 1994
  • Iowa City Area Development Group (ICAD) - 1994
  • Beaver Creek Center for the Arts - 1997
  • Other art centers - 1997
  • Mountain View Center for Performing Arts - 1997
  • Auditoria in Iowa City - 1991
  • Report: "It's 2004: Welcome to Centerspace" - 1998
  • Follow up report - 1997
  • Box 19:
  • Iowa City Public Library Briefing, January - 1994
  • Steering Committee: March - 1996
  • Funding Sources
  • Chamber of Commerce: Library Task Force, Fall - 1996
  • Vision Statement mailing, October 23 - 1996
  • Vision Statement and Executive Summary, Fall - 1996
  • Request for financial plan, Decmeber 9 - 1996
  • Committee meeting, Fall/Winter - 1996-1997
  • Campaign workers - 1996-1997
  • Library Council, Fall-Winter - 1996-1997
  • Committee meeting, January 3 - 1996
  • Committee meeting, January 19 - 1995
  • Library Council, January - March - 1997
  • Executive Committee, February - 1997
  • Committee update, March 3 - 1997
  • Finance, City Budget, March - 1997
  • Proposed components, March - 1997
  • Committee assignments, March - 1997
  • Chamber of Commerce: March 7 - 1997
  • City Council/Library Board meeting, March 19 - 1997
  • Bond Campaign data
  • Steering Committee: March - April - 1997
  • Executive Committee, April - 1997
  • Co-Chair meetings, April - 1997
  • Letter to the Editor, Iowa Press Citizen, April 16 - 1997
  • Chamber of Commerce: April 16 - 1997
  • Steering Committee: April 25 - 1997
  • Steering Committee: April 29 - 1997
  • Committee members, April - 1997
  • Box 20:
  • Steering Committee: May 5 - 1997
  • Steering Committee: May 8 - 1997
  • Address list
  • Database codes
  • Iowa City precinct map, May - 1997
  • Potential user groups
  • Englert Theatre Report
  • City of Iowa City Financial Policy - 1997
  • Self-Supported Municipal Improvement District (SSMID) financing
  • Business rentals
  • Meetings, January - 1998
  • Center for Community Events: Fundraising
  • Center for Community Events: Publicity Lists
  • Center for Community Events: Arts Education Programs
  • Discovery Center - 1994
  • Iowa City Council meetings, April and May - 1996
  • Campaign: Letters to the Editor
  • Campaign: Schedule and Assignments - 1996
  • Campaign: Expenses
  • Campaign: News releases
  • Campaign: Executive summary, March - 1996
  • Missions
  • Arts in Iowa City - 1996
  • Vision Statement
  • Steering Committee: Report - 1994
  • Mailings - 1996
  • "City of Iowa City Multi-Use Project: Qualifications Submittal"
  • Box 21:
  • Design: Architectural design suggestions
  • Design: Conceptual stage - 1990
  • Design: Conceptual plan - 1990-1991
  • Design: Conceptual plan - 1994
  • Design: Conceptual drawings
  • Box 22:
  • Design: Committee meetings - 1990
  • Design: Committee meetings - 1991-1992
  • Design: Committee meetings - 1993
  • Design: Plans - 1994
  • Design: Space/time use data
  • Design: Discovery center
  • Design: WESTAF
  • Design: Site investigations
  • Design: ADA and accessibility
  • Design: Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
  • Design: Preliminary Program, April 13 - 1997
  • Design: Architecture magazine Article - 1998
  • Design: Swisher Building
  • Design: Liason Committee
  • Design: Arts Education space
  • Design: Performing Arts space
  • Box 23:
  • Design: Visual/Literacy Arts space
  • Design: Program/Conceptual plan (folder 1)
  • Design: Program/Conceptual plan (folder 2)
  • Design: Banners
  • Design: City maps
  • Design: Parking
  • Design: Carnegie Library design - 1981
  • Design: Arts Facility student design - 1988
  • Design: Potential architects
  • Design: Beckley-Myers Architects (folder 1)
  • Design: Beckley-Myers Architects (folder 2)
  • Design: Brown, Healey, Stone and Sauer Architects
  • Design: Hammel Green
  • Design: Morris Erie Meyers, Inc.
  • Design: Program (architect's)
  • Feasibility Study: Funding/Consultant selection (folder 1)
  • Feasibility Study: Funding/Consultant selection (folder 2)
  • Box 24:
  • Feasibility Study: Funding/Consultant selection (folder 3)
  • Feasibility Study: Funding/Consultant selection (folder 4)
  • Feasibility Study: Articles
  • Feasibility Study: Meetings/Memos, September - January - 1992-1993
  • Feasibility Study: Meetings/Memos (folder 1), February - May - 1993
  • Feasibility Study: Meetings/Memos (folder 2), February - May
  • Feasibility Study: Meetings/Memos (folder 1), June - 1993
  • Feasibility Study: Meetings/Memos (folder 2), June - 1993
  • Feasibility Study: "Program" revision
  • Feasibility Study: Briefings, Fall - 1993
  • Feasibility Study: Final Report
  • Box 25:
  • Feasibility Study: Bound Report
  • Feasibility Study: Follow-up
  • Feasibility Study: Prioritizing - 1994
  • Feasibility Study: Update meeting (folder 1), March - 1994
  • Feasibility Study: Update meeting (folder 2), March - 1994
  • Feasibility Study: Summary - 1994
  • Feasibility Study: Multi-Use Project, March 19 - 1997
  • Tax Campaign: Arts/Economic impact studies
  • Tax Campaign: Coral Ridge Mall
  • Tax Campaign: Englert Theatre
  • Tax Campaign: Iowa Children's Museum
  • Tax Campaign: Old Brick
  • Tax Campaign: Iowa City Science Center
  • Sales Tax Campaign: ICPL Strategic Plan - 1994
  • Sales Tax Campaign: ICPL Facts - 1993-1998
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Tom Gelman Report - 1998
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Ongoing meeting notes
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Committee members
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Correspondence
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Campaign laws and rules
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Demographics
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Position Paper
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Facts/Policies
  • Box 26:
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Strategies
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Slogans and Committee Functions
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Iowa City Council
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Chamber of Commerce Tax Task Force
  • Sales Tax Campaign: General Information
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Final Ballot
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Ballot Language
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Police Ballot Issue
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Ballot Issue, Johnson County Human Services
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Ballot Issue, Events Center
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Ballot Issue, Iowa City Public Library - 1996-1998
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Local Option Tax - 1997-1998
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Related arts articles - 1998
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Library/Community Plae Building Committee - 1997-1998
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Strategies Committee
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Meetings - 1998
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Targeted mailings
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Letterhead
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Steering Committee
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Materials generated
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Constituencies to approach
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Outreach
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Neighborhhod Association Scheduling
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Telephone campaign
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Expenses - 1999
  • Box 27:
  • Sales Tax Campaign: E-mail correspondence
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Iowa City Area Chamber of Commerce position
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Forums
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Publications
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Wyrick speaking engagements
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Presentation
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Op/Ed article
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Question and Answers
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Library/Events Center floor plans
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Volunteer lists
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Letter to the Editor
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Scheduling arts groups
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Precinct maps
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Database information
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Final mailings
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Speakers
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Lists of committee members
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Fundraising
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Contributor lists
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Newspaper Articles (folder 1)
  • Box 28:
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Newspaper Articles (folder 2)
  • Sales Tax Campaign: Post election

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.